inhale • exhale

books31

It’s okay to slow down. That’s what I’m telling myself today, as I take a swallow of hot coffee in my new (and perfect) mug; as I listen to Philip Phillips and feel my soul calm down; as I crack open a book I’ve been meaning to read for weeks but haven’t gotten around to and find myself wandering in the prose, never content to leave. Writing is the one thing I do that both gives me peace and pressure. When I write I’m freeing the colors of my soul, giving myself in the form of words to other people, and if they like what they see then I want to give them more, to let them know me better, to maybe get a little bit of praise and validation and to feel like the price tag of my worth has gone up.  But sometimes, the best thing I can do is take a step back, even if it’s only for twenty-four hours, and take a deep breath. Understand that every day doesn’t have to be labor waiting for the birth of the next chapter. It’s okay to take a moment and lose the weight of life, to meditate or memorize or read or listen to music or watch a movie and be.

“Teach me, and I will be quiet; show me where I have been wrong.”

Job 6:24

6 thoughts on “inhale • exhale

  1. I really like that verse. I’ve been struggling the last few weeks with writing and then some things have just come up in life that’s making it worse and being still and quiet is great medicine for the soul. ❤

  2. Totally off-topic and several posts behind… but I noticed that a commenter named Brave was from England (which is so cool!) and I had a super random question. Brave, do British people ever try to mimic an American/Canadian accent? Because my siblings and I often try to speak like we’re British. We probably suck at it, but it’s fun. Anyway, I’ve always wondered, and now I have the chance to actually ask someone! 🙂

  3. I have to remind myself this very thing as well. I get so stressed sometimes, always determined to get things done, to get in those words, that I often don’t leave myself any time to breathe. Just stepping back and relaxing can be one of the greatest favors we give ourselves, but I forget that too much.

    Thanks for the reminder and encouraging verse. It was much needed. ^_^

  4. Hey there again! Sorry I kept you in suspense for so long. I’ve been busy… very busy… setting up my trip back to England!!!! I’m so excited I can hardly stand still! It’ll be amazing to be back home and maybe even have my own flat! I’ll be with my family again and maybe an old friend who penned me recently. New York has been a funfair, but I miss my mum and can’t wait to be back home. Wish me luck! Hope you’re doing well!

    Love,
    Brave

Got something to say?

