Sir Avalon Blackmoor

“High waving heather ‘neath stormy blasts bending
Midnight and moonlight and bright shining stars
Darkness and glory rejoicingly blending
Earth rising to heaven and heaven descending
Man’s spirit away from its drear dungeon sending
Bursting the fetters and breaking the bars.”
Emily Bronte, High Waving Heather

 

As I sat on my bed earlier today, with the breeze blowing through the window in a very spring-like way, with Tess of D’Urbervilles propped up in my lap, and a brand-new copy of Emily Bronte’s poems next to me, a name popped into my head out of nowhere.

The name was Sir Avalon Blackmoor.

And I knew he belonged in one story and one story only; and that was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I’ve been wanting to write a twist on that fairytale for some time, but never got around to it. I seemed to lack the inspiration I needed to pick up a pen and write the first words. However, today I was provided with all the inspiration I needed to begin.

I don’t think it will be exactly Beauty and the Beast – but it involves a gypsy, an orphan,  a dark past, a huge crumbling manor in windswept hills of heath… and of course, Sir Avalon Blackmoor himself.

I can’t wait.

14 thoughts on “Sir Avalon Blackmoor

  1. Yay for Beauty and the Beast. 🙂 There can never be too many versions (at least from my perspective), and your description has a wonderfully Gothic feel. I love it when flashes of inspiration come out of the blue like that.

    • That is a HIGH compliment, and I feel thrilled! I agree; there can never be too many fairy-tale rewrites. My most recent love is “Entwined” by Heather Dixon; It has its faults, but was so superb I had to read it into the wee hours of the morning to finish, and now I’m reading it aloud to my sister!

  2. Wow. Just wow. I can’t believe how many good ideas you seem to be able to come up with, Mirriam! Good luck on that! 🙂 And Sir Avalon Blackmoor is a THOROUGHLY awesome name!!

    • Eeeep! ((hug)) THANKYOUTHANKYOU! Feel free to throw me ideas, you know. =D Email me back and I’ll shoot you the synopsis as far as I have it!! =D

  3. Oooh, that’s an intriguing name. I love it! A Beauty and the Beast story sounds fun, as well. Personally, I think I’d probably do a Sleeping Beauty, for a fairy-tale retelling, but Beauty and the Beast does have many ways you could rewrite it, as well.

Got something to say?

