Literary Heroine Questionnaire!

  1. Introduce yourself!  Divulge your life’s vision, likes, dislikes, aspirations, or something completely random! Well, let me see. I’m seventeen-going-on-eighteen, as you all know. I’m a bookworm, authoress, artist, music-lover and, most importantly, a Christian. I love lots of everything, really – I’m happy to say I’m not narrow-minded when it comes to taste. (Except in food. There, I’m VERY narrow-minded. Or taste-budded. Ahem).
  2. What, to you, forms the essence of a true heroine? A true heroine would be one of strong character and unwavering morals; but who has strugges like everyone. She should have a sense of humor, be merciful, and loving as well.
  3. Share (up to) four heroines of literature that you most admire and relate to. Oh, heavens. Well, I greatly admire Elizabeth Bennet, and she’s probably the Austen heroine closeset to my temperment, though I haven’t her… genteel way of expressing things. I also love Maria from the Secret of Moonacre – she’s spunky and will do what’s right no matter the cost. And there is Jo March, who I think would make an excellent friend. We are very close, personality-wise; though I’m not much of a tomboy. And as for the last heroine… Eowyn. 🙂 Shieldmaiden of Rohan!
  4. Five of your favorite historical novels?  Ooh, goodness. Pride and Prejudice, the Scarlet Pimpernel, I Capture the Castle♥, and Little Women.
  5. Out of those five books who is your favorite main character and why? I would have to say Cassandra Mortmain. She’s genuine, real, funny, imaginative, and a terribly precocious seventeen-year-old. And she lives in a castle.
  6. Out of those five books who is your favorite secondary character and why? Oh, Percy Blakeney, defenitely. Why? Because he’s basically perfect, thankyouverymuch.
  7. If you were to plan out your dream vacation, where would you travel to – and what would you plan to do there? I would travel to the Isle of Hoy and vacation on the cliffs, because it is perfect and windy and gray and green and romantic. That’s why. Also, Selkies live there.
  8. What is your favorite time period and culture to read about? I love the Regency period, thanks to Jane Austen.
  9. You have been invited to perform at the local charity concert. Singing, comedy, recitation – what is your act comprised of? My act would probably be comprised of singing and a stand-up comedy routine, poking fun at modern celebrities and doctors. 🙂
  10. If you were to attend a party where each guest was to portray a heroine of literature, who would you select to represent? Oh my goodness! Well, if I could have Maria Merryweather’s wardrobe, it would definitely be here. So I would choose either her or Emma Woodhouse.
  11. What are your sentiments on the subject of chocolate? Please, sir, could I have some more? Toffee included?
  12. Favorite author(s)? Dodie Smith, Tolkien, Lewis, MacDonald, Chesterton, Funke, Hale, and dozens more.
  13. Besides essentials, what would you take on a visiting voyage to a foreign land? I would take someone I could confide in, who was skilled in combat training, and who had a sense of humor.
  14. In which century were most of the books you read written? Hmm. Nonexistent centuries, from fantasy worlds 🙂
  15. In your opinion, the ultimate hero in literature is… ESTHER!
  16. Describe your ideal dwelling place. It would be a cottage-like place, very Regency-style; think… hmm… the house the Dashwoods move into in the new BBC Sense and Sensebility.
  17. Sum up your fashion style in five words. Edgye, girlie, whimsical, unexpected, doesn’t-always-work.
  18. Have you ever wanted to change a character’s name? Hmm… yes, I”m sure I have, but I can’t recall a specific instance.
  19. In your opinion, the most dastardly villain of all literature is… Dastardly villain? Possibly Regina, Storybrook’s Mayor. She ruined Rumplestiltskin’s happiness, killed Graham, and trapped every fairytale character known to man!
  20. Three favorite Non-fiction books? Hmm… The World of Beatrix Potter, How to Be a Writer, and, of course, the Bible.
  21. Your duties met for the day, how would you choose to spend a carefree summer afternoon? I would write in a fit of inspiration, draw up an amazing picture, answer letters, drink tea, go for a horseback ride in the rain, and come back to watch a movie.
  22. Create a verbal sketch of your dream hat – in such a way as will best portray your true character. My dream hat? It would be a crazy patchwork version of the Mad Hatter’s, complete with bright ribbons, a sale tag, and a feather.
  23. Share the most significant event(s) that have marked your life in the past year. Honestly,  I don’t know. All the little moments add up to a very significant year.
  24. Share the Bible passage(s) that have been most inspiring to you recently. Just one? I don’t think I could. I’ve been immersed in the Psalms, and, oddly enough, Zephanaiah!
16 thoughts on “Literary Heroine Questionnaire!

  1. Your summer afternoon sounds fantastic! Unfortunately, the only horse I have is my niece’s rocking horse and I don’t think she would appreciate me riding it in the rain. 🙂

    I love the mental image of your Mad Hatter hat and though I’ve never heard of the Isle of Hoy, it sounds like a magnificent place to visit. Will definitely have to look it up!

    • Hello! I’m so happy to have another bloggie to commune with! Woot!
      Oh, I don’t own a horse either, sadly – but I dearly love to ride!
      I KNOW, I want that hat so much… and you MUST look up the Isle of Hoy.
      On Wikipedia. There’s a link to a music video filmed there, and you can
      see how gorgeous it is =)

  2. A few random thoughts:

    Lizzie! Eowyn!
    Chocolate!
    Tolkien! Lewis! Chesterton!
    Selkies!
    Tea!
    Your hat!

    Also, I want to read The Scarlet Pimpernel! Except I’m afraid it will influence one of my books that sounds creepily similar to it 😀

    And . . . that is all. Don’t mind me… >.>

  3. These answers are fantastic! Followed you from the Literary Party Link up and enjoyed reading your responses very much 🙂 Love Maria from Moonacre…I never read the book, just watched the movie, I will have to check it out. I quite agree that Regina is pure evil! Dislike, immensely. Sir Percy is divine. Love all your literary quotes on here. Brilliant! andddd, loved your fan art work. OMG. SO talented girl!!! And the Doctor–––oh my. If only he was real, and I could marry him. Sighhh. heehee. Fantastic job, though really :))

    Jeanine
    wayfaringgirl.blogspot.com

  4. You know, I think we could be twins…
    I’m VERY narrow minded when it comes to food, too.
    And your list of heroines – I had Elizabeth Bennet on my list last year and I’ve always related to Jo March, although I’m definitely not a tomboy. And Eowyn is just awesome. 🙂
    Oh my – I LOVE The Secret of Moonacre! I must have read that book 5 times at least, and I’ve always wanted a room like Maria’s=)
    Three cheers for The Scarlet Pimpernel!!!
    I like your choice of ultimate hero=)
    Ah, I absolutely adore the Dashwood’s cottage in the new BBC S&S!! I could totally live there.
    Your carefree summer afternoon sounds simply divine! Especially the horseback ride and movie afterwards;)
    The Psalms are so wonderful. There’s something there for every single mood or need a person could possibly have!
    Well, I obviously enjoyed reading your answers immensely;)
    I’ve so enjoyed your sweet comments on my blog, too=)
    Blessings,
    ~Tasha~

    • I’m so glad you commented here!! To be honest, when I first read your blog I thought “I hope we can be regulars, blog-wise. I think we may have been separated at birth.” You love the Secret of Moonacre too? I’m SO excited!!! It’s quite rare someone else likes it, or has even heard of it. I adore the book, but love the movie even more because it was just perfect, especially Robin. I’m a sucker for DuNoir boys, apparently. 🙂 And her room – what I wouldn’t do to live in that room! Thank you so much for commenting!!

Got something to say?

