NaNo Survey: ArchAngel!!! (I love these thing)

NOTE: During the month of November, most of my time is spent on the computer thanks to NaNo. Therefore, during December, my computer activity will be limited to writing-artwork-book tour- oriented things. (Sounds like a lot, I know, but that’s the bare minimum of my online necessities). If you want to be involved in my Christmas art-frenzy, then take a look at this link HERE and contact me. Have a holly, jolly Christmas everyone! I love you!

1. What’s your word count?

50, 744 sans epilogue!

2. How long until you finish?
NOW!  Midnight; the final stroke,  the Cindrella Hour.

At eleven thirty two, my Mom waltzes downstairs and says she needs to check her email. I asked how long she’d be. She said “Oh, I won’t take more than ten minutes.” Apparently my expression was priceless.

Yes. She was only kidding.

Ha ha, Mom. 😄

3. If you have finished, how long did it take you?
The first of the month. One month. Thirty days.

4. Do you have an outline?
Ummmm… yes? O.o

5. Do you have a plot?
Fortunately, YES! Unlike the last two years…

6. How many words do you typically write a day?
About 2,000. Typically.

7. What was your greatest word count in one day?
YIPE; Let me look – probably the first day. I had nearly seven thousand words written by the end of it!

8. What was your least impressive word count in one day?
None. *sheepish glance*

9. What inspired you to write?
This particular book? Oh; many things. My brain created a conglommeration that I just had to put down on paper.

10. Does your novel/story have a theme song?

Captain Jack’s theme from the Dr. Who soundtrack by Murray Gold ^.^

11. Assign each of your major characters a theme song.
OH, goodness…

Simon: Lions by LIGHTS

Reese:

Gabriel:

12. Which character is most like you?
Most definitely Hannah. Curious, nosy, forceful, laid back. ^.^

13. Which character would you most likely be friends with?
Simon, definitely Simon. 🙂

14. Do you have a Gary-Stu or Mary Sue character?
Nawwww, not in this one. 😄 I try to avoid those.

15. Who is your favorite character in your novel?
Simon. (Can you tell he’s my favorite?) And Jasper. I know he’s a villain, but he’s so much fun to write.

16. Have your characters ever done something completely unexpected?
Oh, you mean like Simon and Reese taking over the story and becoming main characters even though it was supposed to focus on Gabriel? Yeah. And Jasper wasn’t even walking around in my subconscious until halfway through the month. He was inspired by BBC Sherlock’s Moriarty, and I couldn’t get him out of my head!!

17. Have you based any of your novel directly on personal experiences?

HAHAHAHAHHHHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANo.

18. Do you believe in plot bunnies?
Are you kidding? This book is made UP of plot bunnies. Lots of them. Fluffy ones.

19. Is there magic in your novel/story?
No, not in this particular one. Weird, huh?

20. Are any holidays celebrated in your novel/story?
Yes; Christmas, at the very end. =D

21. Does anyone die?
*hahahaha* I can’t tell you! That would ruin surprises! Well, okay… yes. But I won’t say who.

22. How many cups of coffee/tea have you consumed during your writing experience?
I was supposed to count?!

23. What is the latest you have stayed up writing?
Tonight. Midnight. Yup.

24. What is the best line?
Oh, dear… probably a tie between this:

            “If you’re looking for a pat on the back, you won’t get it,” said Gary, obviously disgruntled. He rotated his broad shoulders inside his Carhartt jacket. Simon looked down at the pavement, still smiling, as if secretly amused at something. “You’re gonna get yourself killed one of these days,” the police chief added again, looking at the younger man.

            “Only if you promise to come to the funeral.”

            “Sure, I’ll come. I may just lower the coffin myself.”

            “I knew I could count on you, Gary.”

or…

            “That’s right; just walk out the door. You know how it works. The car is parked right out front. Get into the back seat.”

            “What”-

            “Just walk, thanks. I told you; this isn’t Simon Says. This is I say. The Angel of Death. This is my time to play.”

or…

He stood up, arching his back to release the cramp that was plaguing it. Bending over as much as he had over the last hour took its toll. “Any questions before round two?” He looked at Reese, an expression of deep sympathy on his face. “No, pretty one?” He turned on his heel and faced Simon. “How about you?”

             “Why do you do it?” he asked, his voice calm, quiet.

            Jasper raised an eyebrow. “What ‘it’ do you refer to?”

            “This. All the killing and death and pain. What motivation do you have?”

            Jasper’s expression melted into one of apologetic remorse before splitting back into a bright smile.  “Sometimes, my friend, ‘for the ‘lol’s’ is a perfectly valid reason.”

25. What is the worst line?
I don’t care to look for it… I’d run over too many others. This is a first draft; and it’s NaNo.

26. Have you dreamed about your novel/story or its characters?
I don’t think I have yet, actually.

27. Does your novel rely heavily on allegory?
No, but it has an underlying Christian theme. =)

28. Summarize your novel/story in under fifteen words.
When Gabriel disappears, his best friend and his girlfriend uncover a plot to destroy the country.

29. Do you love all your characters?
To quote another blogger, ‘They all have little places in my heart with their names neatly labeled in bold print.’

30. Have you done something sadistic or cruel to your characters specifically to increase your word count?
Yyyyeeeessss, yes, I have. Although don’t blame me; technically Jasper did it.

31. What was the last thing your main character ate?
Well, at the moment Jasper is eating an ice cream cone. Even though it’s the middle of winter, and he’s patiently waiting to assassinate someone.

32. Describe your main character in three words.
Sensitive. Private. Conflicted.

33. What would your antagonist dress up as for Halloween?
HAHA; himself. Maybe Dracula.

34. Does anyone in your story go to a place of worship?
Reese is a Christian who regularly goes to church; Simon has been to church a few times.

35. How many romantic relationships take place in your novel/story?
Two-ish. One couple gets married, the other gets engaged. 🙂

36. Are there any explosions in your novel/story?
HA! Yes. More ‘splosions! More ‘splosions!

37. Is there an apocalypse in your novel/story?
Naw; but a near-one is near-averted!

38. Does your novel take place in a post-apocalyptic world?
Naw.

39. Are there zombies, vampires or werewolves in your novel/story?
HA; no.

40. Are there witches, wizards or mythological creatures/figures in your novel/story?
Sssaaadddly, not in this one. 😄 This is my first novel without them… Whoa!

41. Is anyone reincarnated?
I beg your pardon? No. Absolutely not.

42. Is anyone physically ailed?
Yes, that’s sort of a… large part of the book.

43. Is anyone mentally ill?
Um… in a way. Drug-induced. Yes.

44. Does anyone have swine flu?
Teehee! No.

45. Who has pets in your novel and what are they?
Gabriel has a Jack Russel Terrier named Toby 🙂

46. Are there angels, demons, or any religious references/figures in your novel/story?
Lots of references. I mean, look at the title! This comes about because the big baddie, Seth Nicholson, names all the people in his program after religious figures.

He has his Angels; unsuspecting assassins of whom the ArchAngel is the best.

He has Lucifer, who is sent to kill the Angels once they’re no longer useful, and the Angel of Death who performs other various odd, unpleasant jobs.

Another mysterious guy along the lines of ‘Mr. Big’ calls his project the ‘Jericho Project.’

47. How about political figures?
Yes; in fact, the pivotal point of the plot revolves around a congressman named Arthur Brumley

48. Is there incessant drinking?
No.

49. Are there board games? If so, which ones?
Mmm, no, the characters are a little too busy to play board games. Jasper does, however, mention Stratego.

50. Are there any dream sequences?
Yes, Simon has a nightmare about his father.

51. Is there humor?
Yes, a lot of dry humor and sarcasm. And Jasper. He’s a kick.

52. Is there tragedy?
Yes, yes. Indeed.

53. Does anyone have a temper tantrum?
Reese has a couple… erm, breakdowns, yes. And I suppose you could say Violet shooting Ethan is a temper tantrum.

54. How many characters end up single at the end of your novel/story?
Nobody important. *cough*

55. Is anyone in your novel/story adopted?
Nopers!

56. Does anyone in your novel/story wear glasses?
No, but *someone* wears tech-advanced contact lenses. I’m not saying who.

57. Has your novel/story provided insight about your life?
Mmmmm… not MINE, no.

58. Your personality?
Yes, in a way, it has.

59. Has your novel/story inspired anyone?
Few have read much of what I’ve written so far.

60. How many people have asked to read your novel/story?
A few; probably about five. I’m still very protective over it, especially since it’s the first draft and simply terrible. 🙂

61. Have you drawn any of your characters?
Yes; I drew Simon and a younger version of Reese. ^.^

62. Has anyone drawn your characters for you?
Noooo =D

63. Does anyone vomit in your novel/story?
No; I don’t tend to write things such as vomiting or burping or… any other particular, um, ‘personal’ activities.

64. Does anyone bleed in your novel/story?

HA; yes. Yes indeedie. It’s an ACTION book, guys, come on!

65. Do any of your characters watch TV?
Yes, Reese likes to watch television, and Simon does sometimes too (though he calls it ‘telly.’)

66. What size shoe does your main character wear?
I honestly haven’t thought of it.

67. Do any of the characters in your novel/story use a computer?
Yes. Technology is a large part of the novel.

68. How would you react if your novel/story was erased entirely?
I’ve got it saved in email, but still. I’d die.

69. Did you cry at killing off any of your characters?
I ALMOST killed one, but… couldn’t bring myself to. Even though he’s a double agent. And I’m no tsure where his loyalties lie. And a few villains get their comeuppance.

70. Did you cheer when killing off one of your characters?
YES! SETH! HA! DIIIIEEE! (He’s a villain. Cheering is okay).

71. What advice would you give to a fellow writer?
Read. Read and gain inspiration from the world around you. Let things soak in, mull them over, ponder every possibility and every angle of what you write.

72. Describe your ending in three words.
Oh dear. How about ‘to be continued…’? *wink*

73. Are there any love triangles, squares, hexagons, etc.?
Rather. Simon loves Reese who is Gabriel’s girlfriend.

74. On a scale of 1-10 (1 being the least stressful, 10 being the most) how does your stress rank?
Right now? Right now at this very moment? Oh… six.

75. Was it worth it?
Worth it? Yes! It’s always worth it!!!!!!

Mood:

I DID IT!!!!!!

Your Average Per Day
1,691
Words Written Today
5,119
Target Word Count
50,000
Target Average Words Per Day
1,667
Total Words Written
50,744
Words Remaining
0
Current Day
30
Days Remaining
1
At This Rate You Will Finish On
November 30, 2011
Words Per Day To Finish On Time
0
7 thoughts on “NaNo Survey: ArchAngel!!! (I love these thing)

  1. Oh dear, now when I read your book someday, I’ll think of Jasper as the BBC Moriarty . . . “For the lol’s”! That’s hilarious!

    There’s a Captain Jack in Dr Who? What? I thought he lived in the Caribbean! 😉

    Ethan got shot!? Oh, sorry, for as second I thought that was MY Ethan 🙂

    Oh, and I’m another person asking to read your novel 😉

    Congratulations!!! 😀

    Best,
    D.S. Dahnim / Celtic Forest Dweller

  2. “Most definitely Hannah. Curious, nosy, forceful, laid back. ^.^”
    BWAHAHA! … that sounds like me. 😛

    MEEP! Congrats!!! Good going! Looking forward to the end after the end. ^_^ Send it to me as soon as you can!

    … *still loves Ethan* >.<

  3. Congrats on winning! Though I saw on your page that you didn’t validate it… Any particular reason? Because if you go to Tech Help in the forums, you can still get it validated, if you want.

    I won as well, which makes me very happy– second year. I got my winner’s shirt today, and it is PRETTY. =D

      • I hope you get it validated! The validation thingy could be found if you clicked “Edit Novel Info” on your page. Under where the word count thingy, there was a red button saying “I am ready to validate my novel” and you clicked that and stuff. But anyways, I hope it gets validated!

        My friend and I are going to have a “We both survived, and won NaNoWriMo” party. It will probably include cake.

        And your page snows now! That is lovely. Happy holidays, Mirriam. 🙂

Got something to say?

