A Hatfull o’ Tricks

Well, I don’t actually have a literal hat full of tricks. I have hats, yes. I like hats. And I have tricks. But one does not fit inside the other. Except metaphorically. So I’m being metaphorical.

I just thought you should know.

Anyhow, one of my favorite parts of NaNoWriMo is seeing what everyone else uses to survive the month. And I thought ‘hey, if I like it so much, then other people probably do too, right?’ Correct me if I’m wrong (or don’t. You can save your fingers the extra typing and simply say nothing; it’s nicer and uses less energy).

Here we have my ‘hatfull of tricks.’

1. Music. Lots of music. My current favorite songs include Selena Gomez, One Direction, He is We, Heather Dale, Josh Groban, Demi Lovato, Michelle Branch, Gym Class Heroes, Owl City, Hunter Hayes, and David Garrett. As well as awesome soundtracks and groups like X-ray Dog, Immediate Music, Two Steps from Hell (awful name, but they have the BEST writing music I’ve ever come across) and Epic Score.

2. The NaNo help forums. Seriously, all the ideas, quotes, ‘un-stuck’ tips, and advice is invaluable.

3. Same genre books and movies. Some things that have inspired this novel are: The Manchurian Candidate, Eagle Eye, Blink, Thr3e,  Paycheck, and Sherlock.

4. Blogs. Seriously, blogs about other people who are writers and NaNo-ers are invaluable. Blogg-ING is especially helpful, too – all the feedback really helps.

5. Tea, coffee, and sisters. If you don’t have a sister, I’m sorry. You can have tea and coffee. But my sister has been awesome this whole time, giving me ideas and inspiring me and encouraging me when I feel ‘bleh.’ My mom has been awesomely supportive, too – without these two people, my word count would NOT be 37,000. Thank you 🙂

Mood: Mad Scientist!

What about you? Do you have any sneaky things that help you get through NaNoWriMo? If so, what are they? I’d love to hear them!

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

9 thoughts on “A Hatfull o’ Tricks

  1. Hm, interesting stuff. I still think its cool we like a lot of the same music artists and genres, as well as some other stuff.
    I bet you’ll like to hear about something I did today…here’s a clue: i was at our friends’ house and they showed me obe if their favorite episodes of a TV show you like. Any guesses as to what it was?
    [drumroll, please]
    I watched The Weeping Angels (I think that’s what it was called); an episode of a season (I forget which) of Doctor Who, with the Tenth Doctor! 😀 Several of my friends, including you and “V” (http://www.flickr.com/photos/alteredandtorn/) – she’s also an artist and is doing NaNoWriMo – have told me they thought the show is good and I should watch it, but I’d never gotten the chance until now. I though the plot was pretty interesting and I like the Tenth Doctor (I have yet to see any of the others though; I’ll have to see what they’re like). Anyway, enough of my rambling; I just thought you might like I hear that since you really like the show, just like Robin Hood (but I already watched that series).

    • YAY! The Weeping Angels are probably my favorite – no, they ARE my favorite, I’m pretty sure – monster in the series. They’re so original!!! I love the Tenth Doctor =) That episode you watched would have been “Blink,” which is in the third episode. ROBIN HOOD! Yeaaahhh!!!

    • Oh; and as for music – awesome!!! =D My friend Ithilwen’s older brother actually likes Taylor Swift. Therefore I like him. ^_^

  2. I was feeling utterly uninspired and useless the other NaNo day, and so I used the diabolical and time-honored cheating device of… quotes. I wrote a chapter in which I quoted two long sections of Shakespeare plays, and I think that it will turn into the most poignant chapter of the book. Hmf.

    After all, ALL of the main characters lost their father one way or another and two are working up to being in love. Sounds like Hamlet and Romeo and Juliet to me…

    • Oh, WOW. Now THAT *is* cheating!!! I was tempted to introduce a character who stutters and therefore has to repeat everything he says three or four times, but decided against it. XD

  3. Word wars are one of the biggest things that get me through NaNo, since they kick my uber-competitive side into gear. I haven’t gotten to do as many this year as I did last year, so I’ve been doing word sprints when I have a few minutes between classes at school.

    Two Steps from Hell has some seriously epic music. I love using it to write my science fiction, although it doesn’t seem to fit so well with the humor story I’m working on. My sister read something about their name, and she said the thinking behind it was that “two steps from hell” would be heaven (Earth being one step, heaven the second). Anyway, there’s some trivia for the day!

    • HEY! You know what, you may be right? I hadn’t thought of it meaning HEAVEN before! Now that would be *awesome*!
      Word Wars – I wish they worked for me, but they don’t. *siiiigh* Not unless they’re with someone I really know. :-/

  4. Some of my tricks are like yours: music is a total essential! Nano forums for fun and rewards. I don’t drink coffee, but I do like some warm tea to keep me warm this time of year, so that counts. And of course, a sister! 🙂

    I also made sure that this year I had my story plotted out with specific happenings in each chapter. And I make sure that each day I sit down and get to my goal, whether it’s a wordcount, or an event, or both.

    Congrats on hitting 40k by the way! 😀

    ~Celtic Forest Dweller/D. S. Dahnim

  5. “Well, I don’t actually have a literal hat full of tricks. I have hats, yes. I like hats. And I have tricks. But one does not fit inside the other. Except metaphorically. So I’m being metaphorical.

    I just thought you should know.”

    Mirriam, that made me crack up. Love it, girl! 😀

Got something to say?

