on perception

Have you ever been judged by someone who hadn’t even met you? I have. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does, it confuses me. Why don’t they like me? What did I do? They’d never even said hello to me. Did I glare at them without meaning to? Was I wearing the wrong thing? Did my laugh rub them the wrong way?

I’m the sort of person who’s usually liked by people. Granted, if I’m not in the spirit of things it can take me a while to warm up to people and start talking, but once I do, I’m hard to shut up. I’m interested in people. I like getting to know them and finding common ground. I like laughing until my throat hurts and I like goofing off and I like teasing and being teased. I like wearing weird hairdos that don’t always look good on me and I like wearing blue fingernail polish even after it begins to chip away. I like experimenting with makeup even if I’m not going anywhere, I like drawing on myself in pen. On a normal day, I don’t care that I’m not thin and I don’t care that my hair is frizzy.

Sure, I have days where I wake up and nothing seems to go right; where I flare up like a match at the smallest thing and where I feel fat in all my clothes and where I can’t do anything with my hair except pull it into an ugly ponytail and I stick my mascara wand in my eye and I have more zits than I’d like to see and I don’t like the face in the mirror.

The thing is, those are just days. They’re only my perception, how I see myself and feel about myself. God doesn’t watch me wake up and go “Ew, she looks awful today! Good grief, she’s hideous, what was I thinking letting that crawl out of bed this morning?”

I sit up in bed looking like yesterday’s goblin and He tells me “Good morning. I made this day for you. I want you to love people and be kind to them. I don’t want you to care about how you look because the only thing you should care about is Me. There’s nothing for you to worry about because I’m here. Enjoy your day.”

He made me how He wanted me made. The things I love and the things I hate, the way I talk and laugh and sleep and walk are all part of His design. Same goes for you. We shouldn’t care what other people think and I’m glad that I can say usually, I don’t. I don’t care at all, because I enjoy being myself. I love being able to stay up late reading and wake up in the morning; to look out my window and see clouds or hear birds and know that God is telling me to have an amazing day.

Whether I listen or not is up to me.

26 thoughts on “on perception

  1. I may not know much, but I know that you are a beautiful, talented, funny, amazing girl. And I’ve never even met you. 😉 🙂

  2. Wow…this is actually exactly what God has been speaking to me this week! But you were able to put into words far better than I could. Thank you for this beautiful post.

  3. Amen to that, sistah! I’m the same way mostly! I love to hang out and have a good time, but I prefer to keep the number of people I’m around limited. 😄 And I don’t care what people think either. I love being me and being weird. “Scuse me… do you have diet water here?” 😄 I even asked a lady at Marshalls if they sold tasers. 😛 But I have bad days too. Oh well. That’s life. ^^ Thanks for being a wonderful blessing, Miri!

  4. Mirriam, you have a knack for writing blog posts that I (and obviously many others) can relate to. Especially this, which is my fatal flaw right now…

    Thank you for writing this =) I don’t even know you, but you’re seriously epic =D

  5. This REALLY is an awesome post. (I’m so glad I saw it! Sorry, I should stop by and read and comment more…) But anywho. This is all so true and encouraging. Thank you for posting!

  6. Yikes, I sometimes have the exact same thoughts! >.< I always have to remember He made me the way He intended to…even if I tend to be a bit picky about myself. I loved what you said about getting out of bed in the morning. God definitely doesn't nit-pick us like we or other people tend to, which is a relief!

  7. Hi, I found your blog a few weeks ago and thought it was time to say hi (mostly because so much in your post reminded me of myself and I thought, “I really do like this girl.”) I’m eighteen years old, a born again Christian, a writer, a action movie lover (go Avengers!) and I adore your blog. You’re very refreshing and bright and I’ve espcially enjoyed reading your writing tips. 🙂

    Have a great day!

    ~Jamie

    • So, Jamie…here I am, with a sore throat, stuffy nose and a cough, thinking “Ugh. I just want somebody to bop me on the head and let me pass out” when I get your comment and lo and behold, my cold doesn’t feel so bad anymore! We sound very similar, and I’m SO glad you enjoy reading my blog!! I always completely love having a new reader, so thank you for commenting a million times =) I hope to see you around!!

Got something to say?

