Two is a Crowd

 

Okay, so –

When I was fifteen or so, before G. I. Joe: Rise of Cobra came out, I was having fun with the whole G. I. Joe/SigmaSix thing and decided to write a piece of fanfiction featuring Thomas Arashikage (later to be known as StormShadow) and Ian (later to become Snake Eyes). If you don’t know the backstory, here’s the short of it – the two ninjas were part of the Joe team and were best friends for years, until Cobra captured Storm Shadow and brainwashed him. It’s all very cartoonish, but hey, I wanted to write fanfiction. So I did.

And it became several pieces of fanfiction; short chapters featuring the most comedic duo I’ve ever written. I thought you might enjoy reading the first chapter – they’re super-short – and if you want the next few (I wrote like… eight, I think?) I’ll post them in intervals. =)

So here you have, Two is a Crowd

Chapter One: Yeah, Right

POV: Snake Eyes

Thomas and I stared at the papers sitting on the table in front of us. They were the rental contract for the apartments we had chosen… there was just one problem.

            Neither of us had enough money for them. And we both knew there was only one solution.

            “No,” said Thomas, shaking his head, “No way, no how.”

            “Right,” I agreed firmly.

            “We’ll just have to live in an alley.”

            “Exactly.”

            We both continued to stare at the pages, then we looked at each other. Then back at the pages. Then back at each other. With a sigh, I picked up the pen and signed.

            Thomas and Snake Eyes were about to share an apartment.

 

            “This is so not going to work,” said Thomas, shaking his head. He pushed his black hair away from his forehead and surveyed the now-furnished apartment. It was small, but cozy and clean.

            It was the ‘small’ that had us worried. Neither of us are big cleaner-uppers. In fact, Thomas is a downright slob.

            Not that I’m much better.

            “I think you’re right,” I agreed.

            “Well, there’s not much we can do, anyway,” Thomas sighed. He flopped down onto the couch as I began to inspect the apartment.

            For the fourth time.

            “One bathroom,” I noted.

            “You pointed that out the first time,” said Thomas, opening a Kendo magazine.

            “Yeah, I know,” I said, “I just can’t get over it.”

            “We’ll never survive,” my brother said gloomily.

            “Two bedrooms, at least,” I said, trying to look on the optimistic side.

            “Two bedrooms that are actually closets made to look like bedrooms in order to fool people,” Thomas said.

            I looked doubtfully into the bedroom I had chosen. It was about the size of a Gestappo cell. I sighed and walked down the built-for-a-ruler-not-a-person-sized hallway and walked into the kitchen.

            “It has an island,” I called.

            “Good. We can set toothpicks on it while we cook.”

            “You’re a pessimist.”

            “This apartment was designed for them.”

            “It was designed for one person,” I said.

            “As I said. It was designed for pessimists. Who’s making dinner?”

            “You are,” I said, peering into the Fridge. It was about as big as a jewelry box.

            “We’ll get along fine here,” I said, “I think we can manage.”

            “Yeah, right.”

 

14 thoughts on “Two is a Crowd

  1. MYSTERIOUSLY Thomas was found murdered the following morning… Ian (Snake Eyes) would have put his ashes in an urn but there wasn’t room in the apartment.

    Which would make for extremely short fanfiction. >.>

    • Oohoh, yes, a very short fanfiction. Not that the idea didn’t cross Ian’s mind. XD They have more escapades to come in which they irritate each other beyond all reason.

    • *laughs* I know quite a bit of backstory which I learned very rapidly over a short period of time. And I love the movie and can’t wait for the second. =)

  2. Well who’d have thought that GI Joe was a more than an action figure that little girls steal from their brothers to marry to their Barbies. 😉

    This is funny!

  3. This seem rather amusing…and you Snake Eyes actually talk!
    You very good at writing and speaking the Engrish. 😉

    I saw the trailer for the second movie and thought it looks cool (but I didn’t see Scarlett or some of the others in it!:O )…I was like, “Whoa, how is Storm Shadow still alive?” I bet it makes you happy that the Korean ninja is still around. 😉
    If you ever meet him, make sure to tell him that black is a much cooler-looking color than white (unless perhaps everyone else is wearing black, in which case it would certainly stand out more), so Snake Eyes looks cooler. 🙂

    • Yes, I’m very happy the Korean ninja is still alive (even if he’s Japanese in the movie XD) Snake Eyes talks in this story, yes – his vocal cords haven’t been damaged yet =D There are eight zillion different versions as to how they became enemies, how Snakes lost his voice, etc. – so I just went “Whatever” and wrote this without bothering. ^.^

      Yeah, there aren’t many of the original actors in the new movie, but that’s okay – Byung-hun Lee and Ray Park are still in it. I think Scarlett is still there, but her actress is different – and it looks like Duke dies in the trailer! O_O Unexpected!! But we’ve got Roadblock as the main character, looks like – in the comics, he’s Heavy Duty’s cousin. =) And we have John McCla – I mean, Bruce Willis in it, too. ^.^ So I’m still excited.

    • My hair IS blond-ish… I’m a dishwater blond. *sigh* But I used a photo editing softward that gave the picture a greenish tinge and made my hair color a tad different at the same time! ^.^ (My expression is nothing new – haha XD)

  4. BWHAHAHA! MIRRIAM! I’D FORGOTTEN ABOUT THESE! Oh my goodness… my dear Thomas. I think I’m in love with him. >.<

    Yo! Max!
    You can BET we're hyped about Stormy returning! He *didn't* die in the first one – you'd have to watch the commentary on it. EEK! *fangirls* … okay. I'm sorry. Enough of my insane spazzing over a 42 year old Korean guy playing a 30-some year old Japanese character…. *clears throat and walks away*

    ^_^

Got something to say?

