Finis

I’m sitting in front of Mom’s laptop, in Florida, with my earbuds around my ears, feeling a sort of swampy emotion. I’m stewing in a mixture of elation and sorrow and it results in me sitting here looking kind of flat.

I finished Monster.

The novel that wound itself around my heart and wouldn’t let go, that I put as much love and truth and tears and blood and sweat and laughter into as I could, is now over at ninety-three thousand, four-hundred and fifty-eight words. It feels kind of surreal. I’ve already talked about ending it, so there isn’t much I can say.

Except I loved every minute of it.

Now I’m getting help editing it already, but now that it’s finished if anybody would like to beta-read and help me with the problem of 1. scenes to cut and 2. scenes to lengthen/add, I’d really appreciate the input. If so, email me at the-shieldmaiden(at)hotmail(dot)com with the subject line ‘Monster.’

And now I’ll go…live my life, I guess…or curl up on the couch and stare off into the middle distance for a few years….

17 thoughts on “Finis

  1. *cries* I’m saving the last of it for the bus ride tomorrow…I don’t want it to end!!!!!!!!! I’m sure I’ll get a lot of strange looks when I start weeping uncontrollably when I read it, but I don’t care, I just don’t want it to be over!!!! It’s been such an awesome journey with you!!!! I – I can’t think properly right now, I’m too…I don’t know. Just the thought of it ending…*bawls* And I haven’t even read the last part yet!!!!!

  2. gasp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *stares at screen* Aughhhhh!!! *runs around the room frantically* I. Must. Read!! You. Must. Publish!! Self publish or otherwise. I must keep it on my bookshelf!! FOREVER!! *falls down panting* The only way I can tell you how excited I am is my saying I can’t express how excited I am. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. “or curl up on the couch and stare off into the middle distance for a few years…! I thought I was the only person who did that. O.O

    And seriously, there should be a name for that emotion.

  4. Congrats to you! There’s serious emotion in finishing a book. Half happiness. Half horror. But great sounding word count and I’ve heard so much about this book, I won’t lie, I’m dyyyying to read it. πŸ˜‰

  5. I’m still sobbing in my corner, Mirriam. And in serious need of someone to dig the dagger from my chest and the arrow from my knee. I feel your so-emotionally-conflicting-that-it’s-all-just-numb mood. But I will have you know, Monster is the first thing I’ve read and finished that gave me the same feelingless, empty, “hollow-thud” feeling I get when I finish writing a novel. THAT is something to be proud of, my dear. *huggles*

  6. Congratulations!
    (it looks like my comment earlier didn’t grt through πŸ˜› )

    I’m almost at the end of Monster now and probably should be going to bed, but I want to finish reading it…but I have a certain amount of trepidation about what’s going to happen at the end…

      • The last part of that sentence just summed up the feel of the entire novel. xD It made me happy!… but it also made me kind of sad… *cries again*

  7. Lookin forward to the end. I think I’ll have to go back and reread the whole thing ><
    I'm always available for editing. Gosh it's been awhile since I have…
    Mainly, I copy edit, but I leave my thoughts too. *shrug* (oh and it's freeeeee XD)

Got something to say?

