In which Eristor writes a letter

I know. I bet you never expected to see a letter written by my favorite elven prince. And yet, here you are – I am tipping your world on its axis again and Eristor is doing the unthinkable. This was an EXCELLENT idea from Rosamund Gregory, more or less an accompaniment to each month’s ‘Beautiful People’ exercises. Your character must write a letter (or possibly journal entry) from their own point of view. I was considering Eristor as a candidate for this month, but then Abigail requested it (she said she was joking, but I sensed it was not entirely a jest…. ^.^) therefore, here you have Eristor. Writing a letter. Oh dear. (I have no idea why Sienna is away, but Eristor is pretending to be MUCH more put-out than he really is, I think.)

Sienna,

Please tell me you requestedΒ news without the knowledge that I would be the only candidate who would write.Β  I know you don’t actually care whether or not I’m enjoying this – relaying useless bits of information to you for the sake of your own curiosity, that is – so I won’t bother telling you that it is aggravating and also gives me the sudden urge toΒ sharpen my kelehb sticks. Or go for a ride. Or throw rocks in the lake. But I digress.

Your brother has been amusing himself by poking Krit with a stick. Krit does not appreciate the attention and keeps shifting away, but Alec is persistent. Apparently it amuses him to hear Krit threaten to tear his ears off with his teeth. I would almost agree with him – threats from a talking cloud of fluff are somewhat amusing – but the constant bickering does little to improve my mood. (Which was fine until I was told by Tylir I was the only one with time to write you, I might add. I once again have the urge to throw rocks…)

You may be curious as to why I am the only available author of a letter. This is because Tylir and Salebeth are hunting down our evening meal (I assume it is still too fresh to eat, considering it ran through camp not half an hour ago). Treefist downright refused to write you, claiming he had no business corresponding with a young human girl due to propriety. After further probing, I discovered he actually does not know how to read or write. Much to my annoyance.

Alec is another story entirely. When I mentioned it was his duty to write you since you are, after all, siblings, he quipped “Nah, you do it. It’ll be good for you.” I cuffed him on the ear (don’t worry, he only bled a little and regained consciousness after a few moments) and sat down to write you even though there was no real news to tell.

There you have it. I hope you consider this a letter, because if not, there is nothing I can – or will – do about it.

Good evening.

Eristor.

58 thoughts on “In which Eristor writes a letter

  1. I dearly hope Eristor is never a love sick fool. Love sick he might one day be (Please Mirriam?) but fool…please please no.

    I really and truly LOLed when I read the cuffing ears part. Honestly. That was hilarious. Eristor should write more letters!

  2. Eristor’s dry, sarcastic manner can be amusing, particularly when he writes like this. “I cuffed him on the ear (don’t worry, he only bled a little and regained consciousness after a few moments)” is my favourite part – it made me smile. πŸ™‚

  3. Can you believe I almost asked, “Why isn’t Sahala an available writer?” and than that dark cloud came back and I went, “oh…right”. *sniffle*

  4. Between dinner running through the camp and Alec lying unconscious, bleeding from the head, while Eristor bends over a bit of paper (having thoroughly lost his gruntle) I am most amused. Crabby pants he may wear, but he cuts quite the literary figure in them.

    I am filled with the giggles.

  5. I’ve read every post since I’ve been on vacation (I still am) but this one specifically made me want to comment. I love Eristor (though I have to say that I, too, wish to see him lovesick. xD ) and the way he writes. The line about the fresh dinner was probably my favorite, with the cuffing on the ear coming in at a close second. Anyways, I’ve loved all your posts, of course, especially this one and your snippets.

  6. Eristor is so amusing! πŸ™‚ “You may be curious as to why I am the only available author of a letter. This is because Tylir and Salebeth are hunting down our evening meal (I assume it is still too fresh to eat, considering it ran through camp not half an hour ago).”
    That part was the best!
    Get Eristor to write more letters!

  7. I am constantly tripping over spoilers! Agh!

    I was joking – mostly – but I am glad you followed through, because Eristor writing a letter is just too amusing an idea to pass up. He makes me chortle! (Which I’m sure was not his intent, so don’t tell him.) I especially like how he signs with that terse, “Good evening.” And I agree with the others that it would be a lark to see him in love.

    He has it coming to him.

    • I’m sorry, Abigail. Spoilers are nasty little things, aren’t they? I’m certain River Song would disapprove. =) I’m so glad you suggested Eristor, because I had a blast dictating his letter. He definitely has it coming… ^.^

  8. I’ve read snippets and other things about this Eristor fellow. . . . I have to say, I love the sound of him. πŸ˜€ I’m a big fan of elves, princes, AND sarcastic people. Put it all together, and I am an instant super-fan. I WANT TO READ HIS BOOK SO BAD!!!! πŸ˜„ and that other one I saw mention of, Real World, was it? with Eristor and other characters from your book and a friend’s? I WANT THAT ONE TOO!! X) . . . .pls? ❀

  9. By the way, I don’t know if she told you yet, but a friend who lives nearby who I have TSF to read said she really liked it and thought it was good as Dekker’s and someone else’s (I forget who) books. I just though you’d like to know that. πŸ™‚

  10. OOOOOHHHHH. O.O :DDDDD Brilliant! Lovelovelove!

    My sister and I had many hysterical giggles over this!!! Especially since, when I was writing your latest letter, we were joking about what a letter from Eristor would be like. We joked about how he would start by writing “Dear Sienna”, look at it, cross out the “dear”, look at it again, and cross out the “Sienna” as well before just starting it with no salutation. Also how he would write at the end “Sincerely, Prince Eristor”, then decide that looked snobby, cross out the Prince, then cross out the Sincerely as well, and yet think that “Eristor” doesn’t look right either and simply end it “E.” We had a lot of fun πŸ˜€

    This is like my favorite blog-post ever. :DDD It gives me an urge to write some letters from MY “dark guys”, but I’m afraid they would be sadly derivative so I shall refrain. Hey, I’m even starting to talk like him! πŸ˜›

    It also reminded me of Mr Darcy, which is funny given how you titled the next one, except that Eristor is more . . . harsh? cold? something? . . . than Darcy, and of course much cooler, by FAR πŸ˜€

    • OHMYWORD, Vivian, I LOVED this!! This is one of my favorite comments EVER!!!!! *falls over chortling* I love how you and your sister talk about Eristor, it gives me the warm fuzzies. πŸ˜„ You’re starting to talk like Eristor!!! O NOES!!!! Mr. Darcy – yes, Eristor is an elvish, older, tortured, more sarcastic Mr. Darcy πŸ˜„ And apparently cooler. *squeals* HE’S COOLER THAN MR DARCY!???? D… you made my day πŸ˜„

      • Who’s Vivian? O__O Yay! I made you chortle and also gave you warm fuzzies and made your day–wow. πŸ˜€ And yes, we very much enjoy talking about him πŸ˜„ Despite not having read all of Eristor, my sister believes that he, Murtagh and one of my characters (the Khazad-dum one) form the trio of awesomest guys ever. πŸ˜„ And yes, Erri (can I call him Erri? No, probably shouldn’t risk it . . .) Eristor is way cooler than Mr Darcy. πŸ™‚

        • Why did I call you Vivian. Why. You’re not Vivian. I know you from her. Oh dear. πŸ˜„ OHGOODNESS, Murtagh, Eristor and – holycowIforgothisname -_- How could I do that – DO make an awesome trio. πŸ˜„ Erri? Ohhh, only if you want to risk the wrath, if you know what I mean. πŸ˜„

          • Now I’m curious who this Vivian is. o.o

            YOU FORGOT BITHOA’S NAME OH HOW COULD YOU??!! Joking πŸ˜‰ But yes, quite awesome.

            Yeah, don’t want to be risking THAT wrath, oh dearie me no! πŸ˜„

            Also, my sister and I were again thrown into fits of giggles when we suddenly imagined Eristor going on a vacation to a sunny beach. Except that, of course, it wouldn’t be sunny for long. Because no doubt a dark cloud would follow him and hang overhead, dramatically blocking out the sunlight. And then it would rain on everyone’s picnic πŸ˜„

            • BITHOABITHOATHAT’SITOHGOODNESSHOWCOULDIFORGETHISNAME!!!!
              …Eristor?
              …On a sunny beach?
              ….O_O I think you’re right about the dark cloud coming, but I also think he’d look very nice on the beach. πŸ˜„
              Oh, and Vivian is a friend of mine. She’s like a little sister =D

            • Yes! Do not be forgetting again!
              *stern look*
              Ah, it was sooo fun talking about him!!!!

              Hilarious mental picture πŸ˜„

              OK, cool. I’m just very weirded out when I get
              called by a name that’s not my own πŸ˜‰

            • I WON’T!!!!
              I’m sorry. I apologize. You’d like Vivian though, I promise. πŸ˜„ Ahh, yeah, I find the mental image abit hilarious… and I can totally see Sienna conning him into a game of beach volleyball. πŸ˜„

            • Teehee, ’tis okay actually. I’m sure Bithoa does not appreciate being talked about anyway πŸ˜„

              Does she have a blog?

              AAHHH! I just died laughing! Beach volley-ball!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜„

  11. that… was hilarious. Particularly since he doesn’t exactly give her any news at all except to tell her why HE is the only one who can write her and then complain about it. LOL

    The parts about dinner running through camp and Eristor cuffing Alec were just awesome… though once again I’m cheering on Alec for never knowing when to tone himself down. *giggle* The fact that Eristor is pretty much personally offended by Treefist not knowing how to read or right also made me laugh… And his ending was so perfect – nothing he can or will do about it if she doesn’t like it. πŸ™‚ *shakes head* Eristor…

    *ahem* Though personally, I think the fact that Eristor is writing a letter at ALL is a pretty serious change on his part, at least from where I left him. πŸ˜„ And him in love is definitely something I want to see as well… lol πŸ™‚

    • *laughs* Alec really just… he’s incorrigable. But we love him for it. I’m so glad you got such a kick out of this letter!!! Thank you SO MUCH! I adore getting comments like this…. ah me… πŸ˜„

  12. I also love how he puts a period after his name. Like it’s a whole sentence by itself. πŸ™‚ It also gives it a much more terse ending, like dropping a rock on your foot. Or in the lake. *titters*

    (Sorry for all the comments from me on these two posts but man are they fun! XD)

Got something to say?

