Just one of those days

 Today is a special day.

I don’t know why, I only know that it is. I woke up and once I looked outside, I didn’t even mind that it was sunny because it was a cold sunny. An Autumn sunny. From the view off our back deck you can see the trees on the hills beginning to change green dresses for orange, red, and yellow. The air is crisp and clear and there’s just enough breeze to give you that feeling of simultaneous wanderlust and perfect contentment. 

God is in His heaven and our hearts and all is well with my world. I have no idea how long this feeling will last – perfect moments can only last so long, and I haven’t the Ba’ku talent for prolonging them.

I hit writer’s block with Monster for the first time a couple weeks ago, and I think I’ve finally overcome it. I think the idea of having to write a trial in the near future threw a wall of fear and doubt and “I have no idea what I’m doing” into my head and my inner editor scoffed so much I listened to her and didn’t touch the novel too much for fear of the up-and-coming hardship. (There are people who think writing is easy. To them I say ‘ni.’) I think I whacked her over the head though – I prayed a lot, gathered inspiration, ran across a .gif that snapped my heart into two pieces because it made me think of Monster…I am ready to conquer! I am going to finish it by October if I have to write through the night!

(Nobody look at me and say ‘You said that about September’ because I know I did. Sigh).

And now I have the excitement of NaNoWriMo looming in the very-near-future, as well as a trip to South Carolina, a trip to Florida, and a good friend coming to visit. Once Upon a Time is coming back, Dr. Who is back, I’m back in chocolate milk (almond milk, but nevertheless delicious) and I’ve suddenly been inspired to read all my John  Howe art books again.

I’ve also been asked to write a quirky, spiritual look on Dr. Who + a review of Once Upon a Time for iBegat.com; I’m looking forward to it. Plus I have several more art commissions piled up, my school year to finish (forevaaaaahhh! Of course I’ve been sick and haven’t been doing much school, so I’m going to have to cram. And probably do some during NaNoWriMo. Aigoo.)

I have a pile of good books from the library to read, a pile of projects to write and things to draw, plenty of music to listen to, and life is good. Just right now, for today,  I don’t have anything to be upset about, worry about, or be angry over.

Just…one of those days. 😉

15 thoughts on “Just one of those days

  1. My day feels happy like that toooo! 😀

    Currently browsing WordPress for blogthemes even though I should be writing The Owl of Kedran’s Wood (we both have the same deadline YAY! Let’s beat this together!! :D). I may be asking you for help/advice in the blog area since your a wordpresser. 🙂

    I’m glad you’re HAPPYYYY! 😀

      • Yayyy!
        Well… I’m getting closer. 😄 The main thing I want is to be able to put a picture I made today on the top. So I’m searching for stuff. But as I may have said before, I’m clueless about this sorta stuff. If I come up with questions I may ask you them, you being the expert on bloggies. 😀

  2. OMG, your first paragraph describes how I’ve been feeling on several beautiful days we’ve had around here. Except I’ve described them as ‘this is a day for finding a portal into Narnia or Middle Earth’ days. 😀

  3. Ah, don’t you just LOVE those days?! I haven’t had one in quite a while.
    YAY!!!! MORE MONSTER!!!!!!!! I JUST finished the next part you sent out *goes in a corner and dies*. Fantastic!!!!! But I hate cliffhangers when there’s no more to read yet!!!
    Isn’t Dr. Who being back on just absolutely magnificent?!?! It makes me happy! And Once Upon a Time, too! I’m still watching season one, and it’s somewhat slow going because we are watching it as a family. Awesome that you get to do review thingys on them! That sounds like such a good opportunity, and a spiritual look on Dr. Who would be so cool! I’m SO happy for you!!!!
    I can’t wait till NaNo!!! This is my first time ever doing it, and I have my novel all (mostly) planned out and everything! YEEEP, it needs to get here faster!
    Writes block, bleargh. I’m glad you’re over it!!! I have a thing somewhat like writers block right now. I don’t know what to call it. I have lots of ideas, and the words come rather easily when I sit down to write (even (possibly even especially) when I do it by hand), but…my problem is that I never actually sit down to write. Yeah, I think the closest word to describe it is ‘procrastination’.
    Cold?! You have COLD?! And fall colors on the leaves?! Lucky ducky!!! I wish I had cold!!! I’m going to die of the prolonged extreme heat here in OK!!! I’m fresh from Alaska, and God did not make me one to enjoy the heat especially much!!! But fall is supposed to be on its way. I love fall. It’s my favorite time of the year.
    You make me happy, Mirriam!!!! I always look forward to your posts; you inspire me so much!!! Thank you for being who God made you!!!!!

  4. Once Upon A Time is that fairy-tale tv show, right? I had a friend who was watching it, and convincing me it was wonderful, but I wasn’t quite sure, because I’d heard some interesting things about it. When you do your review, can you leave the link for it on your blog? I’m really curious. 🙂

    Ah, don’t you love those days? They’re prone to come to me during the holidays. Like now. (It’s holidays in Australia) 🙂

Got something to say?

