keeping the child alive

tumblr_luco8foLXy1r55t0uo1_500 Fact: I used to be much younger than I am. Also, I’m not very good at growing. I don’t outgrow the things I’m supposed to – kid’s animated movies, laughing at lame things, finding pranks hilarious, being overly enthusiastic and obsessive. I might wear makeup, do my hair and look adult when I leave the house, but inside I squeal and laugh and cry at stupid things and love ridiculous plastic figurines and read manga. Don’t get me wrong, that isn’t ALL I do. I listen to music with deep lyrics and I read philosophical books and I work hard at my school and I do my best to pick up the slack when the house is in chaos, but I have a sort of philosophy myself. Just because I’m older or younger than you doesn’t mean I’m going to treat you differently. I don’t care what color you are, how old you are, what race you are – I don’t differentiate. I want to be your friend, it doesn’t matter if you’re twelve or forty-two. I will act how I feel unless the actions are completely innapropriate for the time. Therefore, sometimes I’m obnoxiously happy and sometimes I’m so withdrawn you might think I’m dead. I used to be an extremely introverted child, and I guess I’m just living my childhood backwards. I spent too long in black and white, now everything is live in Technicolor. I may mellow out into a more even stretch of road as I get older, but I honestly hope I don’t mellow out too much. I don’t want to lose a childlike view of the world. I want to believe in the goodness of things. I want to have faith like Lucy. I want to never lose the creativity of a child. I don’t want my universe of imagination to become a roomfull of dust. I don’t want to outgrow beauty or fun or the fantastic, I don’t want to stop liking things so much that I can’t help but talk about them even if the other party thinks it’s silly. I don’t think our God is an uncreative, unimaginative, un-fun-loving God – why should I try to be something He isn’t? Let’s stop killing the child inside us.

“There’s no point in being grown up if you can’t be childish sometimes.”

10 thoughts on “keeping the child alive

  1. *stares for a minute* o.o …Great post. 😀
    …I have been thinking about this for the past I-don’t-know-how-long. Trying to figure out what’s expected of me as I “grow-up”, and not often liking what I find. 😛 I am trying to recover what parts of me that have gotten buried in the past few years, and trying to keep what I still have, all while still trying to mature into the person God made me to be.
    Thanks for putting some of this stuff into words so I can look at it more clearly. 😀

  2. Growing old is inevitable; growing UP is optional. That is my mom’s motto. She lives it every day. XD “I spent too long in black and white, now everything is live in Technicolor” Wow, that sounds like an Owl City lyric. 😀 Beautiful philosophy, though…I like the idea of being mature, but in real life…I start singing Veggie Tales songs at the top of my lungs, I yell quotes at people from other rooms, I make faces at myself in the mirror…XD I have days of Mature and days of Immature. I’m happiest on the latter days. XD

  3. That totally describes me!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =O I admit sometimes I feel like I should be more grown up than I am. I’ve been blaming it on my lack of sleep. 😛 But seriously, that is so accurate. I’m always shocked at how you can pinpoint certain feelings. For me, it’s always just there. It’s never something I can just point my finger on.

    You like Lucy too?!?!? My sister and I are watching her now. 😛

    • I agree with you about about the ‘pinpointing certain feelings’. Miriam, that’s something that always surprises me about you; I’ll go on your blog, read a post and be like, “O_O THAT IS EXACTLY HOW I FEEL I DIDN’T THINK ANYONE COULD DESCRIBE THAT!” XD

  4. There’s no point in being grown up anyway. 😛 Maybe a bit of maturity helps sometimes…but why be boring just so people can’t accuse you of being “childish”??

  5. Mama and I were just talking about this yesterday, that there is a difference between being immature, and having fun. A difference between being childish, and childlike.

    And as mentioned above, yes, Mirriam, you have a way of putting things into words and describing things that aren’t easily described XD

  6. I love this post! In a lot of ways (okay, most ways) it describes me 🙂 I really don’t even have much to say because this post is so awesome. So, thanks for the astoudendicular post!!!

    • Astoundendicular. O_O I love this word! 😀 *statches it and runs off cackling “My precioussss!”*
      Also, your blog link doesn’t work. D:

  7. This is a beautiful post, Miriam, and something I have been thinking a lot about lately, about maintaing that child-like view on life (not childish, but child-like)… to keep dreaming and believing and having hope, in spite of the darkness of the world. Because He is our hope… 🙂

    God bless!

  8. I was talking about this with a friend today! Fun post. 😀 Though… your books these days are not very childlike. O_O (Whatever happened to fantasy? *misses Elmeria*) Oh, and I love doing that on the swing like in the picture. My hair touches the ground. XD

Got something to say?

