Excuse me, miss, but I think your nerd is showing

All right, folks, here it is. The hard, ugly truth.

I’m a nerd.

I know, I know. Please, hold the weeping and – is that a camera? Put it away, I tell you, put it away! And no screencaps, either! Ahem. Let me explain.

I was not always a nerd. I’ve heard it said that you cannot kill what already has no life, and I can assure you, this is not my case. I DO have a life. It just happens to be more exciting than yoursย  (because I’m a nerd).

Being a nerd came upon me suddenly and irrevocably, and I can’t quite figure out when it happened.

Maybe it was when I first became interested in computers and decided to find all the shortcuts to world domination.

Maybe it was when I saw Star Trek, decided Spock should rule the world, and went around making Vulcan live long and prosper signs at everybody.

Maybe it was when I saw my first episode of BBC Robin Hood and couldn’t quit speaking with a Cockney accent (I’m not bein’ funny, I’m quite good at it).

Maybe it was when I read my first Marvel encyclopedia and became an expert on the heroes and villains of the comic book world (Marvel rules, DC. Get over it).

Maybe it was when I saw my first episode of Doctor Who. I think the seeds of nerd-dom had been planted before this, but if my nerdiness was a sprout beforehand, Doctor Who gave it water, fertilizer, and fairydust. I wear a TARDIS scarf with pride. I use phrases like “Allons-y!” and “Bowties are Cool” with regularity. I’ve never looked at Van Gogh, Shakespeare, screwdrivers, police boxes, duck ponds, bowties, Converse, stone statues, or those little cross-out marks the same way again.

Maybe it was when I saw my first Sherlock and fell totally in love with a psychopathic genius and his favorite blogger, started calling apartments ‘flats,’ yelled “BORED!” whenever I was, um, bored, and started saying things like “But it’s the SOLAR system!” or “There’s NOTHING wrong with me,” or “Not my division!” at every possible opportunity.ย 

Whatever it was that clicked in my brain, I, ladies and gentlemen, stepped off the cliff.

I became a nerd.

And do you know what?

P. S. I’m going to be gone over the weekend, so lots of love to you all, leave lots of comments for me to read, and I’ll share some stories with you when I get back!

57 thoughts on “Excuse me, miss, but I think your nerd is showing

  1. Yes, yes, Yes!!!

    Never can I look at concrete angels again. People may think I am a freak, but I shall not turn my back on those angelic beasts.

  2. And DON’T BLINK! Thankfully, after watching that, I can remember having only one nightmare about creatures I had to keep an eye on and think “Don’t blink, don’t blink!” because they were or were like the weeping angels.

    Good heavens, not the cockney accent! :O
    I love certain British accents, but the cockney accent is something like the British equivalent of a Southern redneck drawl. ๐Ÿ˜› I wonder how well you can pull off a British accent…I don’t usually try but I might be able to do decently; I remember I started sounding a bit like Guy of Gisbourne while/after watching BBC Robin Hood. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hm, have you ever watched the BBC car show, Top Gear? Sometimes it’s cool (the cinematography is excellent) but it can also be hilarious. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Remember, the geek will inherit the earth!

  3. He’s a sociopath, not a pyschopath. Do your research. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And yes, I now call apartments “flats” and say, “Not my division.”

    And “Allons-y.”

    Highest of fives for all nerds!

  4. As I sit here with my Weeping Angels t-shirt, my TARDIS key keychain, my sonic screwdriver, my Star Trek encyclopedia, my rock-paper-scissors-lizard-spock totebag…I give you a cyber high-five! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Oh, and happy Pi Day!

  5. I don’t quite know what to say to this post, except that it is a fact that what parents do in moderation children do in excess – so, yes, you are EXCESSIVELY nerdy. But with a father whose motto for years has been “Why Be Normal” and a grandfather who wore nothing but bow ties, even your dearest mother’s normality had no chance. But I reserve the right to say (again and again, I might add) that….. you are, you know! โ™ฅ

  6. LOVED this! I totally cracked up;)
    Oh yes – love, love, love the accents in Robin Hood! And the show itself;)
    I’ve just started to get into Star Trek and I’m planning on watching Doctor Who soon.
    And Sherlock = awesome.
    I think we might not only be fellow Steve McQueen fanatics, but fellow nerds as well;)
    Have a wonderful day!
    ~Tasha~

  7. “Whatever it was that clicked in my brain, I, ladies and gentlemen, stepped off the cliff.”
    Yep. Absolutely. I did that in May of 2010. ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜„
    (MWAHAHA!)
    Aactually… I did THAT when I met you. *sniffs*
    Yesyes – the only bit of Dr Who I’ve ever seen was… DON’T BLINK!!!!!!!! (Makes me giggle everytime I see a statue!)

  8. What?! Chicka, you need to get your *geek* on and level with yourself. It’s been going on a LOT longer than that. What about:

    “No survivors, ay? Then where do all the stories come from, I wonder?”

    or

    “That word that you keep using, I don’t think it means, what you think it means.”

    or

    “Sink me, the lady’s a poet, and she did not know it.”

    or

    “You might want to see your room, before you turn your nose up at it.”

    The geekside man ๐Ÿ˜‰ you meet the most fantasticalostic people there.

  9. I’m more of a geek than a nerd, but consider either a compliment ;). I’ve actually been wanting to watch Dr. Who, is it really as good as people say it is?

    • WOOOT; both are awesome =D DR. WHO IS AMAZING. It’s the best ever; very close to Sherlock – they’re about neck-and-neck. THEY’RE GREAT. How’s Lent going? =)

  10. Love, love, love this post, Mirriam dear!

    I myself stepped off the cliff… oh, last March? April? I’m not quite sure.

    The most recent addition to my ever-growing pile of nerdy things I like? Merlin. โค I finished season two over the weekend, and can't wait until I get my hands on season three. (And I still haven't finished Robin Hood. I know, I know, I need to. I keep meaning to, it just… hasn't happened. The problem is that I was told what comes at the end, and I don't know if I can bear to watch it. It wasn't you who told me, if you're wondering– a girl at school explained the entire third-series plot to me, despite me saying, "NOOOO! Don't tell me!")

    People at my school seem to think that being intelligent, and being altogether nerdy, is a bad thing. And when they say that, all I can think of is this quote:

    โ€œโ€ฆbecause nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuffโ€ฆ Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-canโ€™t-control-yourself love it. Hank, when people call people nerds, mostly what theyโ€™re saying is โ€˜you like stuff.โ€™ Which is just not a good insult at all. Like, โ€˜you are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousnessโ€™.โ€
    โ€• John Green

    And again, Mirriam, I love this post. ๐Ÿ˜€ And I'll miss you over the weekend!

    -Sofie

    • Ahh I love Merlin! ๐Ÿ˜€ All my friends think it’s terrible but I love it, it’s hilarious. ^^ And also really pretty! I love their costumes and the amazing horses they use, they make me want to draw them. ๐Ÿ˜›

      NERDFIGHTERS FOR THE WIN! DFTBA! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Woohoo! Yay for revelling in nerdy pride! ๐Ÿ˜€ I myself really only realised that I had this disease of nerdy awesomeness around a few years back, when I started high school and met my current awesome nerdy friends- they got me into Doctor Who!

    Although I’ve been in love with Lord of the Rings ever since I watched it with my big brother when it first came out (so I was like, 7? I loved it, but it may not have been the best thing ever to show a seven year old scardey-cat;That one scene where you see a flash of Gollum in the Mines of Moria terrified the heck out of me. o.o Oh, and the Nazgรปl? THE STUFF OF MY NIGHTMARES FOR YEARS.) and I reckon that’s what started this mad obsession with fantasy and knights and dragons and all that jazz. (That and Harry Potter, which my brother read me as well. :D) And so, ever since then, I have loved (most) things nerdy and fantasy-ey. Thank goodness for older brothers (although I turned out nerdier than him. He is just a normal person with a liking for various stuff, some of which happened to be nerdy. I am nerd to the core. :P)

    YESSSS DOCTOR WHO AND SHERLOCK ARE MY LIFE. :D:D:D I cannot WAIT for the third season- this is killing me! Killing me I tell you! D: That last episode was like the most intense thing in the history of the world. And it still physically hurts me when I see things on Tumblr and around the place about what happened to the Doctor and Rose. And also when I think about the fact that the tenth Doctor is gone! Excuse me a moment while I go cry my heart out. D: *sobs quietly in corner*

    I must say, (and I believe I have said so before) that you, my friend, have impeccable taste in TV shows. ;P And I believe you have just inspired me to do a post about my own nerd-life things. Jolly good, old chap, jolly good show. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. You always make me smile!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I really want to seen Dr. Who and Sherlock after hearing about how much you love it! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh, and yeah Robin Hood series is like awesome. One of my sisters can do a pretty goo imitation of a cockney accent.
    SOOOOOOOOOOOO WANT TO GET SHERLOCK!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Stupid library doesn’t have it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll have to get it somehow though!

  13. I imagine I am supposed to start watching Dr. Who with the Tenth Doctor, otherwise I won’t possibly be able to finish the bazillion episodes starting with the First Doctor, right?

    BTW, did you see my first comment? (the second on this post, I think) I don’t mind if you don’t reply to it; I just wanted to see if you’d read it.

    Ugh, WordPress is giving me trouble about using my main e-mail address (don’t worry, this is me with a different one). ๐Ÿ˜›

    • There is only one season with the first doctor which you HAVE to watch because it explains a lot =) =) HAHAHA; I saw the comment – sorry, I’ve been super busy *grin*

      • Which episode is that? I’m going to see if I can find episodes on Hulu or somewhere (but I don’t have Internet connection with my computers at home and it’s slow and limited on my iPhone ๐Ÿ˜› )
        Ah, ok. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m busy too – writing college papers – but I keep getting sidetracked/distracted and procrastinating (college stuff is no fun – I don’t know how other people seem to not mind it). :~\

        • Which episode? I mean, the ninth doctor. *facepalm* The first season is the ninth doctor and you have to watch it because you’re introduced to Rose and the daleks and cybermen and Captain Jack =D
          Papers + college = ummm… I’m sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Mianhae.

          • Oh, ok. Is that where the sci-fi-looking picture of the girl with the “ray-gun looking thing” is from?
            Mi-an-hae…? [rolls word over tongue slowly] (pardon my ignorance) Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. So I recently fell in love with BBC Robin Hood. *squee* HE’S SO AMAZING! AND SO ARE HIS BAND! I get all giddy just thinking about them. I haven’t seen season 1 yet, but I watched season 2 once by myself and then I gushed my dad and brother into watching it with me AGAIN!
    Except I refused to see the last episode twice. It’s just too sad. How could Will and Djaq leave? And Marian… *sniff*

    “Pepper – ouch!” – Djaq

    “What do I have to do to prove my loyalty to you? What? Tell me! What? I’ll chop off my own arms! Well…one arm because once I chop that off then…I wouldn’t be able to…chop off…the other…” – Much

    Here’s a question for you – saying I hypothetically want to get involved with another show, would you recommend Doctor Who, Star Trek, or Sherlock Holmes?

  15. Um . . . “lots of comments” is right . . . Wow.

    I’d chime in on the conversation, but on that list it looks like I’m only a Sherlock person so far… Sorry to disappoint ๐Ÿ˜€

    However, your letter is in the mail!

    Have a good time over the weekend, wherever you’re gone to! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also . . . did you know Chris Miles tagged you?
    http://fictionfire.blogspot.com/2012/02/tagged.html
    ‘Cause I REALLY want to see you do it!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. “Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-canโ€™t-control-yourself love it. Hank, when people call people nerds, mostly what theyโ€™re saying is โ€˜you like stuff.โ€™ Which is just not a good insult at all. Like, โ€˜you are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousnessโ€™.โ€
    – John Green

Got something to say?

