R.I.P.

It’s a funny thing, those times you sit in front of the computer screen with nothing in particular to say. Oh, it’s not like you have a lack of words in your head – it’s more like, none of them will form into anything cohesive. So, I’ve decided to ramble a little bit about a subject which has always, always, ALWAYS been my curse.

What do these characters have in common?

You see, ever since I began to pay attention to characters – in books, movies, tv shows, and the like – I noticed this funny (hahahahahaaha) little thing.

There’s an annoying little habit these characters have. It’s very irritating, and I wish they’d stop.

They’re all doomed.

To die.

And I’m not joking when I say ninety percent of the characters who endear themselves to me over the course of a book, movie, TV show, or whatever, bite the dust before the end. It’s awful. Every time I prepare to read a new eipic book, watch a new epic movie, or begin a new epic TV show, I have to mentally prepare myself (hint: it doesn’t work) for the fact that one, or possibly all, of my favorite characters will die.

Graham from Once Upon a Time.

Uncas from the Last of the Mohicans.

Scar from Predator vs. Aliens.

Robin, Guy, and Allan from BBC’s Robin Hood.

Trystam from King Arthur.

And I just sit there and feel like this:

Now, I’ve heard some people (I’m not naming any names) who claim I get to attached to these characters. Maybe so. But isn’t that what they’re for? If you never got attached to anyone, the book would not be worth reading. The movie would not be worth watching.

When I’m writing,  I have a hard time killing off characters that I like.

So how can these people do it with such calm, cool, heartless precision?

It isn’t fair, I tell you, it isn’t fair.

I’m off to dress in black.

~ Mirriam

11 thoughts on “R.I.P.

  1. Oh gosh. THIS. When I’m watching/reading things, and I start getting attached to a character I know/think will die, I just start yelling at the tv/book saying, “NO. YOU WILL NOT DIE. YOU HAD BETTER NOT DIE. THAT WILL NOT HAPPEN.”

    In fact, I was just doing that. However, the character didn’t die. Which was good. I mean, I knew she couldn’t die, because it’s the third episode (I’m watching Merlin) and you can’t kill off an important character in the beginning of a series (unless you’re Once Upon a Time, and then, whatdoyaknow, it’s okay to MURDER PERFECTLY GOOD CHARACTERS. *angst about Graham*). But still. BAH.

    Sorry. That was sort of rant-y. 😛

    -Sofie

  2. I feel almost exactly like you. The characters I like are usually always secondary characters, the bold and courageous folks who follow the main character around and make his job a whole lot easier. But they usually always die. I’ve noticed this is especially true of mentor-type characters, whom I usually like.

  3. Totally agree with you!!
    Allan and Trystam are so cool. I hate it how people always kill off the best characters in books and movies. 😦
    Allan was so nice *sobs* and Trystam too *double sobs* 😦 😦

  4. Oh, I know! I was so sad at the end of ROTK, literally crying. And they don’t even exactly die.

    Now, Sherlock is kind of an exception. Same audience reaction, though… 😦

  5. Here is a question for you: Why are you killing the character? Have they done something worthy of death? Are you making a point? Is it the villain? Have they achieved their goal and so it is a ‘happy’ death? Or is it for shock value? I’ve returned books that kill off characters ‘just because’ and movies too. Wayne Thomas Batson’s The Errant King met the wall at high speed recently because of some deaths.

Got something to say?

