Take wing on the balmy breeze/ and sweep you off your feet

Our camping trip was cut a little short thanks to some rain – but that didn’t matter! I had an amazing time! There’s something about camping – it calmes you, refreshes you, slows you down, straightens your priorities. It couldn’t have come at a better time – I need a re-focus before NaNo sets in. The autumn foliage was spectacular – I was a little bit camera-happy, when I wasn’t sitting around the fire warming my feet and drinking hot chocolate! Because really, that’s what camping’s all about.

Proof! I really did go camping!

Our tent! There’s a divider in the middle; Riah and I slept in one half, Mom and Dad in the other. Mar, Jake and Silas slept in their own tent (which has a front porch. It’s like a tent-mansion).

Silas loves the fire. It’s his favorite part about camping every year – he does his best to keep it going all day, and every time he grabbed a new handful of kindling he would come running up and call me, “Auntie M! Look!”

Hot chocolate and a homemade pumpkin muffin for breakfast? I think yes. (Am I making you want to go camping yet?)

My sister and my brother-in-law. I told Jake he looked as if he was going to eat the bait. His response –

I adore this picture of mom and dad. I’m not a photographer, but I feel rather proud of it.

How I normally look, in case you were wondering.

And last, but not least, my tree. We camped by this tree the last time – it’s perfect for laying on, feeling like a woodland elf or something. I fell asleep there the last time for a good solid hour; waking up to pick twigs from my hair and brush leaves off my jeans.

Autumn is delicious.

20 thoughts on “Take wing on the balmy breeze/ and sweep you off your feet

  1. It’s been so so long since I’ve been camping. We used to go every fall, but now being self-employed and trying to get 9 kids and a grandmother and two parents and a dog out is just a huge undertaking. πŸ˜›

  2. Wow! Looks awesome. When we camp, it’s rocks and scrub and hot. Which is still nice, but those trees look amazing. Beautiful pictures. And such a happy looking family. πŸ˜‰

    • Awww, I don’t like the sound of where you camp. πŸ˜„ And we were quite happy, in spite of the fact that some of them suffered colds. I felt bad for them, but it was still beautiful there πŸ˜‰

  3. Yay! you’re back! These pics are so beautiful, fall in south Louisiana just doesn’t have the color I’m used to. Camping is so much fun. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m so jealous! Usually we go camping every fall, but we haven’t gone this year, and I don’t think we did last year. We always try to get a river-side campsight at this one camp ground. Then I walk down and sit on the huge rocks jutting over the water and listen to my ipod. Sometimes I draw or write. Usually I just read. I wish we could go this year 😦

    • My sister and I sit on this huge rock jutting out over the water, too!! We talk a lot there and have a blast. This time we didn’t take our iPods; Mom made it a no-technology trip =D

  5. I love camping. Adore it. Haven’t done it for a while. The only downside is… NO ELECTRICITY!!! Which can be a good thing, sometimes… catch up on reading. Catch up in general. Ah. I want to go camping now. πŸ™‚

    • I KNOW! No electricity – except this time, we DID have some. We got a campsite that had it, so we plugged in our coffeepot aaand…inflated mattresses. That’s about it. =D

  6. I haven’t been camping in several years, but the last time we did it was up near Port Townsend, in Washington. πŸ™‚ It looks lovely where you camped!

  7. Ooo, sounds like you guys had an amazing time!!! I’m with Silas; fire is ALWAYS the best part!!! Well, fire and the trees, of course. And your tree is awesome!!! We always go trailer camping (not sure why), but it’s lots of fun! Last time we went I fell out of a tree… But it was fun! Ad are you also the type of person to make a face when someone tries to take a picture? It annoys my mother, but I am that kind of person.

  8. Autumn is a very nice time of year…and your last picture here is very pretty. πŸ™‚
    When I went camping with my family and church at Sardis Lake, MS, last week, there were lots of mosquitoes (I had at least thirty bites on my arms alone), so the time wasn’t as enjoyable as it might have been. πŸ˜›

    I should thank your little sister for introducing me to Lindsey Stirling and her music – I think Lindsey is pretty cool and a good artist. πŸ™‚

  9. Looks like you had fun! πŸ˜€ I, personally, can’t go camping, as my somewhat germaphobic nature and my intense fear of bugs would keep me from enjoying it. X) Still, I occasionally think it’d be nice. πŸ˜‰ Love the pictures, by the way. And the tree!! πŸ˜€ ❀

Got something to say?

