Beautiful People – One Year Edition!

I had the *hardest* time figuring out which characters to use for this one. I found it nearly impossible, actually. But, for old time’s sake, I decided to use my Elmeria characters! On the way back from the retreat, I gushed to Dad about them for probably half an hour (after that came Sherlock, and he was very patient with me) – he’s so wonderful. =) I’ve decided to do this for both Eristor AND Sienna. =)

1. Do they believe in anything that most people think is impossible? 

Sienna: She’s a very practical, ‘I believe in what I can see’ kind of person – until she is brought to Elmeria by a force she can’t explain. Very soon, everything she had thought was impossible is right in front of her eyes; breathing, living, and ocassionally making snarky remarks. She refuses to believe what her eyes see at first, but realizes she cannot fight the truth for forever. She becomes a strong follower of Amar, though she is still flawed and weak.

Eristor: Though you wouldn’t think it to look at him, he has a very strong sense of the spiritual. He’s seen the evil it can work firsthand, but struggles to keep his eyes on the light he has seen so little of. However, he will defend Amar to the death because something in his embittered soul wants desperately to believe in hope and something greater than the enemy.

2. Are they strong, or the “damsel/knight in distress” sort? 

Sienna: Sienna certainly doesn’t think of herself as a damsel in distress – until Elmeria, anyhow. She realizes that being hip, fashionable, and popular doesn’t do her an ounce of good when confronted with an enemy wielding a weapon. It’s hard for her to realize that she has to depend on others, since she’s a control freak with a very independant spirit.

Eristor: He’s definitely the strong type, both physically and mentally. He survived months of horrific torture from his father and years of mental torture from his own soul, but they have darkened him. When he sees Sienna begin to embrace the faith of Amar and strive to do the right thing he gets a glimpse of hope, and it gives him the strength he needs to become beautiful again.
3. Do they have a special place? (e.g. a corner in his/her bedroom, under a tree…)

Sienna: Not really. Back in NYC she was one of those people who could hang out anywhere – she was a social butterfly who loved being with friends.

Eristor: He does not. He is a very private, introverted being and does not like being around people, so he probably wishes he had somewhere to retreat to besides his own brain.

4. What occupation do they have, or plan on having? 

Sienna: She doesn’t have an occupation. She was still a high school student, her parents were well-to-do and she didn’t have to get a job. In Elmeria, of course, things are a lot harder, and she has to wear more hats than she thinks she can balance!

Eristor: Prince. It’s a full-time job, really, even when your father is still alive and a steward is reigning until he’s dead and you can finally take the throne…

5. Describe their current place of residence. 

Sienna: She’s currently residing in Elmeria, but in different places throughout. At the moment she’s on board a pirate ship called the Siren’s Song after having been turned away by… well. *cough*

Eristor: He’s in the same boat as Sienna. (Get it? Same boat? Ship? Hahaha*wheezehack*)

6. Explain their last crisis. How had they changed when they came out of it? 

Sienna: According to her, she’s still IN a crisis! She’s in Elmeria, has no clear idea of what she’s doing there, was wounded by an attacking merrow, and her brain is about to explode. (She’s a bit melodromatic)

Eristor: He’d probably agree that he’s still in a crisis, though he has a larger view of the whole thing. Oscariath’s army mysteriously appears and disappears after decimating an entire city, and no one knows how it was done. His arm is broken, he’s on board a pirate ship, the world is practically in peril, and to top it off he’s in a foul mood.

7. If they could drive any kind of car they wanted, what would it be? 

Sienna: She would want a convertible in a blue-silver color, so she could drive around the city with her hair whipping around her sunglasses. Yup.

Eristor: I don’t really want to explain ‘car’ to him, but he’d definitely want a black Lamborghini.

8. How do they deal with change? 

Sienna: Kicking and screaming.

Eristor: With resignation.

9. If they had to amputate one body part, which one would they choose? 

Sienna: “Excuse me while I butt in here for a minute – why would I be amputating a body part? Hellooo? I’m not planning doing THAT any time soon. If I absolutely HAD to, I’d say a toe. My second-littlest toe on my left foot.”

Eristor: “…………………” Right, well, he’s not speaking to us so I’ll answer for him again – he’d rather not have anything amputated. Not that he always has a choice…

10. What would their favorite be at the local coffee shop? 

Sienna: She always gets a grande extra-hot peppermint mocha with extra whip =) (Suspiciously like my favorite winter drink… hmmm….)

Eristor: He’d get straight black.

Part 2: Here are 5 more questions. These ones are focused more on that relationship we mentioned above. The goal is to become more familiar with the way your two characters relate with one another. Think about your answers, don’t be afraid to give us detail.

1. How did they meet? 

Sienna ran into Eristor around a corner. She was knocked flat, and he just sneered at her and walked past without so much as an offer to help her up. It was all very romantic.

2. How do these two deal with conflict? 

They argue. That’s how they deal with it. There’s conflict? MORE, PLEASE! I’m sure we can solve it by yelling at each other and being snarky!!! Right? Right?

3. Do they have a special song, phrase, item, or place? 

Sienna: Not particularly. Her brother, if it came down to it. She’s the only one allowed to pick on him.

Eristor: Don’t touch his kelehb sticks. You’ll likely find one of them through your abdomen. He’s very protective over them.

4. What kind of things do they like to do together? (This one made me laugh a bit, ahem)

Sienna: Argue, argue, argue, and apologize. Argue, argue, argue and apologize. And maybe have a fighting lesson.

Eristor: Snark, snark, snark, accept apology. Snark, snark, snark, accept apology and grudingly give fighting lesson.

5. Describe their relationship as a whole in 3 words, or less. 

Opposites having difficulty.

Oh, this was so much fun… I love them… I must start on the sequel… Any objections, anybody?

21 thoughts on “Beautiful People – One Year Edition!

  1. AH. Between this and all your excepts/character stuff, I really want to read this book. 😛 It sounds so interesting and good. And of course, you’re a lovely writer.

    “8. How do they deal with change?

    Sienna: Kicking and screaming.”

    This bit made me laugh.

    -Sofie

  2. Aaaaaahhh! I love Eristor and Sienna!!! Same boat!–Hahaha! And I love the cars! And coffee choice! And and and . . . all of it!! Umm . . . was that too many exclamation points? Answer: No, not for them! 😀 ❤

    Objections to you starting the sequel? NO! Start it! (except that I don't believe I've finished reading the first one. At least it didn't seem like an ending. Hint hint hint 😉 )

    And, in answer to your question ('cause I'm too lazy to post two comments), I vaguely know that Steve McQueen was a famous actor in some TV show called Wanted: Dead or Alive, and that, according to Reese, Simon is like a British version of him (human teddy bear with gun and all; I LOVE Simon and Eristor! You have the best anti-hero hero guys!!!) and that you talk about him a lot-ish. But I've never seen him on a screen. Or, well, not on a screen and *moving*. Cause I've seen pictures of him. Did I answer you're question?

    Also . . . I'm "DEB" now?? How did this happen? O_O

    And lovely pics in your last post! Looks like you had a great time! But I'm glad you're back now! 🙂

    I think that's it . . . ?

  3. It was fun reading your answers!! 🙂 I feel like I know Sienna and Eristor–are you planning to publish The Shadows Fall?

      • I’m just going to butt in here, and say that that’s really awesome! Getting published is on my bucket list of things to do eventually– but I know that I don’t want to do that for years to come. At the moment, I’m almost fourteen, and really don’t need to be looking into publishers– I just need to be learning my writing style, and discovering my characters. But I’m really excited to hear that you’re planning to publish. 😉

        -Sofie

  4. It was fun reading your answers!! 🙂 I feel like I know Sienna and Eristor. Are you planning on publishing The Shadows Fall?

    – Marian (all-that-is-gold.blogspot.com)

  5. “Get it? Same boat? Ship? Hahaha*wheezehack*”

    LOL. That’s too funny.

    This was awesome! I loved the answer to the 2nd to last one. It sounds like they’re a lot of fun to write about. I should do a blog post like this on some of my imaginary people… 😀

  6. 1) Your characters have an interesting relationship – definitely not love at first sight, eh? 😉
    2) I just finished converting your books in .doc format (which I’d already converted to PDF) to MOBI – I’m trying to see if I can put them on the Kindle app on my iPhone (if that doesn’t work, the PDFs should in another app). Here goes…
    3) I finished my Hunger Games analysis; if you want to read it, here it is: http://fightforthelight.blogspot.com/p/reviews.html

  7. Pingback: Beautiful People? Ah, not so much but they’re my resident “character couple” « Scarlet Inkwell

  8. Pingback: Beautiful People? Not really but they’re my resident “character couple” Part 2 « Scarlet Inkwell

  9. aaaaand done. 😀 I think that every writer commenting here should do this, and then tag our resident Shield Maiden, 😀 I mean she deserves thanks for the laughs and what better way than to torture I mean interview our own character couples.

Got something to say?

