Oh, the places we will go…

Well. I’m sitting here and I REALLY want to write something. You know those moments when your fingers are resting on the keys, and your brain is spinning and all you want to do is type out something coherent (or incoherent) and you don’t really care what it is, you just want to write it down? Yeah, that’s what I’ve got. The English language should have a word for it.

My older sister is convinced I’m going to be a cat lady when I get older. I don’t see why; I don’t even like cats particularly (okay, that’s a lie, I like most animals INCLUDING cats, but I’d rather have a dog). Just because I want to do all sorts of crazy things in a town where no one knows me doesn’t make me a cat lady. One day, very soon, I want to take twenty-four hours and go to a nearby town where I can remain anonymous and do the following:

1. Stand on a busy street corner wearing a tee shirt that says LIFE and hand lemons to everybody

2. Run into a small store, ask the cashier what year it is, and when they tell me, run out cheering “I DID IT!!!!”

3. Step into a crowded elevator and say “I suppose you’re all wondering why I gathered you here” with a straight face

4. Walk up to random people and ask them if they’ve seen my pet Spudgie. When the ask me what he looks like, I’ll describe a Pterodactyl.

5. Follow joggers around the neighborhood blasting “Eye of the Tiger” for encouragement

6. Hide behind a car in a parking lot with a bag of firecrackers. When someone walks past, start throwing the firecrackers down every time they take a step. Stop when they pause to look around; resume once they start walking again.

7. Find a police box and stand outside it with fish fingers and custard. When someone asks you what you’re doing, say “He’s late again. I got him a snack, but you know the Doctor, he’s always goofing off,” and offer the person a fish finger.

8. Get in an elevator (Oh, I love the elevator ones) and every time someone gets on, shake their hand and say “Welcome aboard, you can call me Admiral.”

9. Get in another elevator (or the same elevator) and stand there banging your head against the wall going “Shut UP all of you, just shut UP!!”

10. Go to a mall wearing dark sunglasses. Approach random people and demand “Where were you on the night of June fifth, two thousand thirteen?”

Do you have any crazy things you want to do before you die? I’d love to hear them! We should all get together and attack an unsuspecting town. Yep.

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

36 thoughts on “Oh, the places we will go…

  1. This had me laughing SO VERY VERY hard! πŸ˜€ Those are hilariously cool schemes of yours. I especially love . . . well . . . ALL of them! You are such an awesome person. I hope you do them someday, and have someone nearby with a camera so you can share them XD I do agree though that it must be a town where you will not be recognized!

    I’ve never thought of doing things like that; maybe I should come up with some . . . And I so totally need to write a story with a character who does those things . . .

    Also, you changed your blog header! I think it’s cool; it looks like you wrote it up there with a big permanent red marker. Like saying “This is MY blog and I can do what I want with it, mwahahaha!” πŸ˜€ It has a lot of character for something so simple-seeming. Coolio.

    • Oh, Deb, you always make me happy ^.^
      I’m not really an awesome person all the time, I just seem that way on my blog XD YOU’RE the awesome one!! O_O You won’t believe this, but I AM brainstorming a book called “The Bucket List.” The gist is, this girl finds out she has cancer and her best friends band together to do all these crazy, awesome things before she dies. =)
      I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE THE HEADER! I found the font and fell in love with it. =) It’s from Dafont.com and it’s called The Hand of Cre, if you wanted to know. ^.^

      • Awwww thanks! I’m so glad! (again though, why am I Deb??) And no, actually I’m not. >.>

        I was thinking more like a story about a person who does weird things like that all the time just cause he’s kinda wacky! πŸ˜‰ And I dunno if I’d want to read a story where the main character dies at the end D: But other than that, it’s cool.

        Yeah, the header is very you. πŸ˜€ Have you ever looked for LotR fonts online? I have some Tengwar ones . . . http://www.thehutt.de/tolkien/fonts.html

        I love elevators!

  2. I am far too introverted to do something like that unless I’m chock full of caffeine and with a bunch of crazy people. So, if you ever want me to do anything nuts, there’s how you get me to. πŸ˜‰

  3. Hm…there are a few things I could add to the list.
    1: Go to some store with a carpet, ask for a volunteer, then throw them to the floor. Proceed to perform the Jared Allen sack dance (that one no one will get unless they are a football fan).
    2: Adopt a foreign accent. Walk up to a mall kiosk and ask for a napkin. When they give it to you, hand them a one hundred dollar bill and say ‘your country is indebted to you for this’.
    3: Call a random number on the telephone and report a successfully solved murder case.

  4. I love number 2 alot. πŸ˜€

    For another elevator one, I’ve always thought it would be hilarious to get in an elevator with a friend and some strangers, get in a pretend fight with the friend and push them against the elevator buttons so that they slide down and push them all.

    And then say “sorry” and get off at the next level. πŸ˜‰

  5. So Much FANTASTICNESS. Man I love the one about the lemons. I’ve seen this list on all the “cool people”s lists/fbs and blogs too. Well, one LIKE it anyway as you’ve got some MORE COOL things. And then I got to pondering on it. I thought, huh, I wonder why these are sound so funny. Then I thought “Well, they go against the norm or play on words and such” and then (this is going to be a common connecter here AND THEN) I started thinking “Can I do any of these where people know I’m a Christian?” And then (warned you) I thought “Well, Jesus was a go against the norm, shock the people, merry-twinkle in His eyes (oh come on you KNOW it had to be there) kinda fella when He walked on ole’ Terra Firma, how can I have fun, make people stare, and still “represent” Him? And then (really, you should have expected that one right there) I thought HA! So can do this! Here’s a partial list:

    1.) Pay for someone’s coffee at a coffee place, and tell them and the barista that I’m doing it because you know what, Christians are suppose to make Christ as sweet taste to people, and I’m sorry we haven’t done that before.

    2.) Compliment a check-out person and tell them that they really are doing a great job (when they are) and that I was glad to meet someone like them–and ask the Lord to bless them. Out loud. You know, where people can hear.

    3.) Give up my place in line to someone who is struggling with kids or a full shopping basket and tell them that I want to make their day a little better if I can, because they matter to Jesus and so, they matter to me.

    Oh I know. I’m gunna get some looks, and probably get yelled at, possibly cursed but eh, πŸ˜‰ none of that sticks. And if I’m going to make an impression, I might as well make em think O:)

    • I LOVE trying to cheer up cashiers and waitresses =) Those are FANTASTIC ideas I must add to my list – and I can do those here where no one knows me!!! ^.^

    • I always try and cheer waitresses and cashiers and people who help me out – thse are fantastic and I’m definitely going to do them!!!! ^.^ GO AGAINST THE NORM! And I LOVE the thought of Jesus with a twinkle in his eye =)

      • πŸ˜€ He had to have had one! Especially when someone “GOT IT” and gasped and He knew that they knew? Or when a four-year-old fellas swarmed up to show him bugs they had found, or flowers, or a frog. They had too, when they begged him to “swing us!” and reached up with fingers to be twirled about. You’ve seen it today—strong guy flocked with kids at church “Me next, me next, swing me next” and despite the culture differences of the day kids are kids πŸ˜‰ And they were drawn to him like iron filings to a magnet. One of my favorite illustrations of Him from work is Jesus covered in sawdust and sweaty, and a little boy, about four or five is HANGING from His arm, which He’s flexing. Both of them are laughing like crazy and in the back ground are some of Jesus’ brothers and sisters, implying the little one is a nephew. Yeah, His eyes danced and twinkled when He was here, as well as filling with tears or flashing with anger. God in an Earth Suit. Still make my head hurt even after all these years and my heart ache with wonder. πŸ˜€

  6. I love these! πŸ˜€ Especially the finding a police box one, with fish fingers and custard.

    Yesterday I was feeling very much like I just had to sit down and write, and so I wrote a ramble filled post about it, and how I was actually going to start writing crazily again as soon as possible. Here’s the link, if you want to check it out: http://teaandquills.blogspot.com/2012/03/time-to-write.html

    I’d love to have a bucket list like this, just full of silly things to do before I die. Filled with things to do, and places to go, and people to see. πŸ˜‰

    -Sofie

  7. Michelle’s ideas are great! Another good one is, at Christmastime, always tell the waitresses and cashiers to have a “Merry Christmas!” I always do that because 1) I hate that most people say “Happy Holiday” and 2) because they all look so stressed around that time. πŸ™‚

  8. Better then telling them Merry Christmas at Christmas time is telling it to them in the middle of the summer. Or like in july randomly running up to people and saying something like β€œGuess what! Only 156 days until Christmas! I can’t wait!” Then start singing a Christmas carol…
    ~Aidyl
    http://www.aidylewoh.blogspot.com

  9. It’s official: we are twins. I am seriously writing a crazy-things-I-want-to-do-before-I-die-post as we speak. I had some of the same things on my list and I am stealing some of the rest of yours πŸ˜‰ i love the elevater ones! I will totally join you πŸ™‚

Got something to say?

