Author’s Giveaway: Questions

What is your favorite literary character, and why?

This is a hard question. And I mean a really, really, really hard question. It’s nearing the point of ridiculousness. But since I have to choose… I’d have to say the Benedict Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Sherlock Holmes. For the moment, anyway. He’s very dear to my heart. Underneath his sociopathic, unfazable, pretty much insufferable exterior is a lonely little boy trying to make sense of the world. He’s so loveable even though he tries so hard not to be. Besides, any man who can stand there and say in a perfectly calm, ordinary voice “Mrs. Hudson took my skull,” has got to earn points somewhere.

Bilbo Baggins is a runner-up. 🙂 And so is the Doctor. But I had to pick one.

What Author do you aspire to be like?

I can’t possibly answer this one. The authors who influence me are so many and so varied that it would be impossible to pick one author and one author only. Unless it is possible, of course, to have one author who embodies Tolkien, Lewis, MacDonald, Austen, Lawhead, Brontë, Funke, L’Engle, and the brothers Grimm? And dare I mention Mark Gatiss and Stephen Moffat? 😉

Which Author, from any time period, would you  most like to meet? 

Oh, SERIOUSLY? Really??? Are you kidding me??? I can’t believe this is even a question. Let me think… oh, my giddy aunt. This is a real question. I AM BEING PUT TO THE TEST.

….

………………

………………………………………..

 Seriously, I can’t. I would love to have a large cup of tea with C. S. Lewis. I think he has to be my choice. It would be so much fun to talk with him about anything and everything.

12 thoughts on “Author’s Giveaway: Questions

  1. So have you read the sherlock holmes stories? =) They are my absolute favorite detective mysteries and SH is the best detective character EVER, hands down, in my opinion. 😉 I do like the latest incarnation of him on television; Benedict Cumberbatch is quite obviously a phenomenal actor, but really, to me, nothing quite compares to the books. (there’s always something to find fault with in every adaption of Sir A.C.D’s stories XD but I find just a few minor things wrong with this show. Which is pretty awesome. =D )

    • HAHA, I actually meant to point out that it’s Benedict Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Sherlock who’s my favorite XD Of course Ron Howard was GREAT as SHerlock, back in the days =D

  2. Sherlock Holmes is incredible! I’ve read both Sherlock Holmes complete volumes, and he is a great character. But you forgot Gandalf in your list, among other characters, and authors too for that matter. There are just too many to choose from…

  3. Haha, I actually like every single version of Sherlock Holmes’ character I’ve ever read or seen. Even though they’re so different! 🙂 I take it you haven’t seen Robert Downey Jr.’s version? The second one was even better than the first. But I love the BBC one! Can’t wait for season two! 🙂

  4. Hey Mirriam, first off, loved reading this post. Second, I wrote a post on my blog based off of your “Real You, Real Me” post (I also gave you credit for the idea). Just thought you’d like to know that you inspired me to write that post. 🙂

    -Sofie

Got something to say?

