twenty

cemoiOn Saturday, I left my teenage years behind and, for the first year in many, felt older upon waking. The birthday celebration was moved to the end of this week rather than the actual date, for several reasons – one, I was/am recovering from a vicious round of the flu, and two, my sister Maralie, her husband Jake, and their son, Silas, moved in with us for a month. They’ll be moving back to the Northwest, but they’re living here until they find a house to move into.

So, while I untangle myself from the flu’s grasp, I’ve been doing a lot of reading – and an unexpected amount of drawing in color. It’s only taken me twenty years to finally experiment with colored pencils – a friend gifted me with a full set of Prismacolor pencils, and another friend gifted me with a sketchbook – so I went to town! Here are some pictures to illustrate my last several days.

My space. I spend a great deal of time tucked in this corner.

P1040627

Various and sundry sketches I’ve put forth.

drawing3drawing2

drawing4

P1040642P1040646

Drawing1

Since I never did a ’20 before 20′ checklist, I’m doing something a little different and giving you ’20 for 20.’ Here are 20 things you may or may not already know about me.

1) I’ve been blogging for seven years

2) I get highly emotional about the character Scar from Alien vs. Predator

3) My hair wasn’t always curly

4) I have quite a lot of small moles, which I rather like. Moles and freckles remind me of constellations

5) I enjoy almost every kind of movie except most labeled ‘heartwarming’

6) I’ve never read a Jane Austen book straight through. They make wonderful movies, but as literary fare I find it dull and I’d take Heyer any day

7) I look terrible in orange and yellow

8) A while ago I passed out of my ‘everything korea/japan!’ phase, and they have been placed on my ‘fond of’ shelf

9) I’ve never played a console video game, although I’ll read storylines all day

10) I never only read one book at a time; generally speaking I’m reading three or four. I’m currently re-reading Harpist in the Wind, as well as sinking my teeth into Carl Jung’s ‘Man and His Symbols,’ Le Morte de Arthur, Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness and The Secret Sharer, and The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley.

31 thoughts on “twenty

  1. Happy birthday! I hope you feel better! .> I’m glad you share my opinion. XD

    I read oodles of books at a time too. I need to read The Hero and the Crown… Is it good? 🙂

    Twenty years of Mirri — the world must be bursting with glorious joy at the very thought that you’ve been around being lovely and brilliant for that long. ^_^

  2. I AM SO BLOOMING HAPPY FOR YOU, GIRL! 20 — WOW! ;D So wise now, I take it? XD
    HOW IS LE MORTE DE ARTHUR? I’VE GROWN UP ON THE ARTHURIAN LEGENDS AND MOST OF THEM COME FROM THAT BOOK.

    • And why is it that wnenever I have something important to say I forget it the instant I open my mouth/start typing? ANYWAY, what I was going to say is that those pics are AMAZING. I am totally envying your talent! ;D Congrats, gorgeous!

  3. I’m turning twenty in august, I’m rather excited. I love your pictures in color, especially the ‘Alice’ esque ones. I read more than one book at once too. Lol when I read #2 I thought it was going to be Scar from Lion King. I get highly emotional about him.

  4. “moles and freckles remind me of constellations”!!!! YES!! And, thank you for sharing…. Happy healing, and enjoy your time with your sister and her family; and a whole new world “In COLOR”- who would have thought it could be so fun? Well, I for one, knew already, but I think some are meant to develop their simplest skills in black and white and then they will understand the blessing of using color for detail or precisely for a purpose, not just because it is “there”. Make sense? :/ Frankly, I enjoy your work either way. That suit and the girl in the fur leg warmers especially! Well done! 😀

  5. Happy Birthday, Mir…. I’m turning 20 in July, so, three months behind you, as always.
    I hope that you have a wonderful year. I’m so sorry I’ll miss it. I’ll be there with you in spirit, though. I promise. I’ll always remaind loyal to you, like I’ve forever said.

    And you know you still love Lee Joon and GDragon. 🙂

    Saranghaeyo, Unni.

  6. Happy birthday to a wonderful lady! ❤ You've impacted my life in so many ways and I'm so proud of you. ^_^ Your talents are wonderful gifts from God and you're using 'em in the right way. 😉 (Psst, I still want pix of the hat! 😉 )

  7. Happy birthday, sweet girl!!!

    Turning 20 is…something. It’s different, moving out of the teens. I just recently turned 22 myself and, gosh, I feel old. I don’t think I like it. One can only hope I find Neverland before I make it to my 30s.

    I appreciate the fact that you have stuffed animals in your bed, because I have a stuffed bunny in mine. I cant’ sleep without Bunny, I don’t care how old I am.

    Loooove the drawings! You and colored pencils seem to get along swimmingly.

    I hope you have a blessed 20th year!

    • Not old.
      Wise.
      At least, one would hope.
      I have my stuffed Pig-rabbit, and then my beautiful and perfect rabbit, Jefferson. (Because I’m actually five years old)
      Me and colored pencils are, shall we say, dating. We’ll see if matrimony’s in the future. 😉

  8. A very happy (belated) birthday to you, Mirriam!! Delightful drawings, by the way. (And — not sure if I missed something, ’cause if I did I’d feel a little silly — but why was it a list of 10 things when you said it was 20…? More still to come?)

Got something to say?

