Week One Questions

NOTE: These questions are from Katie’s “Actually Finishing Something in July.” I’m sorry to say I didn’t join in, I’m too captivated by Monster, but I loved the questions and since I’m not going to be blogging during August, I thought I’d schedule these to go up since I don’t want to leave my blog alone! I’ll be using Monster for the questions, since I could technically call this ‘Actually Finishing Something This Summer.’
 
What is your writing goal?
 
To finish my novel, Monster. (I tried to give it a genre. I just sat here and tried. I couldn’t think of one .)
 
Tell us about this project. Give us a small synopsis.
 
This idea has been brewing around in my brain for a long time, inspired by many different things over the past six months or so. It all fell together beautifully very quickly and has been an absolute dream to work with.  

The year is 2053, and Eva Stewart is a promising young scientist assigned to a remote Alaskan facility to work for WorldCure, a global organization dedicated to finding the cure for fatal diseases. Soon she is made a Handler and designated her own Subject for research and experimentation. But Thirteen is not what she expected, and Eva is soon drawn into a horrific plot kept quiet by WorldCure. As everything she thought she knew begins to collapse around her, Eva must discover the truth behind her damaged, traumatized and tragic Thirteen – and risk her life and her heart in the process.

How long have you been working on this project?
 
I’ve been working on it since the end of June; almost a full month.
 
Introduce us to three of your favorite characters in this project.
 
Mir, Eva, and Pocky.
 
Mir is the main character, even though we see the world through Eva’s point of view. Mir is twenty-four and has never known a life outside of the testing facility where he lives and is subjegated to treatment only designated to HRI-labeled ‘Non-Humans.’ He has only known a life of darkness and abuse, and yet he has the capacity for great kindness and trust. He has never had an example of any of these until Eva comes along.
 
Eva is a dedicated research scientist fresh out of college, borderline-obsessed with her work. She does not have much in the way of heart or emotions when the book begins, but as she finds out more about Mir she goes through many stages; fear, apprehension, trust, care, and finally, love.
 
Pocky is a Christian professor who was fired from WorldCure long ago for standing up against the Non-Human Act. He tutors college students and keeps in touch with Eva, whom he views lovingly as a surrogate granddaughter. He is the humor and central faith of the story, and I imagine him with a British accent. Oh, and he loves tea.
 
How often do you intend to write in order to reach this goal by August first?
 
You mean the end of summer? Ahem! I generally write about 2, 000 words a day. Roughly.
 
How will you make your characters behave long enough to finish this goal?
 
They have actually been very well-behaved thus far. Mir is a dear who really wouldn’t upset me, and Eva – while frustrating – has been doing exactly what she is supposed to. Pocky gave a surprise entrance, but nestled nicely into the story and has helped it immensely.
The only ones who truly misbehave are Dr. Ross and Jude Harborn, but they’re supposed to misbehave. They’re creeps. Fyodor was a little hard to pin down, being ex-SPETSNAZ and all, but I think I’ve got him where he’s supposed to be. On the whole? I haven’t had to bribe anyone yet!  
 
Go to page 16 (or 6, 26, or 66!) of your writing project. Pick your favorite line or snippet on the page.
From page 66: 

            There was no way words had been written there.

            Those words.

            It was impossible. No, it was beyond impossible.

            I’ve gone insane.

            For on the wall of Thirteen’s cell, scratched thin and white on the dark concrete, was one phrase.

           I still have a soul.        

           Tea or coffee?

 I adore both tea and coffee, with plenty of cream and agave. Unfortunately we’re on a family health plan for a few months which means I cannot consume my inordinate amounts of the drinks! I have tried black coffee at least twice a day for the past week, and still find it unbearably bitter and disgusting. I’m trying, though. *sips peppermint tea with a mournful face*
5 thoughts on “Week One Questions

  1. I think the genre is probably along the lines of dystopian fantasy. You know, set in a generally bleak and dismal future. 😉 haha! this is an epic questionairre (that’s not how you spell it….), maybe I’ll do that sometime…… ;D

  2. *Show don’t tell* I know you’ll get this at the end of the month but *whine* don’t do it! Don’t fall into the dark morass of telling ::bangs head against desk:: it was so good until “that one phrase had just shaken the foundation of everything she thought she knew” pleasepleaseplease don’t do that. You’re better than that! You were nine majillion points of cool and then fell **WHAM** down into only the billion points of cool with that over worked, over used, LAZY phrase. And you aren’t lazy.

  3. Hurrah! I know how excited you are about “Monster” and how it has stolen your heart and soul. I love seeing you so excited about it. It is a fantastic story-line and I look forward to reading it someday.

    Your page 66 post was intense! Unfortunately its parade was rained on by the following question, so that I read it as follows:

    …that one phrase had just shaken the foundation of everything she thought she knew.

    Tea or coffee?

    Aaaaah!

  4. Oh…. your book sounds so creepy. Must be fun. 😉
    (I must agree about the coffee. Who’d drink it? It’s awful! Without sugar, anyway.)

    And a quick question… how many words to you aim for in a chapter? I’m not sure what the majority of people like… some people like long, others short, I was wondering, your thoughts? 🙂

  5. I read this without stopping the first time:

                And that one phrase had just shaken the foundation of everything she thought she knew.

               Tea or coffee?

Got something to say?

