Snip-snip-snippets!

So I was up late last night, scribbling away in Unforget and deep in the world of “Starters,” and I remembered I hadn’t done Snippets this month. Anyway, I thought I would share some snippets I’ve written (thank you, NaNo forums for inspiring me. I love you forever) in Unforget. (You can see the bent of my mind at at the moment, but I feel torn. Monster calls me to edit, Unforget calls me to plan…ce la writer’s vie) (I think that was a lingual abomination).

So you lied to me.”

I bit the inside of my lip. There had to be a good explanation for why I hadn’t told him my real age – I just couldn’t come up with it on such a short notice. I didn’t think that, ‘You looked like a creep, and I didn’t want the wrong kind of attention’ would improve his mood at at all. Fortunately for me, he let me off the immediate hook by speaking again.

“If you’re going to have two faces, at least make one of them easy on the eyes.”

“Eye,” I corrected, pointing toward the bandage over the right side of his face before bothering to feel offended. Which I did, just not too much.

He leaned forward, squinting at me with his good eye. “I think you understood the insult.”

I nodded. “Yep, sure did. Thanks for that. But,” I added, shifting so the wind wasn’t blowing through the hole in the knee of my jeans, “isn’t it better to have two faces than half of one?”

He regarded me in silence for the space of a long breath before responding, “The bandage comes off, you know.”

************************

So.” Topaz folded my sweatshirt with practiced, precise movements. “What are your thoughts on…” She nodded toward the door.

“My thoughts?” I studied my fingernails. “He’s… kind of hard to get along with.”

“That is kinder than what most would say.”

“Yeah, well.” I shrugged and leaned back on the bed. “You kind of have to get over the glaring ‘do not disturb’ sign hung on his personality. Then he’s not so bad, as long as you can put up with his emotional moments. Then he’s like a deranged teenaged girl in a man suit.”

Topaz hid her laugh behind a slender hand. “And what,” she asked, still smiling, “does he think of you?”

“I think he tolerates my existence,” I answered. “It’s a step up.” 

“You tolerate each other, then. That must be nice.” She placed the sweatshirt on the foot of the bed and sat looking at her hands.

I sat up. “What do you mean? He gets along well with you. I’ve never seen him act that nicely toward anyone else, ever. Since I met him, anyway,” I added, figuring that five days wasn’t really long enough to use ‘ever.’

She shrugged her shoulders and smiled at me, a wistful smile that made me realize. This beautiful, elegant woman was jealous of me. “Yes,” she agreed, the wistfulness slipping into something secretive and sad. “Only take care of yourself, Moon. There is nothing in the world so difficult as loving someone who likes you.”

I wanted to ask, What about falling in love with someone you hate?

************************

No,” I spat. “The mistake I made was trusting him in the first place.”

“But there is the question – wouldn’t you do it again if it meant seeing him smile?”

*************************

I aimed a kick at a fist-sized pebble and missed. “Sorry for…” I tapped my face where his now sported a bruise where my forehead had bashed into him.

He continued to look straight ahead at the end of the alley. “I’m sorry I hurt your feelings when I said your head was empty. I really thought you already knew.”

I was going to kill him. And I didn’t care if I had to jump to do it, the mule.

***************************

I hope you enjoyed the snippets; I’m having so much fun writing their dialogue. They’re going to bounce really well off each other – I can’t wait for November to actually begin so I can officially start on this thing! 

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

9 thoughts on “Snip-snip-snippets!

  1. Sounds like sparks are flying! Nothing like a relationship between people who, er…love/hate each other? I love the first snippet the best. It’s like the dialogue is flowing on 2 levels.

Got something to say?

