A very significant number

There are only three things consistent in my writing. Most things vary from novel to novel – genre, writing style, point of view, etcetera. I’ve been able to pinpoint three things, however, that remain the same no matter what I’m writing. They are…

1. Asians. Every novel I’ve written has either a Korean or Japanese character. Sometimes more than one. I’m probably going to be known for this over anything else, come to think of it… “Have you read anything by Mirriam Neal?” “No – wait, is she the one who has all those Asian characters? She’s weird.” 

(Note from me: Laugh it up, fuzzball.)

tumblr_madcx3wSVX1qzjalvo1_12802. Broken people. I don’t write fluffy books. My books might have fluff stuck inbetween the difficult bits, but every one of my main characters is a fractured soul searching for a way to put it back together. From Eristor to Mir to Vey to Skata to Hiro to Ariel to even Jupiter. (The Care and Keeping of Jupiter is the fluffiest thing I’ve written, but it begins with the main character, Mercury, talking about whether or not she regretted her 300 days with Jupiter. It’s actually quite sad, but it’s masked in so much sweet you don’t always notice.) Even in my short stories (The anthology they’re in will be published sometime next year, for you curious types) The Department-Store Pianist and Just in Time feature an autistic pianist and a heartbroken man whose fiancee has been killed (sort of. you have to read the story).

I think I write about broken people so much because I want to show real people that they can be fixed. Everyone is broken in different ways, but no one is past mending.

3. Love stories. As a hopeless romantic, I can’t resist love stories. All of my novels have one, even if it isn’t the heart of the story. The Shadows Fall had Eristor and Sienna becoming a couple farther on in the series. Monster definitely has a romance. Acceso IS a love story, as are The Care and Keeping of Jupiter and The Meaning of Always. This Mortal Coil isn’t so much a love story, but it has both a past love story and a possible future one. I think love is important in stories; whether it’s romantic, sacrificial, or familial. God is Love, and when we portray true love (not ‘fluttery romantic feelings,’ but real, original, actual love) we’re portraying a bit of God.

I maybe should add a fourth to this list and mention humor, because I think humor is extremely important, but you all know me. I have a wild sense of humor and I don’t think I could write a novel without it. 

Have you notice recurring themes in your own writing? Be they silly or significant, I’d love to hear them!

16 thoughts on “A very significant number

  1. Well, in mine, I tend to have a lot of human monsters. Or…humanized monsters…or monsters who could be, or used to be, or want to be, human.
    and of course love.
    because I couldn’t write without love.
    it makes the world go around, so I’ve heard.

    But Monsters do tend to be my larger trend.

  2. I have number two as well, all my people are broken, but there is always a good bit of humor as well that makes it better. And I also have the romance, I feel I can’t right a book without one lol. And so far in all the books I have written they all have either terrible parents or they are dead O_O, Which is strange because I have awesome parents.

  3. The default ‘bad past’ almost all my charries have is family problems. And that can get either really old really fast, or really bad really fast, so I try to get away from it at least a little bit, because it also hits kinda close to home and I don’t want people thinking I grew up in those type of situations. Sometimes ‘write what you know’ isn’t so much a rule, but something you can’t get away from.

  4. I can say from what I’ve heard I could definitely see some of those patterns in your writing and I think they’re great!!! I don’t tend to have broken people as much as people who have a deep hurt or a tragic past. I like sad characters too! 😉 hilariously enough the one thing other than things like at least a little bit of romance, that seems to be a running theme through my novels is that it is always involved in a war! Like even if it isn’t the main part of the storyline there is Always a war involved! I guess I just prefer writing big scale problems! 😀 I think there’s only one that does not at any time involve having a war happening, though its sort a sequel to one that has a lot to do with a war! Oh well! Such is me!

  5. I think for me there’s a recurring theme of sarcasm, and also horrible family backgrounds unless said family is dead [RHYME] and… short MCs. Like… anywhere from 5’2 to 5’6 or so. Yes. This.

    and just for the record, I can’t write fluff either. It’s just impossible for me, unless, as you said, it fits. And that’s pretty rare. >.<

  6. That’s cool you write Asian characters – I’d love to see more of them in books/movies, besides the usual stereotypes. (I’m half Vietnamese. 🙂 )

    Right now I’m on something of a break from writing prose, but even when I get back the themes won’t change, for sure. There’s always a loner, sometimes an outcast but usually a recluse. Conflicting identities/loyalties is another theme. Steampunk elements always sneak their way in, too. 😀

  7. It seems to me that your major theme, however, is redemption… Plus, it is so nice to hear that you have such awesome parents – you are very blessed! ;p

  8. My reoccurring themes are probably…food. I know it’s bad! But still…one of my characters almost (okay, always) has some sort of food obession, but it changes from book to book. M&Ms, mayonnaise sandwiches, eggs, jam…*ahem*

    I like how you have broken people and broken situations. I’m pretty extra sure that everyone views themselves as broken, so it hits a chord no matter what’s going on in your own life. Those kinds of books are always special. 😉 Good stuff!

Got something to say?

