let’s be adventurers

When I say the word ‘adventure,’ what do you think of? Do you think of globetrotting around the world with an airplane followed by red map-markers, Indiana Jones-style? Do you think of setting out to hike the Appalachian trail? Do you think of Bilbo charging up the hill, waving his note and shouting, “I’m going on an adventure!”

Adventure can bring a lot of things to mind. For me, adventure is the time I went hiking with childhood friends in the forest behind their house. We got lost, picked flowers, and were late getting back. I got in trouble. It’s still one of my favorite memories. Adventure is training an ornery horse who wants you off his back at all costs. Adventure is flying above a forest floor strewn with pine needles on a zip-line, swinging your body to the right and to the left to avoid running into trees.

Or adventure could be something smaller. Adventure could be walking up and saying hello to someone you don’t know. Adventure could be pulling over to the side of the road and charging into the jungle to snap a picture of wild flamingoes. Adventure could be volunteering for something you’ve never done before. Adventure could be taking a walk outside when you don’t feel like it, or getting together with someone you only know online. It could be striking up a conversation with the person you think is cute. It could be staying up until four in the morning giggling with your sister on the hard floor of her room. It could be showing something you love to someone else and hoping against hope that they’ll like it, too.

Adventure is one of those Things. You never know when one will sneak up on you from behind. Or perhaps it will do a full-front tackle and knock you out of your comfort zone. It might be something huge and grand, like travelling across the world, or it could be something as simple as a phone call, or listening to a new band, or sending a handwritten letter to someone you used to be friends with.

Every day is filled with these tiny, microscopic adventures, if we take the time to see them for what they really are. And now and then, you should go out your front door and have a real adventure, one that involves doing something far out of the ordinary. Treat yourself to an adventure and you never know – you might find yourself hunting for more.

fall_06

9 thoughts on “let’s be adventurers

  1. Oh my gosh. I really needed to read this right now. I’m going halfway around the world on Wednesday. We stop in Germany and Switzerland before we get to Lebanon. I’m not sure if I’m excited or not. Since my grandpa died, I’m not sure how I’ll be expected to act… I keep thinking “this will be an adventure”, but then adventures can be a little intimidating at times…

    • Wow! Well, look at it this way – if if weren’t intimidating, it wouldn’t be a proper adventure! I wish I were going with you, that sounds like a FANTASTIC trip!!!!!

      • Exactly! But when you read books and stuff…. it seems like that’s an adventure cause the people do cool things. It’s hard to consider every day things or a trip like this an adventure. I wish you were coming too!!!!!!!!! Yeah, if I could, I’d take you and Caelan. 😄 I hate having fun without friends around to enjoy it with….

  2. Awesome post, Miriam. I’m not gonna say more cause it’s too awesome for words to describe. 😄 Also, I’m lazy. 😄

  3. I try to live my life by the GK Chesterton quote “An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” Your post reminded me of that. 🙂

  4. When I think of adventure, the first thing that pops into my head is books…O.o I’m assuming that’s a good thing. Right? Either way, fantastic post, Mirriam!!! Makes me want to go write!! Especially about Z and G right now….

Got something to say?

