The art of art, the glory of expression and the sunshine of the light of letters, is simplicity. ~Walt Whitman

Letter writing is the only device for combining solitude with good company.  ~Lord Byron

Letters.

When did they stop being commonplace and become a novelty?

It seems a long time since the morning mail could be called correspondence.  ~Jacques Barzun

I am an unabashed writer of letters. I hardly love anything more than to receive a lovely letter in the mail, be it one page or ten, and the pleasure of sitting down with a cup of tea to answer one is one of the greatest joys in life.

What a lot we lost when we stopped writing letters.  You can’t reread a phone call.  ~Liz Carpenter

I have the pleasure of having several snail-mail correspondants, whose letters I love and keep and treasure. So I put it to you, dear friends – do you enjoy writing letters?

And if so, are you interested in having another correspondant? Beware: my letters include my best stationary, my best penmanship, and an ocassional wax seal! If you can write a good letter, then I would love to write with you. If you’re interested, leave a comment here!

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

Politeness is as much concerned in answering letters within a reasonable time, as it is in returning a bow, immediately.  ~Lord Chesterfield

18 thoughts on “The art of art, the glory of expression and the sunshine of the light of letters, is simplicity. ~Walt Whitman

  1. YES.
    YES.
    YES.

    You should write a letter to me and we can be penpals. That sounds delightful. Or lovely. Or some other very British word. It sounds like the height of excellence.

  2. Mirriam, it would be lovely to have a snail-mail correspondent. Sometimes, I think we can get caught up in getting things immediately, and so lose the joy of expectantly waiting for something.

    Would you be my penpal? 🙂 ‘Twould be lovely.

  3. Thank you for the reminder, I have a few friends who deserve mail but I have been far to lazy to sit and write to them. Now I shall sit down and do so this afternoon, I hope. 😀 Have a lovely day Mirriam!

    Jessica

  4. Although writing letters is out of the question in my case, I am curious to see what your style of handwriting looks like…maybe you could take a picture of a sample of something you’ve written sometime? (if you’re comfortable with it, of course)
    I think I might do that sometime soon, although my handwriting will probably be far inferior to yours.

  5. AHHH! Yes! I’m writing to you write (haha, I mean ‘right’) now (and expect lots of doodles!). I’m very thankful that your so enthusiastic about. We’ve been writing for a long time, and I don’t expect it ever to end! And I cherish all the letters I receive from you- I plan on keeping them forever 🙂

  6. OOOHHH! I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to do this! Yes PLEASE! ❤ 🙂

    Letters are so fun and I miss sending and receiving them. I was just thinking this week of getting back into it! 😀

  7. Charming. The best thing about cursive letter writing is the absence of a delete key. Flow on, good pen.

    I recognize your Barzun quotation. Have you read God’s Country and Mine, then, or did you find his words somewhere else?

  8. While waiting for hand-written letters from your pen pals to arrive in the mail, you might enjoy reading Helene Hanff’s correspondence with the used booksellers at “84 Charing Cross Road” in the book by that title. Cheers!

Got something to say?

