55 Reading Questions

  • 1. Favorite childhood book? I’d have to say The Hobbit as an older child, and A Child’s Book of Heroes as a younger child.
  • 2. What are you reading right now? Hourglass by Myra Mcentire.
  • 3. What books do you have on request at the library? I have 21 on hold, but the list includes Defiance (C. J. Redwine) The Knife of Never Letting Go (Patrick Ness) Waterfall (Lisa Bergren) The Ocean at the End of the Lane (Neil Gaiman) Shadow of the Wind (Carlos Zafon) Shatter Me (Tahereh Mafi) The Hawk and the Dove (Penelope Wilcock) and Sabriel (Garth Nix).
  • 4. Bad book habit? I tend to have overdue books because I check out so many at a time. I DO read them!
  • 5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? Several, but they include Bumped (Megan Mccafferty) Perfect Ruin (Lauren Destefano) Finnikin of the Rock (Melina Marchetta) Assassins Creed: Renaissance (Oliver Bowden) The Monstrumologist (Richard Yancey) and Angelfall (Susan Ee).
  • 6. Do you have an e-reader? No, but I have Kindle downloaded so I can read Kindle books.
  • 7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I tend to  read several at once.
  • 8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? I wouldn’t say my habits have changed. I still read everything I can.
  • 9. Least favourite book you read this year (so far)? Oh, goodness….I’d say the biggest disappointment was Asylum by Madeline Roux. I loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, so Asylum was a letdown.
  • 10. Favorite book you’ve read this year? Oh, man…there have been so many good books this year. I’ll just list my favorites. The Kneebone Boy (Ellen Potter) Meant to Be (Lauren Morrill) The Thirteenth Tale (Diane Setterfield) Splintered (A. G. Howard) Forest of Hands and Teeth (Carrie Ryan) Shadow and Bone (Leigh Bardugo) The Iron Thorn (Caitlin Kittrdge) The Books of Pellinor (Allison Croggon) Percy Jackson (Rick Riordan) Stormdancer (Jay Kristoff)  The Chemical Garden trilogy (Lauren Destefano) and The Scorpio Races (Maggie Stiefvater).
  • 11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? I don’t have much of a ‘comfort zone’ when it comes to books. I’m up for nearly anything.
  • 12. What is your reading comfort zone? I tend to read things with a hint of fantasy, but it’s by no means the only zone I read in.
  • 13. Can you read in the car? I can, and I d0.
  • 14. Favorite place to read? On my bed. My bed has seen many books.
  • 15. What is your policy on book lending? I will lend you a book if I trust you to return it in the same condition I gave it to you, before three months are up.
  • 16. Do you ever dog-ear books? No.
  • 17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books? Only non-fiction books.
  • 18. Not even with text books? See previous answer.
  • 19. What is your favourite language to read in? English.
  • 20. What makes you love a book? It’s a combination of things, but a sense of humor is the one thing that, for me, a book can’t do without. Romance, good action, and tragedy are also excellent ingredients.
  • 21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? If a book made me stay up late into the night, if the characters stick in my head or the story was particularly fantastic.
  • 22. Favorite genre? I don’t really have a ‘favorite’ genre, but I’m happiest if it has fantasy, science fiction, steampunk, or paranormalcy in it.
  • 23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)? Mystery. I can’t really read mystery novels because I figure out the plot halfway through and it spoils the ending.
  • 24. Favourite biography? Beatrix Potter: A Life in Nature (Linda Lear).
  • 25. Have you ever read a self-help book? It depends on what you mean by self-help. I don’t tend to read self-help books, but I used to read plenty of D.I.Y. ones.
  • 26. Favourite cookbook? Anything with recipes I like.
  • 27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? I have no idea. I don’t tend to remember books that way; I absorb them and remember elements, not necessarily titles and authors. Goodreads has been a lifesaver.
  • 28. Favorite reading snack? A bowl of little things, like M&Ms or mints or raisins, etc. – whatever lasts longest.
  • 29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience. The Mortal Instruments.
  • 30. How often do you agree with critics about a book? I’d say probably 40% of the time.
  • 31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? I’m fine with it unless I know the author. I don’t want to personally offend anyone.
  • 32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose? Japanese, defiinitely. I love Japanese storytelling and would love not to have to wait for English translations.
  • 33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? I don’t quite understand the question.
  • 34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin? I still don’t understand the question. I don’t tend to feel intimidated by books unless they’re on a subject I’m loathed to read about.
  • 35. Favorite Poet? A tossup between Emily Dickinson, Emily Brontë, and Rainer Wilke.
  • 36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time? On average, I’d say 20.
  • 37. How often have you returned books to the library unread? Yes, but only when absolutely necessary. I always feel like I’m betraying something when I do that.
  • 38. Favorite fictional character? That was a dangerous question to ask me. I’m going to throw a list out there of a bunch of favorites, and then I’ll wake up at three in the morning realizing I didn’t name half the ones I intended. Dustfinger (Inkheart) Deth (The Riddle-Master Trilogy) Astrin (The Riddle-Master Trilogy) Morpheus (Splintered) Howl (Howl’s Moving Castle) Otto (The Kneebone Boy) Cadvan (The Books of Pellinor) Peet the Sock Man (The Wingfeather Saga)  Milligan (The Mysterious Benedict Society) Finnick (The Hunger Games) Charles (The Grand Sophy) Jared (Incarceron) Augustus (The Fault in Our Stars) Ian (The Host)…there are a million more, but I’ll stop now.
  • 39. Favourite fictional villain? Once again, you do this to me. My favorite fictional villain of all time…well, when I was younger, the sisters from Ella Enchanted and Selia from The Goose Girl.
  • 40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation? Whatever I have on hand at the time, but I’ll probably always pack Howl’s Moving Castle.
  • 41. The longest I’ve gone without reading. Once I did not read anything for a week. I nearly died.
  • 42. Name a book that you could/would not finish. There have been a lot of those. I confess, I got very bored with the Lunar trilogy, despite the hype.
  • 43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? If someone turns on a movie or a TV show, I find the noise very distracting. If it’s a movie or TV show I like, I’ll end up watching.
  • 44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel? Oh, this is difficult. So many adaptions of my favorite books are coming out this year and I haven’t seen them yet, so I feel like I can’t say…probably The Hobbit. I’ll stick with that for now.
  • 45. Most disappointing film adaptation? Eragon; oh, my goodness. The only good things about that adaption were Murtagh and Durza.
  • 46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time? I don’t generally have enough money to go on a spree, but $50 is probably the most I’ve had at one time.
  • 47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? I always skim it when I’m deciding which book to read first. Whichever one appeals to me most is the one I’ll read.
  • 48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through? Boredom, the appearance of something hefty I disagree with, too much foul language or explicit sexual content.
  • 49. Do you like to keep your books organized? I try. It doesn’t work. I have too many books. I have books stacked on the floor.
  • 50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them? I do not understand people who buy books, read them, and then get rid of them. I don’t get it.
  • 51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding? No; but there are plenty of books I’ve been trying to get my hands on and can’t!
  • 52. Name a book that made you angry. Forest of Hands and Teeth. I cried. Many times.
  • 53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did? Shadow and Bone.
  • 54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t? The Evolution of Mara Dyer.
  • 55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading? Books.

tumblr_mqzw3k1Fqi1qgu5b6o1_500

20 thoughts on “55 Reading Questions

  1. O_O I am so jealous. I feel like a horrible human being because the only books I read are yours. *cringes* I know, I know. I used to read every second I could get and I’d devour books.

    How do you manage your time? Do you have a schedule? ‘Cause I’d love to start getting back to reading, but between school, debate, work, and writing, I feel like I don’t have time even though I know I waste a lot. XD So yeah, if you could give me your schedule (if you’ve got one), that’d be good. 😛

  2. I read every spare second I get; it’s so hard to get new reading material sometimes. XP Can I answer these questions on my own blog? 🙂

  3. Pingback: 55 Reading Queries | Chasing Woven Glass Through the Storm

  4. favourite movie adaptions – The Hobbit. Yayy! I agree, handsdown, though I would probably first say The Lord of the Rings and then The Hobbit movies =). Also, North and South. That’s a great adaption right there, closely followed by Lion, Witch and The Wardrobe, Jeremy Brett’s Sherlock Holmes ^_^

    can i steal these questions please?

    • I do sleep.
      But not a whole lot. *laughs* I’m a night owl, plus I read everywhere and I read fast. I don’t know where I would be if I wasn’t a fast reader. Far more book deprived. O_o

  5. Who asked you these questions? (Just wondering. I thought at first you compiled the list, but then there were some you didn’t understand.)
    Ooh! Waterfall by Lisa T. Bergren is sooo good! As are the next two books. 🙂 Enjoy reading them.

  6. Cool post! I get the idea you read a lot. XD I would read that much if I could find any books that I’d like. I’m so picky the world has basically run out of books I’d like. 😛

    THE HOBBIT! But I hope you’re saying “favorite” film adaptation not “closest to book” adaptation…Because. . .no. XD

    “…and tragedy are also excellent ingredients.” O__________O

    “Once I did not read anything for a week. I nearly died.” o.o You are awesome!

Got something to say?

