Now and the next six months

The next six months – through June, that is – have taken a brightly-colored pattern of business. Mom has paved the way for me to accomplish my dream of graduating in June, and so my horizon is stacked with schoolwork. On top of that we’re planning a new diet for a few months as well as an exercise routine and studying for my driver’s permit, and then of course we have church and chores, and also a new rule of No Computer on Sunday. Now, while I’m okay with this for six months, it’s going to slow my writing down considerably. I thought I would have less to do after January 1st. Ha ha ha, the joke’s on me. I can live with it, though, and live with it cheerfully because I can look forward to AFTER June! I’m sure it’s not going to be quite the pink, fluffy, self-indulgent cloud my brain has made it out to be, but I’ll have much more time for writing and reading and drawing, which excites me. I might even get around to composing music for the songs I’ve written (O_e That would be so cool.)

But before all that happens, I have quite a few things to accomplish. Blogging may be a bit slower, writing will definitely be a bit slower, since Sunday was the day I got quite a lot of writing done on previously, but I’m not quitting by any means. And on that note, I know a lot of people give their years ‘words’ in the place of resolutions. I think it’s a great idea – more personal and helpful than resolutions. So on January second, I chose my word for 2013. And that word is

now

I chose that word because during 2012, I became a procrastinator. As a result of shoving things off until tomorrow…and the next day…and the next day…I never got anything done. I seriously disliked that about myself, so this year, I’m determined to do things right off, instead of fudging them over for as long as I can. If Mom asks me to do something, I’ll do it now. If I have to make something for a friend, I’ll do it then. If I need to write something down, I’ll do it right away. I’ve been using this word as a reminder since I claimed the word as mine, and honestly, it’s done good things for me. I feel more accomplished, I get my tasks and personal goals completed, no matter how small they are. I don’t always feel like doing them, but I feel one hundred times better once they are done. 

Now.

So now I’m off to scribble in Acceso as much as I can before I go to babysit my nephew – I’m going to be juggling a lot of things for a while, so I’ll have to get used to it. I have the feeling there’s going to be a lot of handwriting going on.

4 thoughts on “Now and the next six months

  1. God bless you as you shoot for the moon…and land among the stars…because you will. I am realizing that…my time is now as well. I have one year to get my writing life and world in order…everything I want must be done in this next year or my writing dreams will become a sideline of my life. I have a year to make this my life – forever. Or not at all. I hope and pray that both of us will be focused and motivated this year, Live life with no regrets…not looking back…the road before you calls…RUN MIRRIAM GO GET YOUR DREAMS!!!

    Jessica

  2. Oh gosh, I am so with you on this one. I’ve the grandest of plans, and now I’ve got to come to terms with the fact that now it is Jan. and they’d better be in motion or they never will be!

Got something to say?

