the last month of summer

august

Confession – I’ve been listening to Carly Rae Jepsen for the last three days. Yes, I caved a year late, and I regret nothing. It’s not exactly the superfood of music – more like a deep-fried sugar-coated pop-music snack – but it’s so very summery and it puts me in the mood to write (and dance. Chores were much more fun yesterday than they generally are).  I have the feeling that August is going to be a hot, steady month full of tornado sirens howling in the middle of the night, a lot of handwriting (and trying to figure out how to squeeze NaNo in during November, since we’re going to be gone a good chunk of the month, lounging around in the mountains of Tennesee) and reading. I got my first paycheck from novel-selling yesterday, so for the first time in a while I actually have some me-money. Generally, what cash I get goes to birthday/Christmas presents; this time I have enough money to set some aside and spend some. It feels delicious. I want to buy a few yards of jersey fabric and make this top; it’s so versatile, and perfect for fall + I have the perfect belt for it.

I have a list of things I want to complete during August – a small but mighty gathering of things I’ve been meaning to do and that August will be perfect for.

//get my driver’s permit

//finish the 3 art commissions I have lined up (you know when you get writer’s block? I’ve had artist’s block. It’s legit, I promise you, but I’m going to kick it in the rear and make it scoot).

//Learn 1 new song on the piano. It’s time for a new one.

//Learn at least 10 new phrases in Korean. It’s amazing how much fun learning a language is when you love the culture. One of my friends is leaving for a 2-week language camp in Seoul today, and she’s promised to bring me back a CD.

//Finish reading Beating the Unbeatable Foe, an autobiography by Dr. Schwarz, the founder of the Christian Anti-Communism Crusade, and Dune by Frank Herbert.

//Finish Acceso

Not an enormous list; but not shabby, either. What are your plans for the last month of summer?

9 thoughts on “the last month of summer

  1. Shiny things! *is in Firefly frame of mind* I hope you get them all done! ^_^

    Um… my goals this month… Finish editing The Owl of Kedran’s Wood (plugging along!)… Read a stack of books… Catch up on emails and critiques… And survive. That’s the biggest one. Yup. Should keep me busy. >.>

      • haha. I should really make you figure out what it means.

        Rather that studying “phrases,” you need to learn grammar and how to make sentences. It’s a very different structure from English, so there’s a lot of little pieces to figure out before you can even think about starting to study and understand those “phrases.” Just memorizing phrases isn’t the way to learn a language. Well, if you’re serious about it anyway. Oh yeah, and before you do any of that… you have to learn how to read. There’s no way around that.

  2. For some reason reading ‘Finish Acceso’ made me sad. Like a happy excited heart broken sad. I NEVER WANT IT TO ENNNNDDD!! Congrats, girl, that’s a compliment 😄

    And btw, I love your clothes. Whatever you wear, you always looks casual and nice at the same time. I’m not sure exactly what you would call your ‘style’, but I love it ^^

  3. I want to finish “Little Women” and “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes”, then start on a fresh pile of books I just got from the Goodwill bookstore. I also have to start back to school, and learn music theory at music class at the high school. Oh! And I want to finish my novella I’m writing.

  4. Fun list! Sounds like it should definitely keep you busy for a bit. I’m hoping to get my book polished and ready to query before I have to head off to college in about a couple weeks. And then I’m hoping to survive said college thing. Who knows.

  5. Finish Acceso…YAY!!! I can’t wait to read the rest of it!!! It’s been fantastic so far! You know how to write scenes that just tug on your heartstrings!

    As for my plans for August….
    1. FINISH BACHELORS DEGREE!!! I have one CLEP left and I’m DONE!!!
    2. Celebrate (hopefully) my completion of aforementioned degree along with my birthday…
    3. Figure out where God wants me to go from here!
    4. Oh! And pick up piano again now that my teacher moved back!

    That’s about it! Not a big list but after all the stuff I’ve been doing over the past few months it’s a really nice change of pace. 🙂

Got something to say?

