The great glorious thing that happened to me today

Today began as an extra-good day for no reason at all.

It was beautifully cloudy outside, it was cold enough that I wore (and am still wearing) my falling apart but oh-so-comfortable slippers, the candles were lit as we read our Bibles – even the coffee was unusually delicious. School and chores didn’t seem so bad, and after they were finished, I logged onto the computer. I was made even happier by some extremely uplifting Monster reviews – one actually made me cry (in a good way!)

And then the Great Good Thing happened.

Ladies and gentlemen (and aliens and rogues and magic-bean-buyers) –

Monster…

HAS A PUBLISHER.

It came from Nichole White of Magpie Eclectic Press, who also is publishing my short stories ‘The Department-Store Pianist’ and ‘In Time.’. When editing is through, I’m going to submit Monster to both Magpie and Mercury Ink. The main gist of this post is – even if Mercury Ink doesn’t accept the manuscript – Monster has a publisher.

And it’s very possible that there may be actual copies of it available in bookstores in May next year.

I called my sister on the phone to tell her about it and all I could really manage was squealing, incoherent rambling, and a lot of inane giggling.

So there you have it. Pardon me while I go throw confetti and edit until the keyboard lights on fire.

30 thoughts on “The great glorious thing that happened to me today

  1. :O ^_^ O_O πŸ˜€ GO MIRRI!!! πŸ™‚ (is a smallish publisher what you want? It’s cool either way I guess. :D)
    *hopesmynotesdidn’tmakeyoucry*
    SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ❀

  2. THAT IS SO AMAZING!! IT’S AWESOME LIKE A POSSUM!! no, it’s MORE awesome than a possum!! πŸ˜„ THAT’S INCREDIBLE!! (why can’t I stop yelling adjectives?) I’m sosososososososo thrilled for you, Mirriam!! πŸ˜€ I WILL GO OUT AND BUY IT THE MINUTE IT HITS STORES!!!! πŸ˜€

    also, Mercury Ink is an idiot if they DON’T accept it! πŸ˜‰

    GOOOOOOOOOOO MIRRIAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ❀ ❀

    • Rachel, Quite frankly, I agree with you… Monster is truly a great piece and Mercury Ink would be daft not to accept it. But I can’t help hoping (in a very friendly yet competitive manner) that they don’t accept it, if I may be so bold as to say so… ;D

  3. AWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOME SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!! And I will be purchasing a copy the MOMENT it hits stores! =8D *joins you in dancing and throwing confetti*

  4. I can’t decide whether to be really, really jealous or very, very happy.
    so I’ll just go with a slightly jealousy-tinged happiness that acknowledges that Monster most definitely deserves it, and that I sincerely hope I’ll be there someday.
    also, I’ll be buying a copy of it.
    maybe two.
    or three.
    telling everybody I meet that hey, they should go read that book my friend wrote.
    there will also be squealing when I first see it.
    possibly flails.
    lots of feels.
    I’ll probably get thrown out of a bookstore.
    oh well.
    go Mirriam!
    /tacklehugs

  5. Congrats!! Will it come out in Australia too? Because I want to see it on a shelf and say (insert proud voice here) “I read that book before it was published”. So awesome, Mirriam!!! Way to go for you! πŸ™‚

  6. WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i ALMOST CRIED READING THIS, MIRRIAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YEAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. OHMYGOODNESS MIRRIAM THAT’S SO AWESOME!!!!!! I’m so happy and excited for you!!!! I can’t wait to see Monster on all the shelves, and hold it in my hands, and read it over and over and over again, and tell everyone what an amazing book it is and that I haunt the authoress’s blog and read the book before it was published and AOIWRIVNQNEWROPVAOSJDFJ I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!

  8. Congrats! I can’t give you any of my “fun size” candy bars (Twix and Three Musketeers), but you can have a virtual chocolate: here you go: 🍱🍦 (actually, no chocolate, just sushi and ice cream that probably won’t show up πŸ˜‰

  9. *SQUEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!* I cannot wait… πŸ˜€ Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    (BTW, I started going through Monster again… and spilled water on my computer. πŸ˜› I’m hoping my notes were not lost, but once everything dries out and I dare to touch my computer again, I guess I’ll find out. And then hopefully you’ll be getting another email from me. :D)

  10. That’s so awesome!!! I’m so excited for you!!

    Do small presses actually put the books in bookstores? I was thinking about submitting to them, but I wasn’t sure if they did or not πŸ™‚

    • It’s possible for small presses (with the help of their authors) to put some of their books in a physical format into a few bookstores, but going nation or world wide with it is much more difficult for them. Using a good distribution system can help, but small presses don’t have as many resources as the bigger presses do… its much easier and more productive for them to focus their market online for nation-wide and world-wide appeal, and to work local as much as possible. πŸ™‚ For instance, while a small press might struggle with getting a physical copy of a book into — say — Barnes and Noble nationwide, it’s possible that a small press COULD get a physical copy of the same book into their local Barnes and Noble by going through a small process involving an interview and some paperwork. πŸ™‚

      Getting a book into libraries is also a great way to get the word spread around. Readers can help authors in this way by requesting an author’s book through the library system… πŸ˜€

      It would seem that bookstores are naturally suspicious of small presses, and for that reason the process for getting a small press’ book into a physical bookstore is much more difficult than it could be… That is why readers might notice small Christian presses like Flaming Pen Press and Marcher Lord Press and Splashdown books popping up over the internet, but not be able to find their books in any physical stores. πŸ™‚

      With that said, it is possible for

Got something to say?

