In which I chronicle a day of NaNoWriMo

So today I decided to do something different. I’m going to keep my blog up and open, and at various times during the day I’m going to post here as to how NaNo is going. Things like that. So, here, at 11:44 in the morning, about half an hour after I got up (I was up late last night struggling over Unforget and fussing about the election so they let me sleep in), I am at 11, 704 words and have written 66 of them this morning. Let’s see how this goes.

11:50 and my heart is already crumbling into little dusty pieces…poor Cayne… Song of the minute: Who Painted the Moon Black by Haley Westenra

12: 07 and I just got back in from checking the mail. I had a beautiful pair of silver chopsticks waiting for me in the mail from one beautiful Amanda Bradburn – I know they’re for eating with, but they’re currently in my hair. Thank you, Amanda β™₯ Song of the moment: Tonight by MBLAQ.

2: 07. Just took a break to watch an episode of Jericho with Mom, back to writing. Song of the moment: Red by Taylor Swift

3: 05. Sitting here. The ideas. They are not coming. Right! I could throw some more danger in… Song of the moment: IF This was a Movie by Taylor Swift

3: 33. My sister made fudge. Enough said. Song of the moment: If Today was Your Last Day by Nickelback.

4:00. Word war with Emily begins. Song of the Moment: Nillili Mambo by BlockB.

4: 45. Word war with Emily ends. She has 599 words.Β I have 700. We were close. Song of the Moment: This is War by MBLAQ.

At the end of the day, my stats were as followsΒ –

I ended up focusing on writing and kind of forgot to update this most as often as I wanted, but oh well. It’s about writing in my novel, not on my blog (as much as I love blogging). How’s your NaNo coming? Are you feeling hyped, or discouraged?

65 thoughts on “In which I chronicle a day of NaNoWriMo

      • YOWELCOME!!! =P You’re doing so well! I can’t do NaNo. I don’t think I could handle that and school. =S So great job! I’m only doing 100-200 words a day in my novel. XD

        Is that something you created? A widget? *headbang* I’m sorry. I’m tired. πŸ˜›

          • Ah! Gotcha! XD I need something like that anyways… πŸ˜›

            Whoohoo Taylor Swift and Hayley Westernra fans!! *high fives* Red is epic! I am so in love with “The Last Time” on that album!!! XD Do you ever listen to Evanescence?

            • My, my, it appears there are multiple fans of the pretty Kiwi among Mirriam’s blog readers. πŸ˜€ I haven’t listened to Who Painted the Moon Black in a long time…(I like Taylor Swift as well, but she’s much more well-known here in the US than Hayley is) Have you heard of Sarah Barlow? She’s a cousin of the Barlow sisters of BarlowGirland she did the photos for Taylor Swift’s new album. Rana, if you like Evanescence, have you heard of Within Temptation? They’re one of my top favourite music artists/groups, an as Mirriam can also tell you, they have some great music. πŸ™‚

            • My, my, it appears there are multiple fans of the pretty Kiwi among Mirriam’s blog readers. πŸ˜€ I haven’t listened to Who Painted the Moon Black in a long time…(I like Taylor Swift as well, but she’s much more well-known here in the US than Hayley is) Have you heard of Sarah Barlow? She’s a cousin of the Barlow sisters of BarlowGirland she did the photos for Taylor Swift’s new album. Rana, if you like Evanescence, have you heard of Within Temptation? They’re one of my top favourite music artists/groups, an as Mirriam can also tell you, they have some great music (some that’s totally epic and/or breathtakingly beautiful). πŸ™‚

            • Yeah, I found Hayely when she joined Celtic Women! ^^ No, I haven’t heard those!!! I must look into them! I listen to BarlowGirl! XD I’m all over the place, aren’t I? πŸ˜› I’ll look into Within Temptation! Is their music clean? Sorry, I just don’t want to listen to certain things if ya know what I mean. XD

            • Within Temptation’s music tends to be clean. It can be depressing, though. I ADORE their sound – it’s just AMAZING. However, their music videos that I’ve seen are a little bit….well, definitely not for kids.

            • lol! Like Evanescence? Her music is depressing… and the music videos are so dark. =S What are your favs by Within Temptation? Sounds like I need to look ’em up!

            • Yeah, like Evanescence πŸ˜€ (My Immortal is one of my favorites. SOOO SAD AND BEAUTIFUL). Let’s see…
              I love ‘Pale.’ LOVE that one by them.
              And one I made a Loki fanvid to a while ago, uh – Frozen, that’s it. THEY’RE BOTH AMAZING.

            • I think I discovered Hayley years ago on Amazon when looking at Celtic Woman albums and some of hers showed up in the suggestions at the bottom. As for Within Temptation, I had know about Nightwish, another group in the same genre, but I first discovered WT after listening to their song, The Swan Song, on Mirriam’s best friend, Hannah’s blog playlist long ago.

              Let me see, some of my favorites by WT (I like them much better than Evanescence, partly because I like Sharon den Adel’s voice better than Amy Lee’s, for the most part)…this is somewhat difficult since I really like a lot of their songs. πŸ™‚
              As for being “clean,” the strongest language I’ve heard in their songs is the “d” word found in Gone With the Wind, and I don’t think I’ve heard any suggestive lyrics either.
              I like how much of their music imparts lots of emotion through the lyrics and Sharon’s voice, some of their songs have deep lyrics (definitely look at the lyrics for The Truth Beneath the Rose – I have a conceptual self-portrait inspired by that song on Flickr, but I hope to be able to create a much more impressive one someday), and like Mirriam said, they have a great sound – the epic choir vocal definitely add to it.

              Some mostly intense songs – although they have “quieter” parts in them (be advised that some of their songs, such as Frozen, have at least two versions, with one being a mellower, acoustic version – some of the acoustic versions are on the An Acoustic Night At the Theatre):
              1) The Truth Beneath the Rose
              2) Hand of Sorrow (I have the bridge part of this song as my iPhone’s ringtone πŸ˜€ )
              3) See Who I Am (the beginning sounds very epic)
              4) Our Solemn Hour
              5) A Dangerous Mind

              Mostly “softer” songs (although some have more intense parts):
              1) Pale
              2) Somewhere (the original version just has Sharon in it but there’s also a duet on the An Acoustic Night At the Theatre album)
              3) Overcome
              4) Our Farewell
              5) Say My Name
              6) Ouverture
              7) Forgiven (Live In Eindhoven 2008)
              8) Frozen (Live In Eindhoven 2008)
              9) The Swan Song
              10) Intro

              Now go to YouTube (which is where I’ve found and downloaded a bunch of these from), Grooveshark.com, etc. and give them a listen. πŸ™‚

              Mirriam, sorry for cluttering up your comments; I can get carried away and ramble when talking about certain things I like. πŸ˜›

            • I do the EXACT same thing. Except you’re more articulate. Please feel free to clutter up anytime. *grabs song titles for self* EEE my precioussss.

            • Oh my word! I’m listening to My Immortal right now!!! XD I haven’t heard Pale or frozen… *makes mental note to look them up*

              How’s NaNo going for ya??

            • @Max – like she said, I’m a regular. XD As of late, I’ve been slacking and don’t post comments as much, but I read all her posts. XD

  1. Currently ahead of you… *cough* Sorry. πŸ˜›

    Today I got to write a whole 2k of the weirdest character I’ve ever written, talking. ‘Twas a good day. πŸ˜€ NaNo WHEEEEEEE!!! /hyper

  2. Ah, Who Painted the Moon Black – I haven’t listened to that song in a long time…
    I recently discovered some of Hayley’s songs that I really like, such as Majesty, the RWC 2011 Official Song, and several others (you can find those on YouTube – just make sure you find a HQ version or the sound quality might be awful)…have you heard any of those?

  3. *pumps arms* NILLILI LALALA NILLILIYA NILLILI MAMBO!!!
    ………………………….*cough*………………………….
    you didn’t see anything

      • I ADORE that song, too. You should try NanrinA and Burn Out if you like their sound =D I have it on my iPod, too πŸ˜€ OH! And definitely look up the music video – it’s my favorite of this season. Possibly of the year.

        • Ok, I will definitely look up those songs! I have already seen the music video for that song like 5 times since I found it… lol. I love the end!

  4. O.O Wow, all your little brown bars are above the line. None of mine are above the line. Procrastination and distraction have hit hard the last two days for me, but hopefully I can get over it and write a ton so I can catch up to where it says I should be. You’re doing really, really great though, and that’s encouraging to me!!! And I love Haley Westenra!!! My writing music varies between Pandora and YouTube.

    • Well, I’m going to be gone for a few days later this month so I’m working to get ahead πŸ˜€ YOU CAN DO IT, KRAZY!!!! YOU CAN!!!! I believe in you!!! And I’m using Pandora for Christmas music XD

      • Ah, I see. I remember you saying that now. Getting ahead would be a good thing in that case. I CAN DO IT!!! I WILL SURVIVE!!! I mean, SUCCEED!!! But I’ll survive too! Christmas music is awesome!!! I’m waiting a little while longer before I really start listening to it though, as I would like to survive long enough to actually see Christmas. Not all of my family shares my enthusiasm for Christmas music XD

  5. Hyper! HYPER! HYPER!!!
    Hahaha. But I’m writing my book weird. Rogue is the most written about and she can’t come in till at least chapter 5 and I’m ‘writing’ 2 right now. The president using dead yet but he is where I’m writing on two different chapters. And I’m not sure what to do about love, and cursing. .__. But it’s all coming along.

  6. I love NanoWrimo. I really do haha. I had thought before I started that it would be impossibly hard and not that fun, but November is proving to be an extremely fun month πŸ™‚ It’s funny how my stats are though. I wrote nearly 3k a day last weekend, then on the weekdays, I barely made the word count. Now it’s the weekend again and it’s time to write a ton more of an incredibly terrible first draft…

    Ahh! I love Taylor Swift’s new album. Amazing writing music, I tell you! πŸ˜›

Got something to say?

