bien dans sa peau

selfies

Bien dans sa peau is a French phrase that means, basically, to be comfortable in your own skin. I was getting ready to go out with my mom and sister today, and they both mentioned they were having a bad day. We all have days where we look in the mirror and see extra flab, or our hair hangs limp, or our complexion looks particularly awful – but I was surprised. They both looked gorgeous. The funny thing is, I don’t have those days nearly as often as most people I know – and I’m 5’10” and weigh 190 pounds. I’m not slender – but ninety percent of the time, I feel great. I’m happy. I’m not caught up thinking about my weight, or how other people are perceiving me. I might think, “My face is too round,” or, “My arms are too wide,” and the only thing that gets me is a day of depression and feeling like I’m not worth as much as skinny people. This, people, is one of the most ridiculous mindsets – and it’s everywhere. We equate beauty with worth. “If I have those five extra pounds, I’m not as beautiful as she is.” “I don’t have a six pack; I’m not attractive.” I have one thing to tell you – God doesn’t care about those five extra pounds. He doesn’t care if you have a six pack. He sees what’s beneath all that – and He thinks that what’s on top of it is beautiful. I’m not saying you should just let yourself go and forget about your personal appearance, but don’t make it everything. You want to feel comfortable in yourself, as yourself – and it shouldn’t be your main focus. When you’re talking to a stranger, you don’t want to be remembered as the self-conscious person who stared at the ground, mumbled their speech, and seemed unhappy with themselves – you want to be remembered as the open, confident person who radiated God’s love. If we aren’t content to be who God made us, then why would anyone else look at us and want what we have? How you feel on the inside will reflect on the surface; so what are we reflecting? Are we reflecting our dissatisfaction with our appearance, or are we reflecting God’s perfection?

12 thoughts on “bien dans sa peau

  1. Good words. ;D I want to show this to my baby sister. (Okay, she’s not the baby, but being older I think of her as my baby sister. XD)

  2. *wipes eyes* N’aww, that was boootiful. I remind myself that when I’m people ask me how old I am because I’m 5’1 and SMALL and obviously look like I’m 15 or something. But as my mum reminds me anyway, at least in 30 years time I’m going to look really young. 😉

  3. Amen and amen!! God created you, which means you’re a gorgeous masterpiece. Being happy with yourself and comfortable with how you look is essential. Not, like you said, to let oneself go, but not to go crazy with every hair in place and every extra ounce of body fat kept off with insane diets. 😛 Great post!! 😀

  4. Thank you for this post! It encourages me because I am about the same weight, taking height into consideration. I just LOVE when a person is confident about their looks and acknowledges that they are beautiful/handsome. Not in an egotistical way if course, but more of being happy about what God has blessed them with. Love how you also mentioned that outward looks aren’t all that important anyway 🙂

  5. This is one of my all-time favorite posts. ❤ I'm the same way. Not perfect, but content. No one is perfect, so why try to pretend you are? You'll only make yourself upset. I struggle more with trying not to look too confident. I don't like perfection. So, I try not to be the person who looks like everything's all good when it's not, but I also don't like to be that other person with no confidence whatsoever. It's hard to find the balance.

    And why have a 6-pack when you can go for a full keg? Honestly. xD

Got something to say?

