I know you’re gold

These are the mornings I love the most. I wake up earlier than I ordinarily do, and I come out of my room. I say hello to mom and dad, grab my coffee, and retreat downstairs. I pull up my current writing project and, in the dark and cool of the basement, I go back to spinning lives. It’s a magical process, and at the moment I’m listening to Owl City while building the lives of Eva and Mir. This song in particular seems to sing of “Monster” to me – because neither of them know they’re gold. And really, we forget it ourselves. I can’t wait for this CD to come out.

But what I really came here to tell you was that I did a guest post on Seth’s blog, called “Death by Author: The Most Creative Way to Go.” I hope you like it, I’ll give you an excerpt here and then you must go and give Seth’s blog (and my article) some love!

I’ve always had a hard time killing characters. My whole life, characters have been so important to me that killing them feels like tearing a little piece of my heart out. I was never able to kill off a character and stuck to fluffy stories, until I came across a piece of wisdom that changed the way I wrote.

An author must be cruel.

 

24 thoughts on “I know you’re gold

  1. I haven’t commented here in ages, since we’ve been emailing so much! Gosh. I hadn’t realized.

    I see what you mean about the song. I’m listening to it now.

    Also, I’m really happy you’re writing lots. It’s been so fun getting to read Mir and Eva’s story. (Although sometimes it kills me.)

  2. *bounces* I know I just commented, but I just refreshed your blog, and ohmygoodness. I love your new background/theme. It’s so preettttyyyyy. πŸ˜€

  3. Ah, character killing. I enjoy it while I’m doing it, but then, once it’s over, I sit back, and think, “I just killed somebody…” and I go into writer’s recluse. Just sulking and kicking myself over how terrible I was, they trusted me, the other characters will never trust me again…. etc etc.

    And your design. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!! It’s so fresh and nice! Cheery-O really needs a new design….but I don’t want to take one from Cutestblogontheblock.com or shabbyblogs.com I want a custom one…and those babies cost.

    • Ah, yes, I can relate…
      I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE THE BLOG CHANGE, too!! I’m so happy, it’s so – new! *grin* They ARE expensive. O_O

  4. Lovely guest post, Mirriam! Sad, but terribly true XD Fortunately, my characters haven’t realized that I am also a cruel authoress yet…
    By the way, I love the new design! Very pretty πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much!
      My characters cooperate with me because I love them, but they know I’m a cruel mistress. =)

      • My characters seem to hate me no matter what I do *sigh*
        I honestly don’t think it has anything to with the fact that I’m a sucker for orphans… *coughcough* *innocent smile*

  5. You changed your blog! It’s so . . . shiny! And new! And fantastic! πŸ˜€

    You write in a basement??? O_O There are like no basements in Texas. This is a foreign thought. Oh my…

    • I KNOW I LOVE IT!!! *sighs happily* Yes, I LIVE in the basement! O_O But it’s not like a cave or anything – it has windows. XD

      • Literally LIVE-live?? As in, like . . . your room? :O

        Typing these comments today seems like it’s on a totally different site your blog is so BRILLIANTLY NEW! πŸ˜€

  6. 1) Not to parrot everyone else, but the new design looks nice. My blog design could use an update, but it’s not like I update it often (or have posted anything memorable recently) and hardly anyone reads it, and I like black and other dark colors…
    2) I left a comment on your post on Seth’s blog, so I won’t say anything about it here.
    3) Like what I said about me wanting to write a short story and being a “Wordslayer,” do you ever have an idea for a plotline, scenes, etc. for a story, but when you sit down and begin to type, the words flee from you?

    • I think that happens to everyone. It takes practice to learn to capture the thoughts and put them where you want them, though they will forever retain a mind of their own. =) Something that helped me are ‘thought bubbles’ – you begin with one word that describes the idea/story/plot/character, and then from that bubble, branch out other bubbles that have to do with that same word – whatever thouhts come into your head. It may sound silly, but it’s very helpful.

  7. I love the new look, Mirriam!

    * devours guest post * I’ve felt the same way, often times. Gripping characters are…so, so full of torment, and it’s really hard to write them. Really. Hard.

    A friend of mine wrote a post about “amazing characters” recently. It’s almost as hard to read about them as it is to write them, I think. The post is here, if your’re interested: http://katielynndaniels.com/wordpress/2012/06/the-most-amazing-characters/ =)

    Cheers!

  8. Thank you, Mirriam, for encouraging me to be cruel to my characters. Thank you for giving me the courage to torture and kill them. Hopefully, I will gain the experience to be able to kill them convincingly.

    • ….I’m…. so glad….
      now I’ll have ANOTHER author’s characters mad at me….
      ….you’re welcome….

  9. First thing’s first, OH MY GOSH I LOVE YOUR BLOG TEMPLATE. It’s truly beautiful. Like seriously, I could look at it all day.

    Secondly…

    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
    I know, you’re gold!
    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
    I know, you’re gold!
    I don’t need the stars in the night
    I’ve found my treasure
    All I need is you by my side
    So shine forever
    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh

    I LOVE that song. So much. So beautiful. So encouraging. So inspiring. β™₯ Adam Young, you’re a genius. I seriously wish I could thank him fervently for making music that makes my heart sing.

  10. I love your article πŸ™‚ The first time I killed a character my eyes got misty, and every time I think of that character I say, “Why did I have to kill him? But I had to!”
    Amber and I often have conversations about what character we’ll kill and why. It sounds pretty awful πŸ˜‰

Got something to say?

