Cary Grant, smoshes, and the velocity of swallows

P1030757I’ve been tagged a few times by the delightful Liebster awards (even though I have nearly 300 followers, and that’s breaking the rules) – and so I decided to answer all the questions at one go! According to the rules, you list eleven interesting (or at least true) tidbits about yourself, answer the questions that were asked you, then tag someone else with other questions. As I’m not really much one for tagging, I’ll just say anyone who wishes to be tagged, is. (And if tag was played like that in real life, nobody would ever get anywhere.) As I was tagged twice (three times, actually, but I lost the third somewhere) I’ll just give you a random amount of facts.

 Almost overnight, I lost my taste for most young adult books and moved on to adult novels – months after claiming I would probably never do just that/caramel is the best flavor in the world/my face either looks cheerful, or as though I’m mentally slaughtering my enemies. These are, apparently, the only two expressions I have/I find it hard not to begin a novel when inspiration strikes, but if it isn’t well thought-out it falls by the wayside and I feel bad/half the shirts I own are black or gray and have metal on them, so I’m excited when I find something brightly colored or more feminine that fits me/I recently watched ‘Kung Pow’ with my brother-in-law and am not ashamed to say I laughed the whole way through/hot, sunny days make me want to curl up and go to sleep/I don’t really enjoy swimming or playing in the water/I adore ear cuffs/I’ve never been attracted to Cary Grant/I can – and do – quote many things I’ve never seen/I never iron anything if I can possibly help it/hipster coffee shops are my favorite/My friendliness is often mistaken for flirting and yes, it’s irritating/I would much rather be a wizard than a jedi/

• What is the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow? An African swallow, or a European swallow?

• How many licks to the center of a lollipop? It depends on your enthusiasm and the size of your tongue.

• Top five movie/tv show smoshes (not necessarily in order)? It’s impossible to have only five, so I’m just going to name a few names without guaranteeing I don’t have fifty more favorites. Finnick Odair (Catching Fire, Mockingjay) Bucky Barnes (Captain America, The Winter Soldier) Dustfinger (Inkheart) Madmartigan (Willow) Trip (Star Trek: Enterprise) – note that these are only the characters off the top of my head, and it doesn’t necessarily mean they’re higher in the pecking order than others.

• How many active books currently? Three, tentatively – This Mortal Coil is the book I’m working to finish before the others, but I also have Impossible Things and Natural Disasters (both are on the back burner, as TMC has taken over as first literary priority).

• Given the chance, would you go bungee-jumping? Oh, yes.

• Top five songs in your playlist? Which playlist? I have nine current playlists – some songs I’m really enjoying, however, would be  Bastille & Gabrielle Aplin’s rendition of ‘Dreams’; Creedence Clearwater’s ‘Bad Moon Rising’ (Mourning Ritual’s cover comes in frequently, too); Christine Aguilera’s ‘Fighter’; The Secret World of Arrietty maine theme; and the Pacific Rim main theme.

• Favorite Mario Kart character? Having never taken an interest in Mario Kart, I wouldn’t know.

• Favorite Disney film? It’s impossible to choose a favorite Disney film.

• How is a raven like a writing desk? This question has several answers, but I doubt any of them are the truth.

• Time-travel or space-travel? Time-travel. I’m up to be the next Doctor’s companion.

• If you had to pick another name for yourself, what would it be? This is an answer that changes depending on what mood I’m in, but I would probably take the name I was nearly given – Myfonwy – and add an ‘O’ to my last name. Myfonwy O’Neal. It sings.

• What nationality are you? ‘Murican, although I have a good deal of German and Celtic blood.

• Do you believe that the end justifies the means? More often than is probably healthy, but I tend to keep this for hypothetical life-or-death situations.

• Do you work well under pressure, or do you snap? I’ll procrastinate until a deadline is approaching, in which case I’ll buckle down just before the whistle blows. I’d say pressure helps, unfortunately; but I can’t stand being under pressure frequently.

• What is your favorite music genre/band?

You-re-kidding-right-christina-aguilera-22809434-500-211

• Batman or Superman? Ironman.

• Do you like to bake? More than I like to cook, but no kitchen activities exactly spin my record.

• Would you rather get burned to a crispy chip of a human, or be skinned alive? I’d rather die peacefully, of old age, or in battle. Thank you just the same. (Although if I’m going to answer up-front, I’d have to say burned; I’ve read accounts of both and burning is quicker.)

• Honestly, how many friends do you have? Not acquaintances, but honest-to-goodness friends? It’s difficult to categorize this, as most of my honest-to-goodness friends I’ve not met in real-time. That being said, I have many friends and many honest-to-goodness friends, but only one friend who lives in my state. I’m blessed to know many people who would happily listen to me talk about my problems, pray for me, and care about what I’m going through; and I believe anyone who would do that is an honest-to-goodness friend.

• What was your best subject in school? Anything to do with reading or writing, I would say. It surely wasn’t anything math-related.

• Do you do your own thinking, or do you allow others to give you information? I do my own thinking. The problem is trying to stop thinking so I can focus on doing things.

• What’s your favorite ink color? If it’s inky black, I like that; but I love reddish-black ink.

26 thoughts on “Cary Grant, smoshes, and the velocity of swallows

  1. Hey, you… come a little closer… that’s right. Lean in just like that; I have something to tell you in a whisper: I pray for you every night. Whether you even give me a thought or not.

  2. you’re awesome… You don’t care for Cary Grant, and you’d rather have Ironman than Batman/Superman… AND THAT MEANS I’M ONE OF YOUR HONEST-TO-GOODNESS-FRIENDS?! ❤

    • If you ever thought, for one second, that you weren’t an honest-to-goodness friend, Pepper, you had a moment of sheer insanity.
      <333333333333333333333 You're my fairy godsister!!

      • well, I think it was one of those, it really struck home moments and registered ^.^ I think the rest of my life has been officially made 🙂

  3. XD You’re priceless, Mirr. And now I really want to see that destroyer face. And now I’m having visions of you painted with blue swirls and off to fight the Romans — I don’t know whether to be amused or disturbed. XD And you actually read accounts of burning or being skinned alive? XD
    And … Christian Bale.
    But … Iron Man.

      • I really liked the premise — when I saw the preview, I thought “Wow, aliens from a rift in the ocean. Whodda thunk?” But I found the actual movie to be a little heavy on the destruction side of things and light on the character-building. That’s just me, though. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Got something to say?

