Why hello, new year!

It’s odd, isn’t it? That sensation of the impending new year. Particularly 2012, considering so many horror/adventure movies are built around it – as the end of the universe. Of course, I don’t believe it’s the end of the universe, but it’s still something to think about.

A lot of things happened this year, and it’s strange to look back and review them. Just a few of the highlights and important things that occured were…

•  I completed and began the official editing process for The Shadows Fall

• I completed NaNoWriMo and finished my novel “ArchAngel” (Yes, Hannah, I know – I still need to write the prologue!)

• I began commissioning artwork, and that business has been surprisingly successful!

•  I became the Character Designer for Tadd Mencer’s “Deadland Chronicles”

• I discovered, and fell in love with, Doctor Who and Sherlock BBC; and thus were opened to me two of the greatest characters ever invented and acted out.

• I met so many wonderful friends thanks to my writing group, “The League of Extraordinary People.” Even though I haven’t actually met them,  they’re some of the best people I know.

• I fell in love with writing. I’ve been writing, and liking it, since I was thirteen. But this year was the turning point; the year I seriously, genuinely, unabashedly fell head-over-heels with the craft. I’m afraid there’s no turning back, now.

• I’ve jetskiied and gone tubing with my fellow dragon-rider, Emily, for the first time in my life.

• I’ve gotten together several times with my crazy, crazy friend Hannah, and we’ve had a blast ^_^

• I got to see my kindred spirit Keaghan for the second time in my life! I love you, hirpling shur’tugal!

• I’ve bought more books this year than any other year of my life. (Rather momentous, no?)

• I’ve discovered new favorite musical artists – Lenka, A Fine Frenzy, One Direction, Heather Dale, etc.

• I’ve learned a lot about God and spirituality; I’ve gone through some difficult times and still am prone to dark moods, but with His help I’m working through them.

It’s always odd to watch how your looks change over the years. My face got a slightly ‘older’ look and lost some of its little-girlishness; here is Myself over the past three years.

2009

2010

(I can’t get over how much I look like my mom in this picture)

And various ‘me’s’ from the year 2011. =)

(The Terminators. They are dying in Myrtle Beach.)

(Left to right: My sister Marriah, myself, my nephew Silas and his mom/my sister Maralie)

(The same aformentioned sisters at Stone Mountain)

And now, my most recent ‘picture.’

This has been a good year; one of the best of my life, despite some rough seas. God has blessed my life so abundantly, opening up new doors and new opportunities, giving me new friends and new ideas. I can’t wait to see what the next year brings!

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

20 thoughts on “Why hello, new year!

  1. I’m sure most people find me annoying, especially when I talk a lot, so I’ll try not to say much so I don’t bore and/or annoy you as well…

    I noticed you look a good but different and older as well. 🙂
    The forest portrait is quite interesting though.
    I’m still looking forward to reading your books! 😀
    I may have told you, it had occurred to me that what if something could happen on 12/21/12 that would mean the end of the world as we know it (EMP or solar activity knocks out electricity everywhere, a global economic collapse, etc.) and would be the end quite literally for some…not that I’m counting on it, but something like that (the latter, especially) is pubs to happen sometime…
    Happy New Year, Mirriam!

    • Aw, thank you, Max. I can’t wait for you to read my books! *squeal* If you like, you can read ArchAngel, though you would have to be prepared for an unedited first draft. 🙂 I’m thinking global economic collapse is eminent anyway; and who knows? It might happen on 12/12/12. =D

  2. Cool post! 🙂 Sherlock BBC was also on my list. I like your photos too, and I remember the Maid Marian photoshoot/event! 2009 doesn’t seem that long ago. *sigh*

  3. I suddenly have REM singing “Its the end of the world as we know it” stuck in my head. And you, my dear, are gorgeous. You look a lot like your oldest sister, no?
    ALL the best to you in 2012. Holy cow, I can’t believe you’ll be 18.

    Oh, and way to go in Myrtle Beach there Sarah Connor.

  4. Love you, Mirriam. 🙂 I’m so glad for all the things you accomplished this year. Keep pushing forward!

    The future will be confusing, but let’s face it head-on, hearts pounding, muscles tensed, lips opened in the battle cry of Heaven, and utterly, completely ready for an adventure.

    See you in the New Year.

    ~Keaghan

  5. Coincidentally, I first saw Sherlock and Dr. Who this year as well, and quite enjoyed both–in large part because of the characters. 🙂 Which season of Dr. Who did you start with?

    I hope that 2012 is an even better year for you, filled with blessing and new growth!

      • I started with season 1 also (rather than go back to the really old shows), and I just hit the beginning of season 3. It was quite a shock to lose Rose!

        I saw that post the other day, but I only had a minute to read, so I made a note to come back to it when I had time to read it more thoroughly and comment. I’m honored that you thought of me, and I’m heading back to it now. 🙂

        Oh, one more thing, do you have an option for RSS subscription? I see the email subscription link, but I’ve realized that subscribing to blogs via email doesn’t work that well for me–they tend to get lost in my inbox. 🙂

        • I KNOW; the episode where Rose and the Doctor are seperated was so heart-wrenching! I cried. A lot. But Donna, Martha, and Amy are awesome – I Even go so far as to say Amy is my favorite companion. =)

  6. Aw! Mirriam! (tackles you in bear hug)
    I’m so glad you’re my friend – I’ve loved watching you grow up since 2009! 2011 HAS been awesome – and yes, yes, I AM crazy. >..😀

  7. Ok, so the first picture looks just like one of my friends. The second picture . . . looks like I did a couple years ago 🙂 And with long hair. In a forest. Mm-hm. Definitely like me. Maybe we’re long-lost relatives (or at least remotely descended from the same Celtic ancestors!) And then the last one looks like Nancy Drew! 🙂

    Glad 2011 has been a good year for you (for me as well!) and I hope 2012 will be even better!!! 🙂 Happy New Year!

Got something to say?

