It’s the little (yummy) things

It’s no secret: I love peanut butter cookies. Who doesn’t? Except people with peanut allergies Only those with a severe problem. And not just peanut butter – I love almost any kind of cookie. Sugar, chocolate-chip, snickerdoodle… you name it, and I’ll probably eat it. Or I would have, until that fateful day… I was told by my doctor that I couldn’t eat grain.

At all.

As in, any.

Especially rice.

But no other grains, either.

My family is gluten-free, and we’ve dealt with that very well. My sister and mom cook up the most delicious gluten-free foods on the planet (my sister has even started a gluten-free baking blog, which I highly suggest you check out. Give some support to a 15-year-old girl with an absolutely golden baking touch!)

But this was different. If you know me, you know that I like to eat yummy things. Plain and simple. I love almost anything baked – breads, cookies, scones, rolls, muffins – so when the doctor told me I could no longer eat grains of any sort, I felt as if I’d just been handed a sledgehammer and told to go hit myself over the head with it.

Repeatedly.

On the drive home, I envisioned two things.

1. Myself nibbling on a carrot and growing bunny ears and a fluffy tail whilst waiting for Easter…

2. Myself wasting away into nothing. (Which could have had perks, but didn’t necessarily).

Fortunately, neither of these things have happened (yet. I get really tired of fruit, I can tell you). But after a while, my stomach started asking for something yummy. Something dessert-y, something I could snack on when everyone else had their Friday-night treats.

And then, I found it. It took a little modifying, but I seized the recipe with gusto and baked and re-baked until I had perfected the art of baking…

Grain-free Peanut Butter Cookies!

The recipe is ridiculously simple.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

In a bowl, mix together 2 small eggs, 1 cup of sugar (or as I use, dehydrated cane juice) and 1 cup of creamy peanut butter. You can use chunky if you like, but I find creamy mixes far better. Continue to mix, and add more sugar if the mixture isn’t the right texture.

Roll the dough into balls and place them on a baking sheet; then take a fork and flatten the top in two directions, so it looks rather like a checkerboard.

Bake for 12-18 minutes, and enjoy! I myself like them much better after they’ve cooled off, but my dad prefers them hot. Tip: Serve them with milk.

Enjoy! xoxoxo,

Mirriam

4 thoughts on “It’s the little (yummy) things

  1. Even though I’m not a huge fan of peanut butter cookies (or peanut butter, for that matter) these sound delicious.

    I’m sorry to hear you can’t eat so many things you used to– that’s no fun. But it sounds like you’ve accepted it pretty well, and your sister makes you delicious things.

    And I liked up with Beautiful People with Rapunzel (Zel) from the Rapunzel/Sleeping Beauty story I was telling you about, if you want to know a little bit more about her story. 🙂

  2. I’m gluten free/dairy free, so I know how exciting it is when you find a recipe that hits the spot and doesn’t have anything you can’t eat in it. 🙂 Have you tried almond or hazelnut flour? I use almond flour a lot in my baking these days.

Got something to say?

