A little bit of both

Life has been interesting lately. I applied for a job (my first ‘official’ job ever) at a pottery/arts store not far from here, and it went well…but the more I’ve thought about it, the more I realize I don’t want a full-time job like that. I want to be a full-time writer. My parents are fine with that, so I’ve (99%) decided that even if there’s a possibility I could get the job, I don’t want it. I might take a part-time somewhere, but working twelve to nine five days a week doesn’t much appeal to me. Writing professionaly is, career-wise, my job and I’d like it to stay that way. I’m working on Paper Crowns and This Mortal Coil and all my other novels so I can publish them, which is going to take a bit more organizing on my part. So, while I roll all these around in my head and stifle my creative flow (seriously; I’ve been pounding out 2500 words a day and today I’ve written 324, which tells me I need to relax xome) I decided to fiddle around and make a few fun things for you.

Fun thing #1: This Mortal Coil, modern AU! (AU – alternate universe) TMC is set in my own sort of alternate history, with a mixture of the modern and the old-fashioned, but a straightforward modern timeswap was fun to imagine.

TMC-modernAU

Fun Thing #2: Another Paper Crowns playlist. The world is full of perfect music that inspires this book, and so I condense my very long (read:Β  7.1 hour long) iTunes playlist into a few mini-playlists for you now and then. Enjoy listening!

Paper Crowns Playlist2

Fun Thing #3: A playlist for The Midnight Theater, the sequel to This Mortal Coil. I haven’t given you many peeks into that yet, so enjoy a mix of slightly creepy, slightly epic, slightly victorian music.

The Midnight Theater playlist

Fun Thing #4:Β  Paper Crowns’ spinoff, Glass Hearts, has a companion – Shadow Puppets; featuring Asterope (a wysling who shows up in chapter thirteen) and Hermione, his sort-of adoptee. I had a debate with myself whether to use the name Hermione, since J. K. Rowling more or less monopolized it, but a discussion with some friends led to the conclusion that a.) Rowling doesn’t own the name, and 2.) I can shatter the roof and free monopolized names forever! Or at least I can hope. Anyway, here are Asterope and Hermione.

HermioneandAsterope

Finis.

13 thoughts on “A little bit of both

  1. M’k. Sign me up for The Midnight Theater beta list whenever you start writing it. XD And I feel like such a slacker! O_O 2500 words A. DAY. And 324 is bad??? I might get that much depending on what I’m doing that day! Yesterday, I didn’t get to write anything. O_O Can we swap lives for a day? XD

  2. AWESOME. At least you have conviction and plans about your writing–knowing you’re going to write professionally and get published and all. πŸ™‚ (I’m in a bit of a pit about all of that at the moment, myself…)

    And fun things! πŸ˜€ (Has Angel become Ben Barnes now? I think you’ve used him a couple times instead of whoever the Asian fellow was who was “playing” him…)

  3. Sign me up for Shadow Puppets! I’m your fangirl when it comes to Paper Crowns stuff. πŸ˜‰ (Btw, Paper Crowns is my favorite book right now. Even if you hurt my feels last chapter.)

  4. The name Hermione used nowhere near Harry or Ron didn’t make me think of the Harry Potter books at all. (And I’m completely obsessed. ;)) I read it just like a name of a new character in one of your stories. I’ve always thought it was SUCH pretty name. I love that you’re using it πŸ™‚

Got something to say?

