In a word, ‘Whatnot.’

I always feel weird posting about myself. Not because I’m a super-humble person, but because I guess it feels odd to think that you people whom I’ve never met would want to hear about me. O_o However, when I DO post randomness about myself, people seem to enjoy it, so I’m going to ramble a little bit about myself because I have nothing else to write but really feel like blogging. (I think once you start blogging, it becomes a disease. To quote Loki, we become ‘burdened with glorious purpose.’ To blog anything and everything we think because it feels good to release all these thoughts and emotions out onto the keys and see them come alive on the screen, and then to know that other people are reading them and forming their own thoughts… it’s a kind of magic, in a way.)

I think an entire universe of things that I never end up saying. I guess I’m a bottled-up universe, but then,  so is everyone. Sure, everyone has a different universe, but there are only a rare few who unleash their universe on other people. A lot of people say I’m pretty outspoken, and honestly I’m a pretty outspoken person – but I still feel like I don’t say half the things I want to. (Sometimes this is good. Very, very good. Other times, I just feel like I missed out on an opportunity to amaze myself.)

However, just because I sometimes don’t say what I want to,  I can be a pretty crazy person. For instance, I just took an Avengers quiz. Which isn’t really a quiz – Facebook accesses your basic information and, from everything you’ve ever said/done/posted/andyourbirthdate, it tells you which Avenger you are most like.

Ladies and Gentlemen. I….

…am Iron Man.

A couple of my friends said “What? No! You’re so sweet!”

And I just went

I know I can come across as sugar-and-spice-and-everything-nice online. That’s one of the perks of typing – you can actually think about what you say before you say it. You can create your own online person who is much nicer, much more perfect, and much more fake than the real you is. Now, I try to be as real as I can online. I squeal, I’m sarcastic, I use emoticons like confetti, try to avoid chatspeak, give my true opinions, and honesty try to be as ‘me’ as I can. In real life yes, I do quote stuff…. all the time. And I do bounce up and down and talk weird and dance randomly all over my room and sing at the top of my lungs in the shower. I do have an entire backward harem of fictional boyfriends from all over and I DO give them nicknames, and I do get seized with the need to draw and/or write about whatever I happen to be currently obsessed with. My brother called me the Gatlin Gun of obsessions once, and I had to agree with him. I have this system that goes something like this.

Me: *watches/listens to/reads new thing* OHMYGOODNESS THIS IS THE BEST, CLEVEREST MOST AMAZING THING EVER PLANTED ON THIS EARTH!!!!! *continues to spazz about it for a period of seven days to a year*

Me: *watches/listens to/reads new thing* HOLYCOW HOW DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS BEFORE THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE THING EVER WOWOWOWOWOW!!! *files last obsession away into I Still Totally Love This Muchly and continues to spazz about new thing for a period of seven days to a year*

Repeat.

True story.

However, not all my qualities are loveable. (Shockingly.) I can be horribly lazy unless it’s something *I* want to do. I can also be annoying. And I can say the wrong thing at the wrong time and have everyone looking at me like the idiot I am, and I would LOVE to go find a nice, big rock to crawl under and hide. I also have a really, really awful habit of forgetting absolutely everything, especially phone messages. And then I feel horrible, but unless I write it down on my hand in bold ink, there’s nothing I can do. I’m going to write a Carroll-esque poem titled “My Brain is a Sieve,” and I’ll let you all read it once I’m done. I’m going up to the mountains this week – my parents are taking my sister and myself for our birthdays (16 for her, 18 for me – big year! Woot!) to a cabin and it’s going to be great. (cue Tigger song “It’s gonna be great! It’s gonna be great! It’s gonna be grreeaaat!* And now I have to post the video so you can see…)

This video… my brain does this a lot. Bounces from place to place singing. Yup, I’m Tigger. I’m also a Bear of Very Little Brain, and I’m a lot like Roo sometimes…. dash it all, I also have a very Owlish streak. I can talk for hours in a British accent, surrounded by books. =D

Anyway, this has been a long and strange post. I will talk to you all later, I love you, and good night! ^_^

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

27 thoughts on “In a word, ‘Whatnot.’

  1. That was a somewhat random post! And just so you are aware, you aren’t the only one with quirks, or far worse, flaws. That’s one of the many reasons why we humans need God 🙂 I have more than enough of my own unique flaws and weaknesses, and I believe that every other person has their share as well, so you’re in good company. Have a great mountain trip!

  2. Random posts are good. xD Sometimes you just have to let out all your random all at once. And I agree– we all have our own universes in our heads. That’s a really cool way of putting it.

    Also, I had forgotten how much I love Winnie the Pooh. I have this really nice old copy with a cloth cover, that I totally just want to sit down and read one day. It used to be my dad’s. Actually, I have several old cool books from my dad. (Remember my dad’s old fairy tale book I posted about? *sigh* That book is gorgeous.)

    Also, I would like to see the Avengers, because it looks hilarious and awesome, but I haven’t gotten a chance to yet, since I was on the East coast on vacation for a week. And while I’m on the subject of TV: I just watched The Reichenbach Falls. Sherlock FTW. And this was basically me at the end: O____O And I love that gif of Captain Jack Sparrow. xD

    • SOFIASOFIASOFIASOFIAYOU’REBAAAACK! *grins and hugs you cyberly* Winnie the Pooh… I just reread ‘The House at Pooh Corner’ and giggled and sniffed and loved the illustrations. A. A. Milne was a genius. THE REICHENBACH FALLS.
      As my friend Keaghan would say, “Help. I’ve Fallen and I can’t get up.”

  3. “And I can say the wrong thing at the wrong time and have everyone looking at me like the idiot I am, and I would LOVE to go find a nice, big rock to crawl under and hide.”
    Tell me about it…I’m working on an invention that will allow me to erase people’s immediate memories of me so that I can face them again. ^_^ I’ll let you have the second one off of the line… 😉

  4. *laughs* The part with Jack Sparrow / Iron Man cracked me UP.

    I’m sure you’re just as funny in real life.

    P.S. Iron Man is my favorite. 🙂

    • Aw, thank you, Ellyn. XD I do make other people laugh a lot O_o I just would like sometimes to say all the serious things that come into my head! (Iron Man is awesome. XD Even though Hawkeye is better.)

    • Winnie the Pooh is awesome! YOU BLOG. Nathanael! How did I not know this? e_O You can do it! It’s a mindset! *sis boom bah*

    • @ nathanael

      try co-writing a blog with some friends. it’s what I do (not that that would mean very much to you) 😉 Their posts can give you ideas, and with other people posting, you’re not always on tap to keep the blog alive. 🙂

  5. HA! I DO THE EXACT SAME THING!!! XD I spaz and obsess over things, I can be quite lazy, and I ALWAYS forget phone messages!! lol. X)

    oh, and in case you don’t see it, I left you my email back in the comments section of “in which Eristor writes a letter.” but come to think of it, why make you go back there? here it is again:

    Candyiscool@live.com

    . . . . since you get a lot of comments, I should probably say, I’m one of the freaky fangirls who wanted your storys. 😉

  6. Mirriam… you and I are too much alike. –.– I can relate to practically EVERYTHING you’ve written! 0_0 And yeah, you SHOULD post more about yourself; I enjoy reading it. ^_^ (In a totally non threatening way…)
    Yeah – you and your obsessions… (It’s her obsession, don’t tell me, please – don’t tell me. It’s her obsession, it’s her obSESSIOOOON! *gasp gasp*) … XDXDXD Okay. Yeah.

    I LOVE YOUUUUUUU!!!

Got something to say?

