I just couldn’t stay away

PaperCrownscharacters

Goodness gracious.

You aren’t tired of Paper Crowns yet. In fact, you asked for more – but I gave you a break and wrote two non P. C – related posts before posting any more about it. Now that you’ve had a small respite, I hope you enjoy some (more) snippets.

*********************

The paper bird had flown away without my noticing, and I wondered briefly where it went. “I need faith, Light, and friendship, apparently.”

            What, no pixie dust?

            “Shut up,” I said, scratching him behind the ear.

*********************

            “I thought you said they didn’t believe in anything,” I reminded him.

            The great head turned slowly from side to side. “I said they believe in nothing. That is quite different.”      

*********************

“Will it do that with everything?” I asked. “I made a heart for a wysling back on ear – in the greenlands, and it didn’t beat until he talked to it.”

            “What wysling?”

            “Azrael,” I said.

            Cernunnos let out a thunderous sigh, and somewhere in the depths of the sound I thought I heard him say something about ‘searching forever’ and ‘not seeing past the end of his nose,’ but I didn’t ask.

*********************

To Cernunnos, I said, “I can’t very well defeat Maven’s sculptures with paper. What does she use? Clay? Stone?”

            “Ice,” said Astryn.

            “Well, we have one advantage, then,” I said gloomily. “Ice melts and it chips.”

            Yes, said Hal, lifting his head, we can pop back through to the greenlands, get a flamethrower and a chisel, and come back.

      *********************

He stretched his arms into the air, a look of supreme contentment on his face. “This is my weather,” he said.

            I covered Hal’s mouth to stop him from finishing his remark about what Astryn could go and do with his weather.

*********************

“I hate to be nosy,” I said, “but how does one have a conversation with a forest?”

            “Be polite and whatever you may do, try not to act stuck up,” said Halcyon.

            “I’m not stuck up!”

            “I was speaking,” said Hal, “to the hyinen.”

            “The hyinen has a name, you know,” said Astryn.

            “Yes, but as there is no soap around to wash my mouth with, I’d rather not say it,” said Hal.

*********************

“Listen, you,” I said, fighting the urge to pack another rock-hard snowball and throw it at his head, “Halcyon is my best friend. If you aren’t nice to him, I’ll – I’ll…”

            “Give me a paper cut?” he suggested.

            “I will fold a flock of paper cranes,” I said calmly, “and they will peck out your eyes.”

*********************

“Hal!” I shouted over their noise. “Halcyon!” I bent down and scooped snow between my hands, packing it as hard as I could. I let the snowball fly, striking Hal between his shoulder blades. “Hal! Cy! On!”

            The fight paused, and I found myself being stared at by two very different sets of eyes.

            “Now is really not the best time, Ginger,” said Hal.

            “I think she’s taking to the winter landscape well,” remarked the hyinen, as if his opponent’s knee wasn’t pushing down on his chest.

*********************

 The cello began to play itself again. I groaned and shifted to give it my fiercest frown. “If you don’t stop going off like that, I’m going to cut one of your strings,” I said.

            “No, you would not,” murmured Hal, without looking at me.

            “I know that, but it doesn’t,” I said. I was about to march over there and put the cello facedown on the floor when something came alive in the back of my mind, bouncing around like a jumping bean. “Wait,” I said suddenly, “what is it playing?”

            “Music, I presume,” said Hal. “If you can call one cello ‘music.’”

            “No, I mean what song?”

            He tilted his head; I imagined his furry blue ears pointing straight up. “Moonlight Sonata,” he said after a few seconds.

*********************

            We were well behind Azrael’s cottage when he turned around and held his arms out like a maestro. “Stand back, if you please!”

            We were twenty feet behind him, at least, but we took a few steps backward anyway. “Is this good enough for you?” called Hal irritably.

            “A few more inches, thank you,” the wysling answered.

            “Now he’s just being rude,” I said.

             “He can be anything he wants,” said Hal. “He’s a wysling. He could be a button or a bird, but instead he chooses a nuisance. A sad waste of talent, if you ask me.”

            I wondered what Azrael would look like as a black button. It wasn’t hard to imagine.

*********************

I leaned over and kissed him on the cheek. “I love you, Hal,” I said affectionately.

            The smile in his eyes deepened. “And I love you, Ginger. However, seeing as how we have a world to save, you might want to speed up your paper folding.”

16 thoughts on “I just couldn’t stay away

  1. Hi Mirriam, I just recently found your blog through Wayne Thomas Batson’s, and I just have to say that your Paper Crown snippets are amazing! I sincerely hope this book will get published someday soon.
    By the way, is Monster available as a paperback or hardcover, or just an e-book?

Got something to say?

