good cheer

Christmastime is a busy time. For the last four days, I’ve been abnormally busy; which means I haven’t even had time to finish one chapter in any of my novels. This makes me practically desperate to sit down and write something – but just because I want something doesn’t mean I get it. And actually, I think some time in the ‘real world’ is going to help my writing anyway. I thought you might like to know a couple little things that have happened to me over the last few days while out and about with my family.

wonderfultime

– At Trader Joe’s, I was out with my soon to be sister-in-law looking for mom’s cell phone when an old lady comes running down the ramp, pushing her grocery cart. She hits the sidewalk and keeps going, and while she flies past us, calls, “That was fun!!” (It turns out my sister had the phone in her purse. Nobody knew how it got there, but apparently she’d been wondering where the ringing was coming from).

– At Whole Foods, I stopped to ask one of the men who worked there where he was from, because his accent was amazing. He got this huge grin (the only way I can describe this is that my soul liked his. Sometimes people just give you this weird feeling of ‘connection’ and it was strange that a random man in Whole Foods would be someone I liked so much) and then told me that he spoke Spanish very well. So, being brilliant, I said, “….Spain?” He told me it was a country in South America, and proceeded to name them all. The funny thing was, he wasn’t doing this in a know-it-all way, but in a really enjoyable way instead. I guessed Chile and he said, “Close! Argentina.” He asked where I was from, and I told him it was from the extremely exotic Washington State. We chatted for a bit, and he said, “If you ever travel, open your mind and your heart.” This, coupled with the Argentinian accent and the whole soul-thing, made this guy one of my favorite people I’ve ever met. His name was Carlos. (Roll the ‘r’.)

– We went into a coffee shop called Caribou Coffee in Atlanta. It is ADORABLE, and crowded and quirky. While Mom, Riah, and my older sister Maralie chatted at a table, I took my nephew Silas to a seat by the fireplace and told him three Christmas stories in a row (he spent the rest of the day asking for more stories. I love telling stories to him). I had a Ho Ho Mint Mocha. (Yesterday we went again and I had a Campfire Mocha. With actual melted bits of marshmallow. Ohhhh.) As we were leaving, Riah told me that Clark Kent had apparently been in there, and I had missed him. He was on the phone the whole time, but we decided it was because he was looking for a phone booth to change into and couldn’t find one. We DID find one later – but it was a DANTRIS; clear, red, glass, and locked. Ah well.

Oftheyear

– When we went to Atlanta, we wandered around the mall and had a blast. There was a Free People there; where I wanted every article of clothing and jewelry they had but none even pretended to approach my budget. They decorated beautifully for Christmas; white lights were strung around, and they decorated the mannequins in gorgeous, sparkly party dresses overlaid with vintage lace for a funky, adorable look.

– The next best shop was Anthropologie. The first thing you see when you walk in is a model in a dress – the skirt of which is made entirely of blue-and-white China plates, various pieces and sizes and fragments. The mannequin wore a white paper jacket, and I stood around gawping at it until my six-year-old nephew decided it was time to go, and proceeded to lead me around the store to look at papery, dolls, chinawear, clothes, books, and furniture.

– After that we went to Panera and got some snacks (strawberries and cream scone for me, cinnamon twists and pumpkin muffins for everyone else before heading out. We had a blast – and then we got to go to Atlanta again!

– Yesterday morning, Riah and I got up early. She made hot chocolate and we watched Prom together – we used to get up early on Saturdays and watch fluff movies regularly, but it’s been forever. We had the most fun time, laughing and giggling and ‘awwww’-ing. And it wasn’t a musical! (Yes, we watched the High School Musicals and Camp Rocks during our saturday mornings. Yes we did.)

This week we have the zoo, the Hobbit, Stone Mountain, and cookie day. I hope to bring the camera and take pictures for you! And now, I want to go write – because I’m dying to and haven’t had the proper time in days. Merry Christmas!

11 thoughts on “good cheer

  1. It sounds like you have had an amazing time! I still have one week of school left before break, meaning that everyone is really just exhausted with school, and ready to get out for break, but once break starts, it’s essentially the start of Christmas. Also, you’re lucky to get to see the Hobbit– I don’t get to see it until Friday night, sadly.

  2. Sounds like tons of fun!!! Have you seen The Hobbit yet?! My dad and I saw the midnight premier, and it was amazing!!! It looks like you had an awesome four days, even without writing!!! Now get on it, girl!!! You’ve got lots to catch up on — and to catch us up on!!!

  3. Have fun getting some words down! And I particularly like the little old lady story… 🙂 That will definitely be the kind of grandma I’ll be (except I’ll have grandkids in the trolley too)…

  4. “my soul liked his”… Isn’t it just wonderful when that happens? Making connections with random strangers never fails to make my week. 😀

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Hobbit!

  5. I think it’s sometimes interesting to go places and watch people – I think you can find an assortment of some of the most interesting/odd/unique-looking people around (certainly in grocery stores) in Whole Foods. 🙂

    What’s a DANTRIS? Like a TARDIS except it’s red?

    I want to watch The Hobbit!

  6. I LOVED THE HOBBIT!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 hahaha DEFINITELY going to see parts 2 and 3. X) and ooooo! lol sounds like quite an interesting and enjoyable sequence of events! ;D

  7. Wha–??! I’m finally catching up on your posts (have been sick, and internet has been dead, so I’m behind on EVERYTHING -_-) and I notice I… got tagged by you? O_O WHAT. *squeals in sudden and amazed happiness and promptly falls over* I must… get to that. Yes. *has never been tagged before* AND I never imagined it would happen BEFORE I got a blog! 😄

    *tackle-hug*
    -Deb

  8. It sounds as if you have been having a lovely time lately. The older lady story made me grin. One doesn’t meet such people much anymore, which is sad. Because they are such fun. Most of the older people I’ve met complain and seem very discontent.

Got something to say?

