just wait

“There are not three levels of spiritual life – worship, waiting, and work. Yet some of us seem to jump like spiritual frogs from worship to waiting, and from waiting to work. God’s idea is that the three should go together as one.” – Oswald Chambers, My Utmost For His Highest
 
I’m a very eager person. If I remember something I want to do, I have to do it right then. I don’t want to wait to get it done. (This is sadly not the case with things I DON’T want to do, but I’m working on it.) In BSF this morning, my group was discussing God’s promise to Abraham (or Abram, then). I can just see the look on his face when God told him he would have a son. It was probably a mixture of shock and awe, which probably turned a little sarcastic over the years as he failed to see the promise fulfilled.  
 
73957618850470732_L601d5a9_c
 
I’m waiting, at the moment. And if you want to know for what, keep reading. Remember how I said Magpie Eclectic Press was going to publish Monster? Well, the day arrived when I’d told them it was theirs. I was feeling insanely happy about it, but in the middle of the happiness was this annoying litte twingy feeling that I was doing something I shouldn’t. I couldn’t think why I would have that feeling, so I pressed on – we were even working on getting the cover done by Saimain, one of my favorite artists of all time. And yet, the more I thought and talked and prayed about it, I heard that still, small, personally inconvenient voice saying ‘wait.’
 
So, after some mental protesting and digging in my heels, I gave in and decided to let God have his way. I told the publisher that I couldn’t do this yet; I had to wait. Maybe I’m waiting for the other publishers to reply, maybe I’m just waiting for a miracle – but I’m waiting.
 
I tell you, after three days I felt like Abraham. “Okay, God, it’s not happening, sooo…where’s my Plan B?” But it’s a learning process, really; trusting God. I want Monster to get published so badly that sometimes I ache – especially when I have an opportunity to have it published sitting right in front of me, tantalizing and within reach…but I’m waiting.  Because when God asks you to wait, it’s because He has something awesome in store.
 
11 thoughts on “just wait

  1. I am praying for you, beautiful!! ❤ I know what it's like to want to have your work published. I've had to turn down contracts just cuz I knew it wasn't right for me at the time. He has a WONDERFUL plan in store for 'Monster'!!! DON'T DOUBT IT!!!:) I love youuuuu ❤

  2. Mirriam, I’m so proud of you. Wait on God. Sometimes those feelings just mean that the time isn’t right, not that you’re going in the wrong direction. Trust me.

  3. You’re so wonderful, Miri!!! I’m so glad you have such strong faith in God. ❤ I'll be praying for you and I'm sure He'll work everything out in His time. I'm exactly the same as you (in this matter, at least)! I like to jump around and do my thing. 😛

  4. That’s so weird because I had a feeling about the book too. Dunno how to explain it, that’s why I didn’t say anything. It was just a weird feeling. Kind of like “I’m not so sure about this.” Reading this now, it makes sense. I think you’re totally making the right decision to wait. Unlike me, who totally missed the signs that it was a bad idea. Looking back I see them all now.

    Hey wait a minute you changed the background! It’s pretty. ><

  5. I love this, I really do 🙂 This is something I’m doing too, it feels like. Except I seem to finally be moving out of the “waiting” part and into the “working” part. It’s actually kind of making me nervous…

    But hey, always listen to God. Whatever strings He’s pulling, the outcome is always going to be bigger and better than what you first expected.

  6. This quote, when I saw it on FB, totally screamed “Me”. Or more like, “YOU!” straight from the holy spirit. 😀 Thank you for this reminder of the waiting! 🙂

  7. I have to echo Stella and say WEIRD… because I had the same feeling. O.o And you know I WANT that book published SO. BADLY…but it’s got to be right, and I know God has an amazing plan for the story. So I feel unexplainably better that you’re waiting than I would if you’d said it was coming out tomorrow. Something awesome is definitely coming. 🙂

    Fighting! While waiting! 🙂

  8. Awesome, Mirriam 🙂 From the Bible I know it’s worth it to wait when God says so. I hope this truth becomes your personal testimony!

Got something to say?

