“It seemed like all the way to tomorrow and over it to the days beyond.”

I never really make New Year’s resolutions. I choose a word to live my year by and I set a list of goals, but I don’t plop down ultimatums. Those always make goals and aspirations seem like chores, which makes me reluctant to get them done, because I am actually five years old. This year, I have an exiting list that I’m eager to begin checking things off of! In 2014, I plan to…

• Edit/Finish Paper Crowns, Paper Hearts, and This Mortal Coil

• Begin at least two of the projects I’ve had rolling around in my head – probably Natural Disasters and Paper Chains – (+ NaNoWriMo)

• Get an agent

P1040035

As far as reading goals are concerned, there are quite a few books I’ve never read that I plan on getting through this year.  My 2014 TBR classics list is as follows –

• The Prince and the Pauper

• Ben Hur

• Lord of the Flies

• Vilette

• The Count of Monte Cristo

• Dune (finish it, really; I started it last year)

• Sigurd and Gudrun

• The Normans (non-fiction)

• Miracles (non-fiction)

• A Midsummer Night’s Dream

• The Picture of Dorian Gray

• The Hunchback of Notre Dame

• The Odyssey

Naturally I plan on reading many more books than that, but they aren’t of the ‘classics’ variety. For basic life & whatnot, I plan on…

• Beginning a regular exercise routine

• Joining the local theater group (maybe. I’m at least aiming to get involved in something communal).

It’s a simple list, but hey – it excites me! Do you have anything in particular you’re inspired to do this year?

Sisters31

(yours truly + sister Riah, enjoying some nippy weather)
9 thoughts on ““It seemed like all the way to tomorrow and over it to the days beyond.”

  1. I like this, Mirriam! I call mine resolutions, but comparing my plans for this year with yours it’s really hardly different. I like to make plans for the year and get excited about completing them – and honestly I like the sound of that better than resolving something and not going through with it. 😛

    Best of luck on your goals!
    -Bree

  2. I make lists too! Resolutions sounds like I’m going to fail. XD I make a list of Things to do before I’m [insert age]. I basically failed last years list, but I’m working on a new one now. I like your goals! It’s kind of hard to make a goal of “get an agent”, though, you know? That was my secret goal for last year, but I said “querying for an agent” because that’s something I can control, as opposed to convincing someone I’m awesome. But you will totally ROCK this. GO YOU!!! WOOT!!! XD

Got something to say?

