Quiet time

I’ll admit – in 2011, I was pretty lax in my daily devotions. I didn’t apply the discipline I should have to keep up my time with God each day. Fortunately, in 2012, this has changed for the better. God has given me a new love for Him, and the word ‘discipline’ hardly seems to fit with the peace that comes from reading His word and talking to Him. For a change, yesterday I went outside to do have my ‘quiet time’ (as it’s dubbed in this house).

This was my stunning view from the back of the house –

I got settled up there with my Bible, two letters I’d received in the mail, my diary, and a pen. It was wonderful =) I read some in the Psalms, which is my favorite book of the Bible, and some in Proverbs (second favorite).

One thing that really got me started on daily Bible studies was the King’s Blooming Rose magazine; particularly the issue about quiet times with God. And then I ran across this article below written for an out-of-print magazine (though Amy Vest writes for KBR now) that I thought was extremely good. I’m sorry that the emoticons or whatnot look like squares – it does that on the website too 😉

http://thekingsdaughtermag.com/v10n1.htm#article2

What are your Bible study habits?

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

6 thoughts on “Quiet time

  1. Thanks for posting this Mirriam! I want to start applying these NOW! One thing I feel I need to do is make quiet time a structured thing, instead of something I do just randomly during the day. Also I want to be praying more and more.
    I really love mornings for quiet time- it’s my favorite! The only thing is during the weekdays I have school and don’t have time in the mornings.

  2. Wow God must be trying to tell me something. Pastor talked about the importance of meditating on scripture today. And I’ve been really bad at it for about two years! Hint taken! 😀

  3. Thanks so much for sharing! Quiet time is something I’ve been trying to get into my life on a regular basis and this article will be very helpful as I try to do so.

  4. Pingback: Quiet Time « Holy Aspirations

  5. Quiet time’s really something I need to get better about. I read a chapter of the Bible every night before I pray, but that’s pretty much all I’m doing right now. And I started a prayer journal about two months ago, but I also lost the journal itself about two months ago. So.

    Thanks for the motivation!

Got something to say?

