A Long Expected Trailer

Last night, I waited up for a very special reason.

At 7 pm, PST, the trailer for “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” was released. Which means that I had to wait until at 10 pm EST before I could see it. I waited, even my mother scoured the internet looking for the place it would first appear. The trailer was nine minutes late being released. The tension built… and built… and built… and then, we FOUND IT! It was unbelieveable.

I’ve been waiting for this to happen ever since I first read the book when I was twelve. Bilbo has been a constant, steady friend to me; and I feel I know all the dwarves, elves, hobbits and wizards personally. Therefore to see them brought to life by actors I know and love is an out-of-body experience. It was one of the few times in my life when I literally couldn’t breathe. Some people might say that’s ridiculous, or deem it immature for reasons unbeknownst to me.

But these are more than characters, these are friends that I now get to see with my eyes, to hear the Shire music with new ears, to see the hobbit Bilbo Baggins brought to life by John Watson, to see the dwarf Thorin Oakenshield brought to life by Guy of Gisbourne, to see Fili brought to life by Lancelot… unless you feel the same way I do, it’s impossible to describe.

And all I can do for a year is sit and wait, and hope that Peter Jackson and the host of actors and CGI people and musicians and designers bring Tolkien’s “The Hobbit” to life exactly the way he would have wanted it.

I have the feeling this story could be even better than I imagine.

I have the feeling it’s going to be… something else.

7 thoughts on “A Long Expected Trailer

  1. SO. EXCITED.
    Yes, it will be something else–it will be epic.
    Oh, and just for the record, Thorin is being brought to life by none other than MR. THORNTON. ^o^
    How, exactly, do we plan on waiting another whole year?

  2. Not the “man in black” Guy of Gisbourne, right?

    It sounds cool, if a bit messed up with the storyline being altered (Legolas in it or whatever)…I’m going to watch it when I get a chance.

Got something to say?

