Every good word

Meghan over at Every Good Word has issued a general tag to all authors with blogs, and the questions are so much fun (and I wholeheartedly want to support the EGW website because it’s fantastic) that I’m linking up! I hope you find out a little more about me, and enjoy reading my answers.

everygoodwordbutton

  1. What was your first-ever piece of writing? My first piece of writing was a short story titled The Pegasus on the Mantle. I wrote it in a fit of inspiration, submitted it to an online writer’s contest, and forgot about it. When I checked back several weeks later, I had won the contest; and it gave me such a push that I haven’t stopped writing since.
  2. How old were you when you first began writing? I was thirteen when I began writing ‘seriously.’
  3. Name two writing goals. One short term & one long term. My short-term goal is to have Acceso and This Mortal Coil finished in time for NaNoWriMo. My long-term goal is the same as Meghan’s; to have a multi-book contract with a solid publisher one day.
  4. Do you write fiction or non-fiction? If blogging counts as non-fiction, then I enjoy both. I don’t believe I could ever write a non-fiction book, however, unless it was entirely devoted to writing.
  5. Bouncing off of question 4, what’s your favorite genre to write in? I honestly couldn’t say. I’ve enjoyed every genre I’ve tried my hand at; fantasy, modern fiction, science fiction. For me it doesn’t depend on the genre so much as the characters. If I love the characters, I will love writing the book.
  6. One writing lesson you’ve learned since 2013 began. It’s never going to be perfect, so don’t stress out when it isn’t. Stress isn’t condusive to good writing.
  7. Favorite author, off the top of your head! Patricia McKillip. Her imagination, bewitching way with words, and her colorful characters have stuck with me the most.
  8. Three current favorite books. This question was harder to answer than I thought it would be. The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer, The Iron Thorn by Cailtlin Kittredge, and…The Riddle-Master by Patricia Mckillip. Bear in mind, my ‘current favorite book’ varies on a daily basis.
  9. Biggest influence on your writing {person}: I honestly couldn’t answer this question. There have been so many influences in my life – people I know, authors I read – that there’s no one solid answer to this question.
  10. What’s your go-to writing music? I have too much music to just list ‘go-to,’ as my go-to music varies depending on what I’m writing. Everything from kpop to the Eragon soundtrack helps spur me on – it depends on my mood and the current novel.
  11. List three to five writing quirks of yours! Little habits, must-haves as you write, etc. I can’t begin a novel until I have the title for it. Naming characters is one of my favorite things to do. I cannot write well with distractions; if people are talking or watching a movie in the same room, I have to put on headphones. (Yes, headphones; the big cover-your-ears kind instead of earbuds. I need to be /in my world/ in order to fuction properly there.) I write better at night than I do during the day – darkness outside helps keep my muse happy. When I’m feeling a lack of inspiration, I go to my ‘characters’ folder and browse the thousands of pictures I have there. Ninety-nine percent of the time, I’ll be struck with an idea and I’ll have no problem finishing what I started.
  12. What, in three sentences or less, does your writing mean to you? To me, writing is about teaching and feeling – myself and others. I suppose I have an old-fashioned view of writing; some people write purely for entertainment, the same reason they read. Being rased on good stories, I feel the vikings and celts had a better idea of what stories are for when they gathered around an open fire and told stories of heroes and monsters to their children. Stories are supposed to give back to us. They’re supposed to shape us. A good story will love you as much as you love it.
5 thoughts on “Every good word

  1. Hi Miriam! Thanks SO much for linking up! I checked out your official website–SO great to meet a published author! I do believe I’ve found another kindred spirit–SO glad you found Every Good Word!
    P.S: I can’t really & truly start a book till I figure out a title, either. Hence, my hatred of figuring titles out! LOL The *only* thing I can do before starting a title-less novel is the research. That. Is. It. No notes, no outlines, no scribblings–nothing but research till I figure out a title.

Got something to say?

