Fishing for Prunes, and other tales

Yesterday I went to Clinton Park with my sister Riah, my sister Maralie, and Maralie’s son (my nephew) Silas. Since I highly doubt any of you are acquainted with Clinton Park, let me tell you a tiny bit about it: It’s a beautiful park filled with trees – bare at the moment, but very green in summer – and paths to wander around away from other people. It has a park with slides and swings (my favorite) near the entrance, farther in bridges over streams as well as a pond provide inspiring, leisurely walks.

Today, though, we weren’t going to play at the park, or get our exercise wandering worn paths – we were simply going to relax. The day was gorgeous – the sun was alternately bright and hidden between a veil of clouds, and the weather was perfect with a slight breeze. It was one of those days where the wind smells of adventure, but you want nothing so much as to curl up and luxuriate in where you are, right then. We parked ourselves away from everyone but the occasional jogger.

I laid out on the grass while my sisters sat in lawn chairs and my five-year-old nephew made good use of his Christmas tool kit, alternately pounding rocks and dirt and trimming the grass with scissors. I had brought my ‘field bag’ – an awesome bag Dad gave me around a year ago, that is absolutely perfect for holding books, journals, and other paraphernalia.

The contents of my bag on this particular jaunt were as follows:

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (one of my recurring favorite novels)

My red pocket sketchbook (gifted to me on Christmas by my parents)

A water bottle (I’m part Narf, if my water consummation is anything)

A notebook (in which to write my current ‘just-for-fun’ story, Red – a twisted retelling of Red Riding Hood)

Two journals, one of which was my actual journal, and the other of which was my Glimpses of Goodness journal.

Various pens and pencils

We had a lovely time, though I only got a paragraph written.

 Much of the time was spent in talking and laughing with my sisters and snapping the occasional photograph.

 

Before we left, we walked down to the aforementioned pond and talked some more as Silas fished things from the bank with a long stick. Twigs began fish and longer twigs were whales. Once he fished out a leaf, and we asked him what it was.

“A prune,” he replied instantly, and returned to fishing.

All in all, it was a great day. I got to make peanut butter cookies, and even my schoolwork was interesting – my report on Nero unearthed a lot of unusual facts about him (I think his advisors often took advantage of an insane kid and used him to accomplish their own ends, but this is for another time).

And also, God gifted me enormously with the return of my birds! My ‘birds’ whom I hope to take a picture of to show you sometime, are four little (but fat) birds who hang around outside my window during the spring and summer. (Yes, folks, it’s already Spring in Georgia. Sigh.) And also a bluebird, whom I named Moe. The other birds-  I’m not certain what they are, I think they’re finches of some kind – are named Tenpin, Heiliotrope, Tuftnut, and Gandalf (because he has a habit of only showing up half the time).

Note: I took some pictures, as you may have noticed. Rest assured I’m not thinking about the photography business or anything – I don’t have the talent, or the camera. I just enjoy taking pictures. *wink*

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam 

 

3 thoughts on “Fishing for Prunes, and other tales

  1. Sounds like you had fun! I can’t believe it’s already spring in Georgia. Here in Washington (as you know) it doesn’t become spring for ages! Though today is quite lovely, with only a few clouds, and a nice blue sky and splashes of sunshine. Of course, as I was writing this, the sun dipped behidn a cloud but– oh, it’s out again. I love these kinds of winter days– they make me smile. I love the picture of you and your nephew both with your tongues sticking out– it’s really sweet. 😀

    I can’t wait for spring to roll around again. I’m ready for springtime again. Of course, spring is still chilly here, but it’s beautiful. 🙂

    -Sofie

  2. I love this post! 🙂 Sounds like you had a lot of fun 🙂

    Prunes – so funny! And what you said about the bird named Gandalf made me laugh! 😀

    And – YAY – you use the same type of pen that I do! I LOVE that kind of pen! It seems to be the only type that glides, if you know what I mean. ❤

  3. You and Riah always look so stylish! *is jealous*
    Glad you had such a good time! =D

    p.s.
    … *sniff*… is my drawing done yet? *puppy eyes*

Got something to say?

