A Sunshine Tag + Cosy Books

writer1. What are your top five favorite novels?

It would be impossible for me to list the five ultimate favorites, but I’ll list five books that I love. The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke. The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien. The Riddle-Master by Patricia McKillip.

2. What style do you enjoy writing in the most?

My style tweaks and morphs with each novel I write, to suit the genre or style of the book, so I really couldn’t say.

3. Whose writing to you admire the most?

I admire many authors, and they’re all very different. I admire the descriptive, evocative prose of Jenny and Rosemary Sutcliff. I love the depth and complexity of Patricia McKillip. I love the simple, clever humor of Diana Wynne Jones.

4. What is the thing that prevents you most from writing?

My own mind, more often than not. It’s like a troublesome bed – it doesn’t like to be made up.

5. What is your favorite WIP?  

My current favorite WIP is Paper Hearts, but only because I’m ‘in the mood,’ as it were. My favorite changes depending on my turn of mind.

6. What is your nickname?

I have a few; ‘Mirri’ being the most common. Others include Momo (‘Peach’ in Japanese) and the newest, ‘Ma petite pomme de terre,‘ which is a nickname I received via letter this morning from Jenny and means ‘my little potato.’

7. How many siblings do you have?

I have four; two elder, married sisters, an elder brother, and my younger sister.

8. If you could visit anywhere, where would you visit?

If we’re choosing from this dimension and reality, then I would say the British Isles. I would be content to land anywhere in that region.

9. How many writing blogs do you follow?

Not many, to be honest. I follow the blogs of good friends who blog about writing quite frequently, but I don’t know that they could be counted as ‘writing blogs.’

10.  If you had to choose between Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hiddleston, who would you pick?

Joseph Morgan, and be done with it.

On to the next; a sort-of tag begun by Rachel Heffington and continued by Jenny and myself. (Jenny, you’re becoming rather famous in this post.) I was conversing about the topic of ‘cosy books’ with Jenny yesterday, and we came to the conclusion that we really don’t read many that fall into that category. The novels she listed are identical with mine, but I’ll add a few more that I think are rather ‘cosy’ so I can still claim a little originality for myself.

Anything by Beatrix Potter

I grew up half-in the world of Peter Rabbit and friends, and I collect the small hardbacks wherever I can.

Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne

Winnie the Pooh was – and still is – one of my greatest fictional friends, always there when you need a hug or a small smackerel of hunny.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

This book is strange, whimsical, beautiful, and engaging. While perhaps not completely the stuff of snuggly sweaters, I re-read this book every year .

Instead of tagging anyone, I’m going to take the lazy route and open these to anyone who wishes to participate. Now, I’m off to continue putting in the final edits to Paper Crowns; the sooner to find an agent. And, very appropriately, the album Paper Hearts by Silver Trees just began playing. It’s a sign, and time for me to go!

27 thoughts on “A Sunshine Tag + Cosy Books

  1. I have a few questions to ask ye 🙂

    1. what’s your favorite kind of tea?
    2. do you have a boyfriend?
    3. what’s your current favorite movie?
    4. do you have a best friend?
    5. if you had to choose between your two book characters, Angel and Skata, who would you choose?
    6. what’s your favorite writing music to listen to?

    • Oh, questions! Well, here I go.
      1. My favorite kind of tea is PG Tips black tea. I take two per cup with some Agave and half-and-half for personal perfection.
      2. Ah; I must disappoint and say no, I’m single.
      3. My current favorite movie…oh, that’s difficult. I happen to love movies. A LOT of them. I’m in the mood for different movies at different times, but /favorites/ – maybe I’ll take the generic route and say the Hobbit…?
      4. I tend to shun the phrase ‘best friend’ as it seems to exclude everyone else I love and care about. I’d say my friends Hannah George and Jenny Frietag are my closest, however.
      5. O-oh; to live with, or to write? This is hardly fair! They both have their own baggage, they’re both dangerous, they can both be incredibly stupid and incredibly smart, they’re both beautiful…probably Angel, if I had to /really/ pick, by sheer virtue of immortality.
      6. My favorite writing music varies, depending on what I’m writing. Right now I have my Paper Crowns playlist pulled up, so I have plenty of Soley, Ellie Goulding, Disney soundtracks, Howl’s Moving Castle, the Arriety theme, and selected songs from the Harry Potter soundtracks.

  2. Sounds awesome. Ah, you’ll get a Prince Charming soon enough 🙂
    I’ve stalked your blog for awhile now, lol. There’s very few blogs I follow, but I’m lovin’ yours! Have you heard of http://www.waiting-rose.blogspot.com? She is another favorite of mine. Also I like autumn-autumnwinds.blogspot.com. Do you have other blogs?
    OH OH I love that tea too!!! Also I Love coffee ^_^
    Good job on your writing; keep it up!

    • I certainly hope one day! It’s nice to meet another stalker – pleased to make your acquaintance! Yes, I know both Hannah and Caroline in real life. 🙂 I don’t have other blogs, but if you look on the ‘about me’ page you’ll see other places around the web where I am.

  3. Pleased to meet you 🙂 Sorry for just now revealing myself, ha ha.
    DARN! Ha, I should have known real life. Hannah posts pictures of you guys. Wait, I thought you two were besties? I have a bestie. I don’t think saying “best friends” excludes other people; a lot of people are ok with it, because there’s always that special bestie soul mate that brings you a huge smile!
    Do you speak any other languages?
    Ok if you had to chose between Sherlock Holms and Watson (BBC series) who would it be? I’d almost have to say Watson for me 🙂

    • It’s very long and complicated, and we’re no longer in communication.
      Hm – I speak a little Korean, but that’s about it. I pick up stray words here and there, but who doesn’t?
      Ah – goodness. Sherlock; simply because he’d be more entertaining to live with.

  4. Oh… I’m very sorry. Do you miss her? I hope you get back together. You two seemed to love each other a lot.
    KOREAN??? How in the wooorld? lol I speak some French, though not much.
    Good ol’ Sherlock. I love his sarcasm, bless his cold heart. ^_^ I can’t stop myself from watching those over and over again!! A good internet connection, a late rainy night, and a cup of tea. Bliss.

    • Korean comes from listening to kpop and watching Korean movies, and taking a few studies and classes – but I’m getting very rusty. I’d rather focus on Nordic or Gaelic, but I don’t currently have the time.
      (Bless his cold heart – I love that phrase now!)

  5. Kpop? I shall have to find out about this, mwahaha.
    Gaelic is a beautiful language. And I have to hop off here in a moment, but I see you did not respond about your friend, which I understand; it must hurt. My afore mentioned bestie and I “broke up” for awhile, but in the end, it just meant we needed a tiny break; we’re back strong now, and I’d like to offer a piece of advice, even though I know not what the circumstances are: people aren’t perfect. We are all scarred and messed up and have our faults, but hey, what’s love for? If the fault is on her end, maybe she will try to get back in touch with you and you can forgive, or if it’s on your end, the same. Trust me – a best friend like you two appear to be from her blog is a rare gem to find in a rusty world of imperfect people, and from what I can tell, she values you just the same 🙂 Keep on keepin’ on, and I’m sure you’ll work it all out and get over those high mountains!! The view will be gorgeous at the top.

    Oh btw, I’m from England! Tis a beauty, though I’m currently living in NY. I write as well. (haha I realized you know nothing about me!) Not published, though. Almost finished with one of my works called Fire All Around.
    Out of all your work, I do believe This Mortal Coil is the best. I adore it! And I do believe I’d have to pick Skata 😉 And yep yep – Bless HIS cold little heart, too!

    Ta ta!

  6. Thank you, I try ^_^ But mostly, I just remember to treat others the way I want to be treated. We all make mistakes, y’know? Would you like to email me? Feel free to at braveasalways@gmail.com
    Would love to hear from you. And thankee. NY is definitely not like it 🙂

  7. Nope. Never started one. I was thinking about it, but I’ve been content to live amongst books, word documents, and friends 🙂 Never got into the Facebook/Blogger/Wordpress/Tumblr world. I just stalk people, hahaha 😀

    And oh! You mentioned Hiddles in your post – I’VE MET HIM. Well… sorta met him 🙂 I was at the premier for War Horse and got to shake his hand when he walked by. He’s a beauty! Thought you’d like to know that 😉

  8. Thought you’d like that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If I see him again, I’ll tell him you said hello!
    So, would you like to email me?? I don’t have too many email friends – a result of no blog, LOL 😄 I make due, though.

    Hiddles FTW!

  9. I approve of everything. Not that you needed anyone’s approval in the first place. 😛 But B.C. or T.H. and you go with J.M. I love that. xD You’re awesome. Keep it up!

  10. I love these, Mirri is such a cute nickname. Oh the British Isles a perfect choice. It’s always nice to learn new things about fellow writers, and Joseph Morgan 😉 very nice answer.

  11. AZRAEL SOON! *has one-track mind* Ahem.
    Also, if I have a few notes I took on Paper Crowns eons ago and forgot to finish/send, would you like me to send them to you…? (last-chance and all. :P)

Got something to say?

