In which I talk about a fantastic time, a strange photo shoot, and fun

This weekend was a BLAST. I went to North Carolina for my best friend’s eighteenth birthday, which we had planned to celebrate together since the last time I was at her house – years ago! Mom and Dad were so amazing to let me go and spend the weekend – thank you, guys!!!!! I was there fora day and a half before the actual party on Saturday, and we had a blast. There was so much to talk about and do that we were never bored even for a second!

The theme of the birthday was originally Korean, but it switched to be basically Asian. The food was mainly Korean – we made bulgogi (fire beef – it. was. AMAZINGLY delicious. Machesoyo!) bibimbap (mixed rice. We fried it, but I could’t eat any because I’m quite allergic to rice), kimchi (we didn’t make the kimchi, but it was disgusting and I cracked Hannah and her brother Nathan up when I had a bit. Apparently, the look on my face said it all. It’s really, really nasty) and japchae (sweet potato noodles. I made the japchae; the noodles looked gray and were sticky like the little strips of glue that hold packages together. They came apart more once I mixed soy sauce and sesame oil in, then the girls added vegetables). Here’s the finished product on a plate –

Delicious, no?

For dessert, there were two cakes. A Japanese strawberry sponge cake –

And a chocolate cake with frosting, which I made –

After we ate, it was time to open presents – she is a new Princess Bride fan, so we gave her the movie. (It’s about time!!)

I also attempted to squish her head with chopsticks. #fail

This is Caroline, the maknae (youngest). She and her two brothers Elliot and Avery spent the night, along with a friend of everyone, Christopher. That evening, we girls decided have a medieval photoshoot outside. The theme was the dead and/or abandoned bride with her faithful guardian (me) and her lady-in-waiting (Caroline). I did our makeup – Hannah wore silver contacts of which I was very, very jealous (in a friendly way. I wasn’t about to grab them out of her eyes or anything. Not that I didn’t try). Hannah’s makeup was darker, more ghoulis; my makeup was… well, scary, since I was supposed to be the guardian and all, and Caroline was more pixie-like.  I’m going to have more pictures to show you of the photoshoot, but here’s what we have for now.

Me prepping them both with makeup (lots of makeup).

Here is Hannah; isn’t she beautiful? (Even looking as ghostly as she does?)

Me being… I don’t know… strange. I felt like I was in Narnia; akin to the Lady of the Green Kirtle. Except my hair felt extremely un-medieval-ish and there was nothing I could do with it. Alas.

And Caroline and her adorable lost pixie-ness… we joked that my makeup made it look as if she drowned. Oh dear.

And there we all are, looking very sad/lost/fantasy-ish/dreamlike/disturbing. Oh, it was fun. Tromping around barefoot amongst briars and poison ivy (though I have no rash! I discovered I was immune to poison ivy a few years ago at VBS).

We had SO much fun. I can’t even begin to describe it. I love you, Hannah! Watching you grow in Christ is amazing to see. I love being silly and fun and epic and serious with you, thank you for being my friend and soul sister.

NOTE: There is a GIVEAWAY!!! A friend of mine, Jon Maiocco by name, just released his EP on iTunes! He writes epic soundtrack music, and I listen to it while I write – it’s inspiring, amazing, and done by an insanely talented eighteen-year-old Christian. I highly recommend you run over to Jessica’s blog and enter the giveaway to win some of this fantastic music!  http://safirewriter.blogspot.com/2012/07/another-musical-giveaway.html

14 thoughts on “In which I talk about a fantastic time, a strange photo shoot, and fun

  1. LOVE the photos…looks like such a fun time! The Medieval shoot is FABULOUS. 🙂 and…SAY WHAT?!? I LOVE BULGOGI AND KIMCHI! My cousins are Korean, so we’ve been introduced to all sorts of delicious food. I can’t believe you don’t like kimchi though. Sheeeesh. 😉 xoxo

  2. 😀 Every writer needs a bestie, if for no other reason they can threaten to publish the really bad stuff if you don’t keep writing and getting better. 😉 And I don’t see dead/ghoulish waiting ladies or princesses there. I see FURIES, roving the wood, and seeking out those that have avoided justice for far too long. O:)

  3. It looks like you guys had SO much fun! And you’re allergic to poison ivy? That’s interesting… I don’t think I’ve ever gotten a rash from it, but I was stung by stinging nettles once… *shrugs* Clearly, I am a city girl.

    Anyways… you and your friend are so pretty! 😀 And those first two pictures are really striking. And yay for The Princess Bride!

    • Whoops; I meant I’m NOT allergic to poison ivy!!! *laughs* Thank you; I’m glad you think we’re pretty – we certainly FELT pretty during the photo shoot!! =D
      And yes. Princess Bride = classic.

  4. D’aaaaaaaaawwwww!!!!!! Unniiiieee! Saranghaeyo!
    I had the most amazing time with you – and the edits you did on the fantastic shoot were EPIC! Kamsamnida!
    I can’t WAIT to get together with you again… we’ll have such an amazing time! XD

    DAEBAK! FIGHTING!
    – Hannah

  5. I want to have Korean food so bad! I’m trying to talk my mom into letting experiment with it. 🙂 The photo shoot looks EPIC! Y’all are so pretty. 🙂

Got something to say?

