A New Song and Aspirations

1 Sing joyfully to the LORD, you righteous;
   it is fitting for the upright to praise him.
2 Praise the LORD with the harp;
   make music to him on the ten-stringed lyre.
3 Sing to him a new song;
   play skillfully, and shout for joy.

 4 For the word of the LORD is right and true;
   he is faithful in all he does.
5 The LORD loves righteousness and justice;
   the earth is full of his unfailing love.

 6 By the word of the LORD the heavens were made,
   their starry host by the breath of his mouth.
7 He gathers the waters of the sea into jars[a];
   he puts the deep into storehouses.
8 Let all the earth fear the LORD;
   let all the people of the world revere him.
9 For he spoke, and it came to be;
   he commanded, and it stood firm.

 10 The LORD foils the plans of the nations;
   he thwarts the purposes of the peoples.
11 But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever,
   the purposes of his heart through all generations.

 12 Blessed is the nation whose God is the LORD,
   the people he chose for his inheritance.
13 From heaven the LORD looks down
   and sees all mankind;
14 from his dwelling place he watches
   all who live on earth—
15 he who forms the hearts of all,
   who considers everything they do.

 16 No king is saved by the size of his army;
   no warrior escapes by his great strength.
17 A horse is a vain hope for deliverance;
   despite all its great strength it cannot save.
18 But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him,
   on those whose hope is in his unfailing love,
19 to deliver them from death
   and keep them alive in famine.

 20 We wait in hope for the LORD;
   he is our help and our shield.
21 In him our hearts rejoice,
   for we trust in his holy name.
22 May your unfailing love be with us, LORD,
   even as we put our hope in you.

~ Psalm 33

 

We all have our own songs, and each one of ours is different. Tunes change, of course, from year to year; sometimes even from day to day. What might be an upbeat techno-pop sound one day could be a sweeping, dramatic score the next. What’s really important, though, is that in this coming year, no matter what we sing, we sing it for God. Whether it sounds more like  Owl City or Enya, Trans-Siberian Orchestra or Mozart, make sure the lyrics of your life are a song of praise and wonder. I know my song for about half of this past year was something akin to John Williams’ “Imperial March,” while the other half scarily resembled Owl City’s “Hot Air Balloon” or Enya’s “Wild Child.” Mix it all together and you get The March of the Wild Hot Air Balloon, which, if you ask me, is pretty cool (though it could use a little less marching). It has been one of the most exciting, adventurous years of my life – and I’m looking forward to what 2012 will bring. We have a tradition (yes, it’s a tradition, though the rest of my family seems to forget that we’ve done it every year for the past three or four years): we watch The Time Machine on New Year’s Eve. One thing we learn from it is that you can’t go back and change the past. (I tried to sell Mom in the idea of ‘a fixed point in time,’ since I learned from the best, but I don’t think she bought it). We can’t change the past; but we can change the future.

You’ll notice this time of year a peculiar phenomenon that occurs at no other time: the strange things known as New Year’s Resolutions. It sounds frightening, doesn’t it? Martial, somehow; something blared over Big Brother speakers. (Or is this just me?) I don’t particularly like these ‘resolutions.’ It’s as if I’m putting myself in a box. “I Can Only Resolve Things On January the First And The Rest of the Year I Just Have To Keep Plugging Away Until New Year’s Rolls Around Again. Repeat.”

I’m not fond of ‘NYRs,’ but I AM fond of Aspirations. Here are a few of the things I aspire to do in 2012:

• Graduate from High School

• Get my Driver’s License

• Read The Confessions of St. Augustine, The Travels of Marco Polo, and some more of the ‘heavier’ books I’ve been wanting to read.

• Grow in my relationship with God

• Continue writing (duh!) drawing (double duh!) and blogging (♥)

• Branch out, try new things, and get outside more.

• Meet 1 person who will become a good friend

• Finish piano lessons

• Get The Elmeria Chronicles: The Shadows Fall published

• Finish Tales of Anen: Wolfsguard

• Edit and re-write ArchAngel

They aren’t exactly delusions of grandeur, but nonetheless, they’re what I would like in the coming year. Some things I just want to get over with, other things I look forward to – for instance, eighteen has always been the year I wanted to fall in love, though whether or not that will happen isn’t up to me. 🙂 But a new year is a new year, and anything can happen!

So in the coming year, keep looking ‘further up and further in,’ and remember to sing your song at the top of your lungs!

Credendo Vides,

~ Mirriam

 

4 thoughts on “A New Song and Aspirations

  1. I love this, Mirriam. It’s really beautifully written. I’m not a big fan of NYR either, so I just decided that this year will be better than last year. I’ll make it better, I’ll try harder, I’ll live fuller. Of course, I have aspirations– edit my NaNo10 to make it even better, write tons, get better at math, and several more. But my biggest aspiration is to make 2012 better than 2011, even though 2011 was a pretty good year. 2012? It’ll be a great year. And I’ll be singing my song as loud and hard as I can. Happy New Year’s, Mirriam, I hope it was as wonderful for you as it was for me.

    -Sofie

  2. Ack! Alice! Girly, I L-O-V-E-D this post! I hope that your coming year is beyond amazing and that is surpasses all of your hopes and expectations.

    Love you!!!
    Cora

    P.S. Talk to you on Saturday. Yippeee!

  3. The March of the Wild Hot Air Balloon
    …. hilARIOUS! (That honestly nearly made me fall out of my seat!!!)
    …. and this… is my best friend. *giggle*
    Saranghae! Hope you feel better, sis!
    – Hannah

Got something to say?

