say ‘no’ to negativity

tumblr_mohn4ppsFY1spdt5eo1_1280I really feel like God has been putting a few things on my heart lately, and one of them is positivity. I’ve always been what I like to refer to as a ‘poptimist’ – 50% pessimist, 50% optimist. But over the last few years, I feel like mentally I’ve slid more toward the pessimistic side of my personality, and I want to take back the optimistic side. I then ran across this quote by Yoko Ono from Cleaning Piece III –

Try to say nothing negative about anybody.

a) for three days

b) for forty-five days

c) for three months

See what happens to your life.

Much to my good fortune, I misread it, and thought it said ‘try to say nothing negative about anything.’ Period. “That sounds way too hard,” I thought, and went about the rest of my day. As evening fell, I began thinking more and more about those words. Good things are almost always hard, right? You have to work for what you want. So as of this morning, I resolve to attempt not saying anything negative for three days. This includes anything negative about others – if my sister doesn’t pick up after herself, then I will – or myself – if I don’t like my hair, I’ll wear a hat. They say that you form a habit in three weeks, but here it’s going to start in three days. I’m not including ‘thinking negative’ because outward actions create inward habits, and I have to start one to get the other. It’s a start.

> exit, pursued by a bear.

9 thoughts on “say ‘no’ to negativity

  1. Oh, that’s a good idea! I like that you pointed out the fact that actions affect thoughts. It can be so hard to let the thoughts take control and affect the actions. :/ You’re awesome. ^_^

    And Shakespeare. xD

  2. Pingback: Say ‘No’ to Negativity. | Godsdaughter4ever

Got something to say?

