Beautiful People – Ariel Blackwood

It’s been three years to the day since I registered my WordPress blog, and I think this is the longest I’ve gone without posting since then. Seriously, guys, the last time I posted was on February 5th. I’ve logged in several times with a strong desire to blog something, but my brain has been too full. Pathetic. So I therefore decided to do some more fun character thingjamags – Beautiful People! Why not?

I’ve chosen Ariel from Painkiller. He’s been well received, probably because he’s bizarre, so I thought he’d be fun to talk about.

Painkiller37

1. What does he look like? What are his hair and eye colour?

The first thing Callie, Painkiller’s FMC, notices about him are his eyes. They’re mist-colored; such a pale blue that his iris all but disappears at times. He has a tendency to look at people out of the corner of his eyes, or keep his head tilted down and look up at them. He doesn’t look people straight in the eye. His hair untamed and wild, a light brown with natural blond highlights. He’s well-built and compact, standing only 5’8″ and he has rather womanish features but an extremely deep voice, almost to the point of being scratchy.

Β 2. How old is he?

He is twenty-five.

3. What is his background?

He comes from a wealthy, socially active family and is an only child. He was always quiet, got good grades and has an IQ of 163. He was something of an outcast in school because of his intelligence and wallflower tendencies, and he was harassed and bullied frequently. He was always a little odd, but he went completely insane when he was sixteen. Since then he has been kept locked in his room and kept on a very short leash with frequent visits from doctors, psychiatrists, and therapists – none of whom help him. When he isn’t having a fit or a ‘mood,’ he is an excellent conversationalist, even quietly funny. Most of what he says comes from Shakespeare, twisted to suit his own thoughts.

4. What does he do?

He reads an enormous amount, but he doesn’t do much since he is hardly ever let out of his room.

5. Is there something he is particularly good at?

He’s intelligent enough to be good at almost anything he tries, but he doesn’t try much. He reads and has an excellent singing voice, though he doesn’t really sing, either. He plays the piano really well and excels in academics. He also designs his own jewelry online.

Painkiller14

6. Is there something he is afraid of?

He’s afraid of quite a few things. He’s afraid of being left alone, or small tight spaces, or pitch blackness.

7. What is his personality?Β  Introvert or extrovert?

He makes introverts look extroverted. He shuns contact with other people, bright light…half the time he acts like a spoiled child, the other half like the intelligent adult he is, but he is not at all sociable. Which is fine, because everyone is afraid of him anyway and if he were sociable, he would terrorize people.

8. Is he married or does he have a sweetheart?

No. He used to like a girl, before The Incident, but then he secluded himself away. He doesn’t take much of a shine to Callie at first; he views her as an intruder, but then they begin to form a rather Belle/Beast relationship.

Calliedit1

9. What is his favourite outfit?

His usual outfit is a sort of strange mixture between old-fashioned and mod. He likes to wear suits (of all sorts of shades; black, brown, dark blue velvet, red) and gloves (also of the aformentioned shades) but wears either v-neck shirts beneath them or none. He wears polished leather shoes and a punkish assortment of accesories. His look is sort of ‘Elegant Punk.’

10. If he had a song, what would it be?

A song…probably either Monster by Skillet, Pale by Within Temptation, or Need You To Love Me by BarlowGirl.

Painkiller234

28 thoughts on “Beautiful People – Ariel Blackwood

  1. My friend Rana just discovered Within Temptation last week! I’ll have to go look up that song you mentioned ^^

    I love it when you ‘interview’ your characters, whether directly asking them questions like with Eristor’s interviews, or just talking about them like above. It makes them become even more real than they already are.

  2. I LUUV your posts, unnie! πŸ˜„ The beautiful people ones are great fun to read, and let me just say I ADORE Ariel’s sense of style. If I looked more psycho, I might be able to pull that one off. πŸ˜„ Still, I must try…what fun to scare the people at Wal-Mart! -_- As if I look scary. And then I find myself wanting to look like Ariel and wonder, ‘is that normal?’ πŸ˜„ Yes, do more posts!! So I have a reason to be on the computer more! My mom shall love you forever for that! *keke* My comment sounds hyper. I am feeling very hyper this evening. I’m starting to make less and less sense, so bye! *wipes brow*
    Love, Una (in case your bloody comment thing doesn’t show my name again)

    • I love his style, too ^.^ I would love my guy to wear his style clothes, but he’d probably get strange looks from people because it’s just a little unusual. ^.^ I’ll do more posts; character posts, probably. Fun stuff that I don’t have to drill my brains for.

      • Ah yes, we can’t expect you to do deep, insightful posts all the time, can we? πŸ˜„ Yeah…he’d get some odd glances from my mom if he was my boyfriend, even if he was Mr. Perfect-in-every-other-way. BTW, I neeeed your notes on LM, unnie. -_- Thou art late with ’em. πŸ˜„

  3. I just love him so much, Mirriam. So, so much. So very much. Let me love him? ❀ And Monster is Judas's song too! :O

  4. *huggles Ariel* Can I keep him? I need someone to keep. You didn’t let me keep Mir. Or Cayne. Can I keep Jade? OH! Brilliant idea; I could just keep all of them! I’m sure no one would notice…

        • Exactly! This quote inspired it – ‘The great truth in Beauty and the Beast is that a thing must be loved before it is loveable.’ – G K Chesterton. Slightly paraphrased. πŸ˜„

            • Isn’t it FANTASTIC? I fell in love with the quote immediately. It just struck a chord. And…I get ideas from EVERYTHING. -_- I don’t know whether it’s a gift or a curse – well, I’d say it’s a gift with a cursed lining. I trip over so many ideas that it’s overwhelming and I have to pick and choose which ones to pay attention to, which is painful. πŸ˜„

            • Wow. Did it take a while to get to that point? πŸ˜„ lol! Curse-lined gift. That sounds awesome. O_O THAT SOUNDS HORRIBLE! I have a journal that I keep ideas, names, words and miscellaneous stuff in. It’s purple leather and Mom got it for me for my birthday. I love it. πŸ˜„ I have a ton of stuff in it.

  5. OH MY GOODNESS CONGRATS ON THE THREE YEARS THAT’S FANTASTIC MIRRI YOU ARE AMAZING!!! AND I NEED TO FIND TIME TO FINISH READING THIS GUY AND ALL THE OTHERS. HOW DO YOU WRITE SO MUCH SO FAST? SORRY I HAVEN’T BEEN SENDING YOU NOTES I REALLY NEED TO GET TO THAT. TIIIIME. NEEDZ. AND SORRY ABOUT THE CAPS TOO I’M JUST HYPER WHEEE! Ahem. >.> *scuttles out and hopes no one will notice this*

  6. Aw. Ariel sounds really…dear. Not sure what I mean by that, exactly–I guess just that the troubled ones always end up quite dear to me somehow. And the fact that he apparently swings in and out of fits makes it that much better. So I’ll definitely be lining up to buy this one once it’s published. Ha, the “Elegant Punk” thing seals the deal for me anyways. ;D

    Also, it’s kind of funny–I don’t think any one else would’ve thought to apply a name like Ariel to this guy, but after reading about him and seeing the pictures, the possibility of him ever being named anything else seems wrong and pretty much impossible. Brilliant!

    • I’m SO glad!! I’m really enjoying writing him; he’s very dear to my heart. And I would have never thought to name a guy Ariel, honest – but I was thinking of names that mean ‘lion’ and Ariel means ‘lion of God’ and it just clicked, and it was kinda different, so I chose it and now, like you said, the possibility of him ever being named anything else seems wrong and pretty much impossible. ^.^

Got something to say?

