glimpses of goodness

 Little things. 

Interesting, isn’t it, that it’s the details that make up the richness in our lives? If we only counted success by the number of monumental occasions, our lives would be very poor indeed. Little things, therefore, really aren’t so little, and yet we have trouble noticing them. They tend to slip past our senses like a whisper, leaving behind the faint sensation of a flash of color, a lovely sound, a stranger’s smile. So often we miss the little things, simply because we aren’t paying attention to them. I’m the kind of person who misses big things, but notices small things. I’ll stand in awe at the sight of a raven swooping through the sky and completely miss the fact that I forgot to eat lunch. (My soul might be able to sustain itself on small moments of wonder, but my stomach, alas, is more finicky). And yet I get so wrapped up in myself that I forget to look outward and upward. There are so many glimpses of glory every day, so many things to smile about and thank God for, that when I take the time to actually search them out, I find that my day is filled with pieces of heaven; enough to fill a celestial trunk. Small things. Things that might seem silly or trivial to others, but which touch somewhere deep inside me; like the lyrics to Andrew Peterson’s song;

“It’s a window in the world, a little glimpse of all the goodness getting through.”

I’m determined to begin a new habit. I am going to buy a journal, and record all these ‘glimpses of goodness’ I see throughout the day. And one one day each week, I’m going to share them with you. Feel free to join in; post your ‘glimpses of goodness’  in a comment, or on your own blog, or even email them to me! (the-shieldmaiden(at)hotmail(dot)com) – I’d love to hear from you!

Here are my Glimpses of Goodness for today:

the old Tess of D’Urberville theme song, with such gorgeous flute-and-birdsong//the fairy lights strung up in my room that make me feel happy every time I enter//Letters from Pemberly//my morning cup of coffee and noon cup of tea//the sound of rain pattering outside my window//beautiful photographs//Fernweh magazine//my Mom surprising me by doing the breakfast dishes before I came upstairs//Northanger Abbey//handwritten letters//the sky. so often we take it for granted, but it’s one of God’s most magnificent masterpieces. In the morning and evening it’s streaked with red, pink, orange, and purple and during the day it’s so many shades of blue and gray, sometimes swirling with all sorts of clouds and sometimes as clear as a glass of water//getting ideas from Etsy//wrought-iron gates//notebooks

There are mine – what are yours?

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

10 thoughts on “glimpses of goodness

  1. I’m in! I think I also get so wrapped up in myself I fail to notice all the glimpses of goodness I know surround me.
    And hey! Have you gotten a new journal yet? Because I’ve made a little notebook for you, and I’m going to send it soon, if you want to use that instead of buying another. 🙂 I hope you like it!

    • YAAAAY HEATHER! *gasp* YOU DID? A NEW JOURNAL? HEATHER!!! I LOVE THOSE! (of course you knew that, you fantastic fish, you!) I CAN’T WAIT TO RECEIVE IT! *eeeeep* THANKYOUTHANKYOU!

  2. Oops, I hit “enter” before I finished commenting… I just wanted to add that I love looking at the sky, too. It’s been so cold here lately, but it seems like the sunrises are always more amazing when it is!

  3. Cool idea. I’ve gotten into the habit of doing this every day, but looking for one specific thing that I know is a “kiss from Yahweh” just for me and no one else. My Dad when I was little use to kiss me right smack daub in the middle of my forehead, and tell me he loved me. It was his spot, and it was how the day was ‘sealed’. That kiss on my forehead was the close of a day full of adventure, laughter, and heartache. Now that I’m grown-up (kinda sorta, well in the eyes of the law anyway ;)) I look for the ‘kiss’ from my heavenly Abba, who delights in giving me good things. It can be a beautiful sky, a need met, the unexpected gift of a small cool ice cream shake when my throat felt like it had been oven roasted, or a turn of phrase spoken by another Christian to me, who has no idea what I’ve been talking to the Lord about all day. Kisses. I struggle some days to find the one He’s given me, but it’s always there if I look hard enough.

Got something to say?

