Snippets of Stories

 I thought I’d share some snippets from my various literary endeavors with you, just for fun. These are a few of my favorite passages. Enjoy!

She looked up into the face of a boy her age, or a little older. He had straight black hair and gray eyes. His face was a laughing sneer.  “Why did you do that?” asked Emmaline, too surprised to be angry or upset.  “Because picking on anyone bigger than a tree sprite is too much of a challenge for Horus,” said Tam’s voice. She felt his hands picking her up off the ground, and her plate – all in one, solid piece – was placed in her hands.    Horus glared fiercely at Tam, but was obviously too frightened to do anything else. Tam smacked him hard upside the head. “Ow!” the boy said, trying to dodge another blow.  “Leave Emmaline alone, or so help me I’ll hit you so hard that when you wake up the world’ll be over,” Tam threatened, his hand raised.  “All right! All right!” Horus growled, clutching his aching head.   “Thanks, Tam,” said Emmaline sheepishly as Horus dumped his plate in the sink and fled from the kitchen.  He shrugged. “Don’t worry about him,” he said, jerking his thumb toward the doors Horus  had vanished through. “If he ever bothers you, just tell me.”  “And you’ll hit him so hard, when he wakes up the world will be over?” she grinned, her admiration for Tam having shot up several feet in the past few seconds.  He grinned and nudged her shoulder. “Yeah.”

 –  Tales of Matchwick Manor

The hearts of men are like glass; transparent and easily broken.” – Faren, The Shadows Fall

“My crown does not define who I am; it only gives me a title.” – Artemia, Wolfsguard

“Patience is a virtue, Thalion.” “It isn’t one of my more prominent ones.” “True; but you have so few that I’d work on cultivating it anyhow.” – Thalion and Hezikiah, Wolfsguard

“However!” he thundered, “Impractical or irresponsible use of glamour is strictly prohibited! If a student goes missing and a toad appears, or it begins snowing in the dining hall, or a canary begins howling, someone will be thoroughly punished.” He scanned the classroom with a thunderous scowl, punctuating his last two words.   – Bernus Grimblewhite, Matchwick Manor

“My enemies think before they act; that’s theier mistake. I act before they’ve finished thinking.” – Marcus, The Shadows Lengthen

“It’s amazing, the feats one can accomplish when one is bored.” – Hezekiah, Wolfsguard

“The enemy of my enemy is the next one to die.” – Morgan, Wolfsguard

“That must have wounded him deeply.” “Oh, no. His heart isn’t one of his more vulnerable spots.” Hezekiah on Morgan, Wolfsguard

“Yes, we know, he was brave and caring and loved his country and his king, etcetera, etcetera, and so on and so forth.” Morgan on Reinhart, Wolfsguard

Emmaline saw the glass front of the shop approaching and stopped several feet before she hit it. Tam, however, called “Thanks” to a customer just leaving the shop and cart wheeled through the open door in a feat of gymnastic agility.            He righted himself and grinned, his face flushed, and the proprietor, a pretty, round girl with blond ringlets and permanently rosy cheeks. “Hi.”  “Hi.” She grinned and immediately began making his favorite; namely, the largest cone available, chocolate-dipped and sprinkle-covered, with one scoop of every flavor (except licorice).  Emmaline walked in and glared at Tam. “You cheated,” she scolded, fishing money from her pockets. She stopped, patted them again, and then a slow, mischievous smile spread over her face. “Oh, dear,” she said. “I seem to have forgotten my wallet.”  Tam leaned his elbows on the counter, buried his face in his hands, and sighed. “Emma, Emma, Emma.”   “I’m sorry,” she said, stifling a giggle. “I’ll pay next time; I promise.”  He lifted his head, and she saw he was smiling. He gave her a wink and said “Don’t worry about it, princess. I’ve got it.”  “My hero,” she responded, hugging him from behind.  “Please,” he said loftily, “no personal contact between princess and hero until after the wedding.”The girl behind the counter stopped in the middle of scooping pink strawberry ice cream to stare at them both. “You’re getting married?”  “What? No!” cried Tam and Emmaline at the same time, shooting her incredulous looks.  “Okay.” She resumed scooping. “Just checking.” 

Matchwick Manor

“Hez, you addlepated trickster, how are you?” “Over-worked and under-appreciated; so kind of you to inquire,” was the glum reply, accompanied by a sigh that seemed to come from the depths of his soul.  ~ Hezekiah, Wolfsguard

She was not sure if he was dead or not, but she did not have anything long enough to poke him with from a safe distance. – Blackmore’s Chaville

“I’m not rude. I just was not taught to pretend politeness to people I can’t stand.” – Sir Avalon Blackmoor, Blackmoor’s Chaville

You’d be surprised what you can live through,” he said quietly. The story that lingered behind his haunted eyes sent a chill up her bare arms.  – Blackmoor’s Chaville

“He’s the kind of person who would defend himself from vultures by playing dead.” – Alec, The Shadows Lengthen

“Good morning,” he greeted the young knight with forced heartiness. Turning to his advisor, he muttered under his breath “I see your assassins failed again.” – Wolfsguard

 

19 thoughts on “Snippets of Stories

  1. okay, so I’m a terrrrrible commenter, but I love your posts, girl! and I’m so sorry I NEVER responded to your fb post. gah! so crazy busy. also, send me Tales of Matchwick Manor! Or Wolfsgard! pleeeeeease?! 😉

  2. OH! YES YES YES! I love them all!

    What Marcus said is funny; Tam and Emmaline seem like a fun pair; Hezekiah is hilarious; and I love Sir Avalon’s comment on pretending politeness! I like all the rest, too!

    The best of the best, eh? Awesome 🙂

  3. *sighs dreamily and imagines meeting your characters* Don’t worry. I’ll hide my red pen so they don’t see it right away. 😉 Seriously! These look awesome. Maybe I’ll do a post like this on my website… 🙂

    • *grins excitedly* EEEEPPP! =D Seriously, none of these are finished except The Shadows Fall. 😄 Oh; DRAT! I forgot ArchAngel! Oh well, I’ll have to do some more snippets. ^.^ You MUST do a post like this; it would be so cool!!

  4. *diez* Those were awesome… Love ’em all, especially:

    “My enemies think before they act; that’s theier mistake. I act before they’ve finished thinking.” – Marcus, The Shadows Lengthen
    “It’s amazing, the feats one can accomplish when one is bored.” – Hezekiah, Wolfsguard
    “The enemy of my enemy is the next one to die.” – Morgan, Wolfsguard

    And how you brought in failed assassins quote! LOL 😀

  5. Ah, Hezekiah! He makes me laugh. “Over-worked and under-appreciated” may just be my favourite of this set of quotes, but all of Hezekiah’s lines are great. I’ve thought Tam sounded fantastic since I first saw him in one of your posts, and now I’m curious about “Matchwick Manor.” Is it a completed story, or in the works?

    • Apparently Hezekiah is a hit! *laughs* Which I find hilarious since I haven’t actually brought him into the story yet!!
      I love Tam, too 🙂 Matchwick Manor is still in the works; I think I have between 20-30 pages of it completed at the moment.
      I”ve made the mistake of getting involved in too many stories at once, and must narrow it down or else they’ll never get done!! 🙂

Got something to say?

